Recipe: A Perfect Weekend

15 Mar

Some weeks are spent with family, others running around from party to party, others still trying to fit in all the errands and people-pleasing tasks you’ve neglected. Then there are other weekends where you have just a few commitments and everything else is just left to chance and spontaneity. If you ask me, the best kind of weekends.

I spent the weekend chatting with some of my favorite people ever, running mile after mile at the gym (4 miles on Friday, 6 miles on Saturday making a grand total of 14 miles for the week… a little bit short of where I wanted to be), taking pictures of my parents before they headed out to their Black Tie event, cuddling with Jack while reading books, glued to the TV watching Boston Legal and possibly developing a crush on James Spader, picking up a package from FedEx which included these amazing surprise gifts from Brand About Town* to help me “further my personal growth and fitness goals” which I blogged about in early 2010:

My very own Wii & Wii Fit Plus!

A workout towel that says it all

Recipes, Fiction & a jump rope!

 … the weekend continued with excitement over this awesome package, much needed bonding with my dad over burritos before shopping for Darling’s birthday, indulging in a double chocolate chip blended cream drink from Starbucks while studying at Barnes & Noble, scheduling out the coming weeks with all the assignments, quizzes and papers due, savoring my dad’s famous baked macaroni and cheese, packing for my housesitting adventure, enjoying every moment of Johnny Depp in “Alice in Wonderland,” and of course, relaxing.

Of everything that happened this weekend I’d say maybe 10% of it was planned, the rest just happened. It was bliss.

* Disclosure: All products and books mentioned in this post were  sent to me by Brand About Town and Nintendo as gifts to assist me in my personal growth and fitness goals for 2010. I am not being compensated to write about these products, nor was I asked to write about these products; I am choosing to do so by my own accord.

26 Responses to “Recipe: A Perfect Weekend”

  1. Kyla Roma March 15, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    This is so exciting for you, congratulations on working with Brand About Town- and have fun with all of this stuff!

    My weekend was about 90% planned and I’m blocking off all my free time this week to just relax and enjoy in the evenings. I need to compensate!

  2. Joey March 15, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    I read the Guernsey book this past summer! I liked it. I’m a sucker for anything resembling “village life.” Hope you enjoy it! (and the Wii too…)

  3. Margarita March 15, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    That is awesome!! All that stuff is so cool, I bought Wii for xmas, but didn’t buy wii fit, instead bought the jenny mccarthey fitness game. It’s pretty awesome too :)

    This weekend was relaxing, cooking and listening to the rain :)

  4. mandy March 15, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    It was all sorts of wonderful talking to you Friday night. Our chats always leave me feeling happier. The rest of your weekend sounds fabulous and I’m glad that you enjoyed it. Have a fun week housesitting!! Love you!

  5. sleepyjane March 15, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    That really does sound like the best weekend. :)

    I also had a great weekend, and am really looking forward to the upcoming one. I have Friday and Monday off…and I have no plans yet! So excited.

  6. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 15, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    The only thing I’ve been using my Wii Fit Plus to do is weigh in every few weeks. It’s become a glorified scale. Sigh.

  7. Habbala March 15, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    I loved the Guernsey book!! So awesome!

    I love unplanned weekends. Sundays I go unplanned from 12-7 (between church) and this Sunday we got lunch from a farmers market and napped in the sun in a park. It was so great.

  8. Liz March 15, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Wow! I’m completely jealous. I’ve wanted a Wii Fit for awhile now so you’ll have to let me try it some time. :)

    Sounds like a fab weekend!

  9. Rachel Elizabeth March 15, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I do think I have ran 14 miles in my whole life…

  10. Jessica March 15, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Sounds awesome! Glad you had a good weekend!

  11. Emily Jane March 15, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend :) I’m glad you had such a good time, and that Alice was every bit as good as I was hoping. We’re going to try and catch it on Friday :)

    And I really must buy a webcam sometime so I can chat to you sometime!

  12. Erin March 15, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    What a great weekend!

    Congrats on becoming a Nintendo Enthusiast! :)

  13. Lacey Bean March 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Wow what an awesome package! I love how they personalized each one! Woo Brand About Town!!

  14. samdotcom March 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Your weekend does sound absolutely lovely! Congrats on the 14 miles!! And I love the work out towel. It really says it all :)

  15. LiLu March 15, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    I’m not a Starwars person but this has BY FAR been my favorite game so far:

    http://www.gamespot.com/wii/action/starwars2007/index.html

    (Swordfighting! Chop heads off and such! Rawwwr!)

  16. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 15, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Oooooh Brand about Town spoiled you! Lucky girl!

    Your weekend sounds great!! Mine was equally un-planned and a lot less productive then I’d like. I did have naps both Saturday and Sunday which can only be described as pure bliss :)

  17. katelin March 15, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    yay for the wii and wii fit, such a fun surprise. and i loved the help, such a great book. enjoy it all!

  18. Jessica March 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Sounds like a great weekend! So glad you got hooked up by BAT, those packages are always awesome to receive.

  19. OG March 15, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Every weekend’s better with burritos. Glad you had a good one

  20. Her March 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    That sounds like a splendid weekend! Enjoy your goodies–they all seem awesome. I have The Help on my wishlist at the library.

  21. Maggie March 15, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    woo a Wii Fit! I’m kinda jealous. BAT is pretty awesome :)

    Let me know if you like those books, I’m always looking for recommendations.

  22. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 16, 2010 at 5:11 am #

    It was great chatting with you this weekend! :)

    Oo, those packages were FUN! You lucky girl, you! My mom & sister love their Wii Fit! Would love one some day!

    I think largely unplanned weekends are grad as well.

  23. Manderz March 16, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    That sounds like a fabulous weekend. :) I’m so happy we had a chance to talk in between all the excitement. And I definitely think you should try out the hula hoop aerobics “game” on your Wii Fit – I love it!

  24. ria March 16, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    nice swag! and yay for running 14 miles! i’m tired thinking about it :)

  25. Lys March 17, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    you’re so lucky with all the brand about town stuff. i don’t know enough people, nor am i near as popular as you :P but free stuff is still awesome stuff, so good luck with your work out endeavors!

  26. E.P. March 22, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    I’m so happy to hear you had an amazing weekend. Really. It sounds incredible, from the working out, talking with friends and the Brand About Town surprises. (SO freaking awesome!)

    Hope you’re having a fabulous Monday!

Leave a Reply

