You Say it’s your Birthday: Ode to Darling

16 Mar

Today we celebrate my mom’s birthday.

She’s 25 again, you know.

For as long as I can remember, Darling has been my best friend.
We have inside jokes, rituals, pacts, memories.
My mother has been my cheerleader, best friend, advisor, tutor, teacher, voice of reason, staunch supporter.
I wouldn’t have been able to make it through some of worst, or best days if it hadn’t been for Darling.
She’s introduced me to Sex and the City and the amazing world of writing to express yourself, including the blogging idea.
She taught me how to drive, how to put on make-up, how to shave my legs without cutting myself to pieces, the importance of a little black dress, how to throw a party, how to love unconditionally.
She’s been there to chronicle my life, to laugh and cry with me, offer hugs and a shoulder to lean on.
We divide and conquer. We inspire each other. We can sit and talk for hours or sit and not talk at all. We are travel pals, shopping buddies, secret-ice-cream-eating girls.
Without her, I know I’d be lost.

Happy Birthday, Mom. I love you.

23 Responses to “You Say it’s your Birthday: Ode to Darling”

  1. LiLu March 16, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Awwwwwwwwwwww. *like*

  2. Manderz March 16, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    What a beautiful relationship to have with your mom. Happy Birthday to her.

  3. Charlie March 16, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    What a beautiful tribute. Happy birthday to your mom!

  4. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 16, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I read that as your mom introduced you to sex. And I couldn’t help but giggle.

    Happy birthday, Darling! Can’t wait to meet you in a few months!!!

  5. sleepyjane March 16, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Happy b-b-b-birthday to your mom!!! :)

  6. mandy March 16, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Happy Birthday, Darling!!

    What a beautiful tribute, Nora. I’m so glad that the two of you have such an incredible bond.

  7. Maggie March 16, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    this is so sweet! happy birthday to your mom :)

  8. Kim March 16, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    How nice of you! Your mom sounds awesome!

  9. Alesia March 16, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    That’s so beautiful. What a great tribute.

    Happy Birthday, Darling!

  10. ria March 16, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Aw! Happy Birthday Darling! :)

  11. Jessica March 16, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Beautiful.

    My mom is my best friend too! :)

  12. Margarita March 16, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Aww, that is so sweet. I hope I can be a mother like that to my daughter :)

  13. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Beautiful post! You and your mom look so much alike! Happy Birthday to your mom!!!

    Me and my mom are SUPER close now but we weren’t growing up. I’m so happy we’re finally close!

  14. Jessica March 16, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    AWWW this is such a sweet post. Happy Birthday Nora’s mom!!!

  15. walkingonsunshine18 March 16, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    What a sweet and kind post about your Mom – I hope she has a fabulous birthday!!!

  16. oh March 16, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    OK, I’m crying. those good tears, the great big sloppy happy ones, the ones you don’t bother to wipe away and they don’t turn your face all red, either. Ah, Nor, you’re a writer, a spinner of words, you are, and a blessing.
    And to all the friends who wrote here with birthday wishes, I thank you! Such great friends and commenters Nor has!
    Hugs to all of you,
    Darling
    PS Yes, Nilsa! I look forward to meeting you, too, in your wonderful Windy City!

  17. Kyla Roma March 16, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    You’re so cute! Does she do coffee dates with random people you know from the internet? Because she sounds wonderful =)

    Have a wonderful night with her!

  18. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 16, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Darling! What a sweet post! We are so blessed to have wonderful mothers that was truly respect, admire, and love.

  19. OG March 16, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Very sweet, I’m sure she considers herself very lucky to have you. Happy Birthday Nora’s Mom.

  20. Emily Jane March 17, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Awww, such a sweet post! Happy birthday to your lovely mum!

  21. Little Fish March 17, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Aw, I love this post. My mom, also a pisces, is my best friend too! Happy birthday Darling!

  22. Lys March 17, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    you two are adorable. i wish i had this great of a relationship with my mom. happy birthday and many more!

  23. E.P. March 22, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Happy birthday, Nora’s mom! I hope it was an amazing one!

Leave a Reply

