Three a Month

17 Mar

Earlier this year I said I’d read three books a month and so far, I’ve been on pace! In an effort to keep myself honest and perhaps inspire you to pick up a new book, I thought I’d post the list of books read so far in 2010:

January 2010

Dear John, by Nicholas Sparks. I read this book because of my commitment to read books before I see the movie. I don’t read a lot of Sparks books because I kind of hate to give into his popularity and sometimes the books are formulaic to me, but the movie has Channing Tatum in it which is incentive enough for me. That and the book was on sale for $5.98 at Barnes & Noble, in hardback! Once I started the book, I couldn’t put it down. I cried a few times while reading this book and thus made the executive decision to not go see it in theaters. No need to have a repeat of the time I went to see “P.S. I Love You,” and come out of the theater with bright red, swollen eyes from bawling for two hours. The book, however, was intriguing but I didn’t like the end. It seemed rushed, forced, and not the outcome I had hoped for.

Italian Fever: A Novel, by Valerie Martin. The book started off promising, a mix of love and ghost story but quickly turned into one run-on sentence after another, the ghost story element seemed forgotten and the air of the book overall was depressing. Not one to stop reading a book once it’s started, I saw it through but was disappointed. 

Disney After Dark: Kingdom Keepers #1 by Ridley Pearson. So maybe this is young adult fiction but oh my goodness is it amazing! I think I loved this book as much as I do because I spent several of my younger years in Orlando, FL with season passes to Disney so my family and I grew to know the park inside and out. The premise of the book is pretty cool and I can see what younger children would love it. I have to admit there were a few chapters in the book that gave me goosebumps which I attribute to Pearson’s excellent story weaving. He also writes mysteries for adults; I highly recommend you check his stuff out.  

February 2010

Mating Rituals of the North American WASP by Lauren Lipton. Definite chick-lit though the vocabulary and themes weren’t entirely chick-lit-ish. The characters are all loveable in their own way (except for one) and I found myself talking out loud to the characters as I read the book, as if they could hear me. A few parts of the book reminded me of “What Happens in Vegas,” but overall I really enjoyed this book, most likely because it appealed to the hopeless romantic in me.

All Together Dead, by Charlaine Harris. Feeding my vampire addiction. Enough said.

The Help by Katheryn Stockett. I’ve always found civil rights and American history fascinating so this book was right up my alley. Told from the points of view of several different characters the entire book, plot, characters, history is intriguing to me and kept me reaching for the book any moment I could. Which was a lot. I finished the book in a week. I didn’t want it to end and found myself wondering what happens to the characters after the book ends. I’m secretly hoping for a sequel.

Disney at Dawn: Kingdom Keepers #2, by Ridley Pearson. The second book in the Kingdom Keepers series is just as a good as the first. Maybe one of my favorite things about young adult fiction is that stuff actually happens in these books; they move along quickly but still including detail, “showing” not telling, and a surprisingly complicated plot. I met Pearson in February at a writer’s conference type thing and he revealed the news that the third book is coming out in April so I felt the need to make sure I have it read before the next book comes out. There are also rumors of a movie which would be pretty freakin’ sweet, at least if you’re a dork like me.

What I’m reading now:

The Dirt: Confessions of the World’s Most Notorious Rock Band, Motley Crue
Me: Stories of my Life by Katharine Hepburn
The Frong King by Adam Davies
… and two textbooks. Does that count?

Not sure if I’ll finish these three books this month considering I have about seven chapters of school reading to do a week (plus those pesky things called assignments) but I’m sure as heck going to try!

Tell me, what have you been reading lately? Anything I must add to my “to be read,” list?

19 Responses to “Three a Month”

  1. butterflycharlie March 17, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    I’ve read lots recently too but the only one I’d say you HAVE to read is A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. It’s so beautifully written. Other than that I’ve stormed through The Gathering by Anne Enright, Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre, The Suspicions Of Mr Whichter, The Book Thief, The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas, and last night I started True History Of The Kelly Gang.

    Phew!

  2. mandy March 17, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    I really need to check out the Kingdom Keepers. I think The Help may be the best book I’ve read so far this year. I’ve been plowing through the young adult fiction like its my job– The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Just to make it appropriate I’ve thrown in some adult books too, right now I’m reading Downtown Owl by Chuck Klosterman, Lisa recommended it. I’m really enjoying it.

  3. hannahkaty March 17, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    Ah, I need to get my hands on “The Help.” I highly recommend reading “Undress me in the Temple of Heaven” Susan Jane Gilman is one of my favorites. I need to get my hands on a book that I do no want to put down. That is the best feeling ever.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  4. Kyla Roma March 17, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Oh, The Help sounds right up my alley too, thank you for the heads up!

  5. jen March 17, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    i am currently taking a class on body art and have just read The Tattoo Artist by Jill Ciment and the Electric Michelangelo by Sarah Hall, both were very interesting and enjoyable, i would recommend either one…

  6. Holly March 17, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    I just finished “The Last Song” by Nicholas Sparks ~ I haven’t read one of his in awhile because like you said, they seem formulaic. It was okay, a quick read, no real surprises … your classic Nicholas Sparks book!

  7. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 17, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    I’ve got to tell you, I’d probably skip every single one of your choices outside of The Help, which you already know I read. That said, I give you a lot of props for reading as much as you have. Can you count textbooks for class towards your total tally for the next few months???

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 17, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I read the Help a few months ago and LOVED it. Such a good book, I flew through it super fast!

    I’m not a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks either but I have the Last Song just sitting on my shelf waiting to be read!

  9. Habbala March 17, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I am ALMOST done with the Bell Jar, and I can’t wait to read The Help. AND I felt the EXACT same way about Dear John.

    Basically, I think we’re soul mates.

    The End.

  10. Amanda March 17, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I haven’t read anything but case books :(

  11. katelin March 17, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    i had the same reactions to dear john and the help (and hello a sequel please!). one of my favorite reads lately was water for elephants and i also really enjoyed cleopatra’s daughter since i knew nothing of ancient roman times and what not. yay reading!

  12. Mel March 17, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    I am lucky to get in one book a month. I’m only reading school books right now. it’s difficult on my brain.

  13. Her March 17, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    I liked The Mating Rituals too. I just read Commencement, and enjoyed it, and I am getting ready to start The Arms Maker of Berlin.

  14. Becky March 18, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Water for Elephants – love love love!

  15. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 21, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    You have done so well on the reading front! March is going to be such a slow month from me. I am reading Middle Sex and it has been a slow read fo rme. I will be lucky if i can even finish it this month!!

  16. Leesh March 22, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I am a die-hard Nicholas Sparks fan so I did read the book and then watched the movie. I am like you too, I always try and read the book before watching the movie (I need to read The Last Song but I probably won’t watch it because I dislike Miley Cyrus). Anyway, I didn’t like the ending in the book, therefore I didn’t like the ending of the movie. I did bawl throughout the movie. I dragged my husband to watch it with me and he laughed at me the entire movie because tears were rolling down my cheek. If you are somewhat curious about Dear John, I would wait for it to come out on DVD.

  17. E.P. March 22, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Nice work, lady!

    I’ve been reading a lot recently, too. I finished “Angels and Demons” (I’m totally behind on the fad with this, but my little sis so kindly passed it along) and “The Last Summer (of You and Me).” Both were fantastic for different reasons, and I sobbed during the latter. It was beautiful.

    Keep up the good reading! And do you have any recommendations for us?

  18. Megan March 23, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    I’ve never ready any of those books. I’d like to read the Sookie Stackhouse series, though!

    While I’m not a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks (I liked A Walk to Remember, even after I watched the movie; I read The Notebook after watching the movie, though, and I wasn’t a fan. Then again, I was much younger then), I’d like to read Dear John. I wouldn’t mind reading The Last Song, too, but I don’t want to see the movie. Not a Miley Cyrus fan at all!

  19. Tabitha March 31, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I love that you’ve committed to reading three books a month! I can’t seem to be that organized, but I generally read at least two books a month, I’d say. The one I’m currently reading is called The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, and it’s a mystery told from the perspective of an 11-year-old girl. I’m LOVING it, and I would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

