Nora Confessions Part VI

18 Mar

Previous for installments:  here , here ,  here ,here and here.

Sometimes when I get home from work, I’ll reach into the cheese drawer and eat a handful of shredded cheese while looking out the back window, while standing flamingo style.

I worked at a restaurant for a brief time in college. Naive Nora 19 year old had no idea that drugs were being sold from the back of the restaurant until I walked in on a “transcation.” It suddenly made sense why everyone I worked with dropped out college, seemed endlessly hungry and a listless look on their face 80% of the time.

I have no idea how to change a flat tire.

I’ve been housesitting in a super giant house this week for two cats and a tiny dog and there are moments where I want nothing more than to be able to afford a huge house, fancy car, and awesome designer clothes and at the same time a part of me wants to run away from the manicured lawns, private school flags hanging on everyone’s flag poles and be all indie-hippie and shabby chic. I have a feeling I’ll be the later.

I’ve never been to a Mardi Gras or St. Patrick’s Day parade despite the big hoopla StL puts on for each of them.

For the past year or so I’ve been mentally planning certain aspects of my wedding which I know is kind of crazy since there is no one on the horizon. All I can say is that the first dance will be pretty freakin’ spectacular if all goes to plan.

I believe I’ve seen the penguins at our zoo about 12 times.

I went to Barnes & Noble last week and didn’t buy a new book. This is *huge* for me.

Back in “the day” (meaning sophmore/junior year in college) I loved Jessica Simpson’s music and so when I saw a preview for her show “The Price Of Beauty,” I both freaked out because we all know she comes across rather… thick and applauded her for introducing non-traditional beauty concepts and ideas (by U.S. standards) to the young and impressionable.

I often wish that I had dated my best guy friend in college. We were always admittedly attracted to one another and yet it never happened. Last time we spoke, more than two years ago, he said he was getting married but sometimes thought about what could have been between us. I’ll never forget that.

20 Responses to “Nora Confessions Part VI”

  1. Manderz March 18, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Shredded cheese is by far my favourite. I simply can’t resist. And I’m always standing flamingo-style when I wear high heels. Not really sure why.

    There was a guy friend I had in high school and we were mutually interested but didn’t act on it until after high school. If we’d acted on it sooner, I think it would’ve worked out fantastically. But it was too late, and we were headed in different directions.

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 18, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    I don’t know how to change a flat tire, either. But, that’s why I carry my AAA card with me whenever I drive. That and my cell phone/charger will get me out of a pickle every time. =)

  3. mandy March 18, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I’m with Nilsa, AAA are lifesavers. And I think I would be really good at the indie-hippie lifestyle as well. I say we go for that feel in the castle you mentioned yesterday. Not buying a book is HUGE, also I want to come to STL and go to the book store your mom write about on her blog.

  4. Habbala March 18, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Shredded cheese?! Gross!! Have I mentioned I don’t eat most cheese? Only melted mozzeralla or jack. :)

    I was “at” the St. Patrick’s day parade in san francsico Saturday, but I didn’t see anything.

    I don’t know how to change a flat tire OR check my oil……

  5. Holly March 18, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I used to date a guy who told me how to change a tire: pop the hood. The first guy who drives by and sees a girl looking under the hood of her car will pull over to help :) I tried it once and it DID work – but my husband has since taught me how to change a tire myself. You never know what kind of creeper will stop to help, ya know?

  6. Ev`Yan | apricot tea. March 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I have a secret: I used to ADORE Jessica Simpson, too. She was an idol to me in many respects, & I really, really enjoyed her music. & then her & Nick split up & I felt like my whole world collapsed a little. & when I heard of her show — which sounds rather compelling in my opinion! — I kind of jumped for joy a bit, too.

    I kind of want to start listening to her music again. I kind of miss it! but Jonathan would make fun of me.

  7. Akirah March 18, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    I plan my non-existent wedding too. I already know what song we’re walking into the reception to. Ugh. I wish my mind would just stop!

    I could teach you how to change a tire! My dad taught me years ago. Unfortunately, on my car, you need a strong person to kick the tire off (cause of the hubcaps?), so I end up calling Triple A anyway. Oh well.

  8. rachieannie March 18, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Love the flamingo part – that made me smile :-)

  9. katelin March 18, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    if i got a flat tire i’d be screwed. well i’d just call aaa and hope they can fix it, haha.

  10. Ally March 18, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    The older I get, the more I want the indie-hippie shabby chic lifestyle as opposed to the big house and 2.5 kids lifestyle. Sometimes I feel like I’m traveling in the opposite direction of most everyone else.

  11. Jessica March 18, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Oh my god your confession about the cheese drawer and flamingo style made me fall totally in love with you. You are awesome and adorable. And i give you credit for restraining after only one handful.

  12. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 18, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    I don’t know how to change a tire or grab a stick shift.

    Hmmmm, shredded cheese. So good. I will often grab random handfuls of it when I’m cooking or in the kitchen.

    That last confession made me feel a little nostalgic. It’s crazy when we think back and think coulda, woulda, shoulda, hey!

    Love your confession posts! XO

  13. Kyla Roma March 19, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    I have NO IDEA how to change a tire too! I might have to research this and fill both of us in =)

  14. Margarita March 19, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Awww, you have a “what could’ve been” guy! Cute. I ADORE Jessica Simpson. I do. No lie. I wish I could be best friends with her!

  15. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 21, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    Yep, totally don’t know how to change a tire either. I should get AAA… My parents paid for it when I was in college, and then I never renewed it. I should.

    I also eat handfuls of shredded cheese. I can’t even keep it on hand, otherwise it WILL get eaten!

    I’ve got pieces of my wedding planned out too… :)

  16. Her March 21, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    I’ve been window shopping for furniture because we’ll have to buy some soon, and part of me wants to go all sleek/modern/adult, and an even bigger part of me wants to go Bohemian piecemeal. I’m pretty sure the idea of hunting in antique and vintage stores and crawling through garage sales is going to win. Cheaper, and greener!

    I don’t know how to do anything with a car. That’s why we left it behind, haha. We drove from Chicago to Austin with a BARE, STRIPPED tire, and were told we were very, very luck to not have had a blowout. Who knew?!

    And? Cheeeeese. Especially shredded. Yum.

  17. Emily Jane March 22, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    If I come to St. L, can we please go to a St. Patrick’s day celebration? And I’m curious about this first dance. Ours is going to be quite non-traditional too (but not in the YouTube Thriller-type way :))

  18. Lys March 22, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    i can change a tire, change my oil (with some direction and only in dire situations), replace a battery, and basically fix my own car provided i have the tools necessary. this is only because i worked for my dad for over 10 years in an auto body shop. i also have AAA though, thank god.

    i loved that website you gave me for wedding ideas, i know it’s over a year away, but i definitely want you to be a part of it :) and i also want you to know that i appreciate you AND your suggestions.

  19. E.P. March 22, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    I can imagine you standing in the kitchen, flamingo-style, and eating cheese. Sometimes, it’s fun to stand like that just because. And cheese is always delicious.

    It makes me sad that you’ve never been to a Mardi Gras OR St. Patty’s Day parade. This needs to be remedied quickly, lovely!

  20. ria March 23, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    i don’t know how to change a flat tire either :-/

    penguins are my favorite!!

Leave a Reply

