Mash, as in Mish-Mash

22 Mar

Remember that game, MASH? Mansion-Apartment-Shack-House? This post has nothing to do with it whatsoever other than the fact it’s a complete and total Monday mish-mash of randomness. But if you want to play MASH now that I’ve brought up, evidently you can play it online. I’m sure it’s not nearly as much fun as when you used to scribble all over notebooks using fancy ink pens with your friends though.  

Moving on…

Bop-It. I first heard this song courtesy of Doni and every time I hear it on the radio I put the windows down, turn the radio up and bop around like a teenager because it just makes me feel good. I have no idea what the words are but I pretend I do. Doni also introduced me to the fabulous mash-up to this song and because it’s kind of energetic (and most of us need energy on a Monday) watch it and thank me later:

Head of the Class. So taking off six months from grad school? Perhaps not my finest idea or moment but I did and so here I am. As you know I’m back in the saddle again up to my ears and eyes with economic graphs and charts, finance equations and meaningless interest rates, answering discussion question after discussion question online. The good news: I’m pretty sure I’ve identified a study pattern that will work for me for the rest of these classes until the end of the July when I finally accept my graduate diploma. Just thinking about it makes me giddy. As does all the free time I’ll have for the rest of my life to read, run, meet people, travel, be a lazy bum, volunteer. And I promise I’ll stop talking about grad school now.

Mall Madness. Spring is here, or at least it’s supposed to be. We’ll just ignore the 35 degree temps with snow flurries we had to endure on Saturday night. With spring comes my desire to shop for flops, capris, skirts, dresses, new jewelry, new haircuts. This year before I head out to the store I’m going to make myself try on everything I have in my wardrobe and make a “keep or toss,” decsion. If it’s toss, I’m donating. If it’s keep I will make sure I wear it. From there, I’ll fill in any holes I may have. Hopefully I’ll pare down on the waste in the closet, brighten the wardrobe a bit and do some good in the process.

Life. It just happens to you and before you know it things are good. Different. Better. In the last few months running three months has gone from ominous to “Oh my God, Yes!” because I can do it. I am doing it. I had my seven-mile run this past weekend and while I was worried, the run was amazing. Probably one of my best yet, save for a moment where I stopped midway through to stretch out my hip flexors. In the last few months I’ve made strong, “big girl” decisions that I never thought I’d be making. Emotional. Financial. Political. In the last few months I’ve embraced new friendships, new routines, new surroundings, new patterns. More changes to come, more adjustments to be made, more life to live.

What would your Monday Mish-Mash list have on it?

13 Responses to “Mash, as in Mish-Mash”

  1. Kyla Roma March 22, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    I’m so happy for you, big decisions and big runs and big pushes at school! What an amazing time to be in the thick of it and pushing for things that you really want.

    I’m so proud of you it’s just silly =)

  2. Sarah March 22, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Wow, you’ll be finished grad school in July and free to … well, be free! I can’t wait to hear what that’s like. :)

    You must be so proud of yourself with the progress you’ve made running. Just think, if this is the progress you’ve made over three months in the cold winter running on a dreadmill, how much more you’ll improve when you can go running outside in the nice weather!

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    You’re doing me proud over here. So glad to hear your 7-miler was a success. I’m grinning ear to ear.

    I need to go through my closet to form a donate pile. Sad thing is, the pile from the last time I did this is still in bags waiting to be donated. I’m putting this on my to-do and follow-through lists for when I return from vacay!

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 22, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    My desire for spring-y things is strong right now! I’m saving for a big shopping spree and see a lot of cute, spring dresses in my future!

    I’m also SO excited for you and the amazing direction your life is going :) XO

  5. Jennifer March 22, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    I love this post and I love all of those games! MASH, Head of the Class, Mall Madness, Life…such fun memories!

  6. oh March 22, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    I think I’d better start running. It stirs things up in the best way! Proud of ya!

  7. Jessica March 22, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Oh my gosh you can play MASH online??? I used to LOVE playing that game in middle school in a notebook. LOVE it. Let me know if you want to play a match online :)

  8. mandy March 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    School, running, moving forward — you are all sorts of amazing. To echo Kyla, I’m so proud of you!! So excited that you get your diploma in just a few months! Life is so awesome when you just stop and think of all the great things we have in it.

    My mash would include some awesome friends, both old and new.

  9. E.P. March 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I’m so happy for you about school and everything else! Seriously! How exciting for you! And it really is incredible when you just stop for a moment and take in everything that’s happening.

    You’ve got some good things going on, friend!

  10. ria March 23, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    playing mash was so much fun and i think you are right i don’t think it would be the same now as scribbling all over notebooks! :)

    wow you are almost done with school that is a huge accomplishment, you go girl!

  11. Doniree March 23, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Hehe, I’m so glad you liked that song/band – I love creative stuff like that and Phoenix? Always makes me happy :)

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 24, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    I’m loving Phoenix these days – they are such a hot band right now. I need to find someone who owns the cd so I can burn it! One of their songs is on a Cadillac commercial and I love it. Did you know they are from Paris? :)

    I loved playing mash! Awesome game. Oh to be young again.

    Good luck w/ school. It will all be in the past very, very soon!

  13. Her March 25, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    MASH! I loved that one!

    I’m also feeling a desperate need to shop, but I am smacking my hands and telling myself NO. I don’t work away from home for the most part, so it would be really indulgent at this point. Boo.

    I am so excited about you being almost done with school. I imagine you’ll breathe a lot freer.

Leave a Reply

