Moments

26 Mar

      “I’d rather have a moment of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.” – Unknown

There are those moments when you’re curled up on your Gram’s couch, red shoes kicked off, feet tucked up underneath you on a rainy Thursday night and you’re talking. Really talking… about health insurance options. Finances. Budgets. Full disclosure. No cloak and dagger disguises or hiding things from one another. Really talking about relationships and what your dreams are for the future. Really talking about family and love. Those are the moments you realize how truly blessed you are to have your Gram in the same town as you, to have a family that’s close, to be surrounded by love.

There are those moments where you’re wrestling with a finance amortiziation problem and you know the answer and you’ve double-checked your work. Then your dad comes along and points *one* typo that when fixed, solves the whole issue. Those the are the moments you realize that yes, you can do this finance business and that if you had any doubts about your dad being a hero before? They are gone.

There are those moments where you call your best college friend on your way home from work and the traffic-filled highways aren’t so terrible anymore. You laugh. You share. You discuss. Above all, you make plans to go see one another in three weeks. Giddy with excitement and plans, the entire night is improved tenfold. Those are the moments you’re thankful for staying in touch with her for she’s one of the few people that really gets you. Those are the moments you know she’s a true friend.

There are those moments when the difficult client you’ve been trying to please for the last three weeks finally says “thank you,” in an email, the first time in over a month of communication. Those are the moments where you realize it’s not all for naught, that you are good at what you do, and that some people take time to trust a 26 year old. While it’s frustrating, it’s also ok.

There are those moments where you can disclose your feelings to a close inner circle of friends and get more support, perspective, guidance and love than you ever thought possible. Those moments remind me you why you continue to try, continue to share, continue to be you.

There are those moments when you see your life and the woman you’ve become for who you are: Everchanging but alwasy fascinating.

Sometimes we have to live for the small moments while we are busy with the mundane tasks of work or being a graduate student because these are the moments that make every ounce of stress, confusion, pain, doubt and frustration you’ve ever had about your purpose in life melt away.

These are the moments. This is your life.

Any moments that you’d like to share that remind of you have wonderful/great/amazing life is?

21 Responses to “Moments”

  1. mandy March 26, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    I love moments like these. (Although since I now have to google the meaning of “finance amortiziation” I doubt I will ever have one of those moments.) I am so glad that in between all the busy-ness of work and gradschool you have moments like this to sustain you and remind you what a fantastic life you’re living.

    My moments — When I get an unexpected phone call from a friend, just to talk. When I’m rocking out to music in the car with my 13 year old cousin reminding me that the two of us spending time together doesn’t just benefit her. When I can have a disucssion about the future with another friend that absolutely needed to happen.

  2. Ally March 26, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I love this post. Life is so beautiful sometimes. Even among day-to-day living and uncertainty there are things that make us aware of the abundance we have.

    Lately for me: Getting unexpected calls. Walking outside in the sunshine. Realizing that coincidences are anything but. Seeing that I’m capable of learning new things. Talking and laughing with Mister late into the night. Friends visiting for the weekend.

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 26, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    This is a beautiful post. There really is a silver lining to every situation, if you care to look for one.

  4. Alesia March 26, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Yes, I had a moment this morning. I carried Patrick downstairs after he just woke up and he buried his still sleepy warm face in my neck. I wanted to freeze time.

  5. Habbala March 26, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Oh Nora, such a great post.

    Let’s see:

    How about the moment that you have the balls to go in to your boss and admit you made a mistake. And you realize that everyone does. Even you, and that’s ok.

    How about the moments of freedom. Windows down without any where in particular you need to be. Then the realization comes, this is it. This is life, and it’s absolutely perfect.

  6. Sarah March 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    You’re so lucky that your grandma lives so close to you. One of my grandmas is a good 2-hour journey away, and the other is a whole continent away :( and at their ages their not so keen on the phone. :((

    Anyways, the moments that remind you of how great life is? When my parents, brothers, sister and myself are having dinner together and all laughing over a joke. When we’re in the car driving for a day out or a holiday away, and we’re giddy and laughing at my goofy little brother doing random things with my cheeky baby bro. When I meet up with a bunch of friends and get to just be me. When I pass exams/finish term and it’s all over and I’m free. When I’m lying up on the terrace working on my tan, looking up at the great expanse of sky, listening to the waves on the beach at the end of the road, knowing that there’s nothing especially important to do. These are the moments that remind me of just how special, wonderful and great life is.

  7. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 26, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Amortizations. Be still my heart. I am such a finance geek. :)

    I have had lots of moments this week. Moments where I’ve felt incredibly loved. Like when people want to sucker-punch my old boss. Or send me a care package with peanut butter cups, calming lotion, and a new sleep mask. Or when I unexpectedly got flowers from a friend. Or when my sister in law sent an email and closed by saying “Insert company name here” sucks!!

  8. bellerenee March 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    There are moments when your best blogger buds agree to spend $40 to meet up in an obscure city just for smoothies and girl time. :-)

  9. pseudostoops March 26, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Steel Magnolias! (The quote at top.) LOVE that movie.

    And I love this post- being aware enough to notice them is a challenge sometimes, but so worth it. Like today when my walk to the train involved blazing sunshine and crisp air and in that early evening light the city was gorgeous and the weather felt like a gift.

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 26, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    I love your posts. They are my favourite.

    Mine would be…

    There are those moments when you wake up sandwiched between your kitty and your boy and rather then get up and start your day you burrow under the covers for a few more moments of cuddles.

    Have a great weekend, lovely! XO

  11. jen March 27, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    the moment when you are sitting in a school conference with the same teacher who was absoluty negative about the future prospects of nick and then she realized his potential and had nothing but glowing comments this time around…its the moment when you think ‘hey we are doing something right…”

  12. cavy March 27, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    When you’re having a down moment and an old friend calls at that exact time. When you come home from a tiring weekend and realize your (male) roommates have cleaned the entire house. When you finish a grueling workout and just can’t stop smiling :)

  13. Kyla Roma March 28, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    This is beautiful! For me, one of those moments is coming home from a terrible work day, just wanting to cry, and being greeted by the puppies who are just elated and wouldn’t rather see anyone else in the whole world. Having lived without animals for a few years when we were in apartments, that is a feeling I’ve wanted for so long and having it is amazing =)

  14. Richard Losciale March 28, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Where have all the heroes gone? Who are the strong? Who are the trusted? Don’t send in the clowns, we’re here! Touching piece.

  15. hannahkaty March 28, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    These moments are beautiful. Thank you for bringing them up.

    I love conversations after you have been driving in the car with someone. And you turn off the car because the conversation isn’t anywhere near over and you know you will run out of gas. I love that feeling of nowhere to be and nothing else to worry about.

    I also love sitting in coffee shops, talking about life and possibility. These kinds of moments are great.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  16. Jessica March 28, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    LOVE this post. So well written and true. For me, I haven’t had a moment like that in a little bit. I mean, I know things are great and going well but i need to really look at those moments when they come along.

  17. LR March 28, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    What a nice post – I’m with you on the best friend call ;) Sometimes it makes all your troubles go away!!!

  18. Lauren From Texas March 29, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Beautiful writing! I like the idea of living your life in moments… drinking them in, the good with the not-so-good, because this is your life & you only live each moment once. Thanks for writing this. xo

  19. LiLu March 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Sitting at brunch after a real, true BELLY LAUGH with the girls.

    Just nothing like it. :-)

  20. Tara March 29, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I had a moment last week in NYC. After living in LA the past few years, had one of those moments walking in NYC with my hubby, my family, along the Hudson River in a beautiful spring day with a cool breeze blowing and not a worry in the world. They don’t come often but every once in a while…make it all worth it. Now back to work in LA lol

  21. Walter March 30, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    Each moment that I spend with my little son I treasure always. Seeing this small being with his innocent look and beautiful smile, I’m feel truly blessed to be alive. :-)

Leave a Reply

