The March Obsession List

31 Mar

* InItToGymIt. An awesome new group started by the fabulous Livit, Luvit. It’s designed to keep us motivated, give us a place to whine, moan, encourage one another and above all, stay strong. I debuted on the blog today with my “Why I Workout,” list (check it out here) and am loving the other contributors so far! Hope you’ll join us for the journey. I have a feeling the best is yet to come with this group!

* Sadly and occasionally to the detriment of my workout efforts, Easter Candy. Who can say no to a Reese’s Peanut Butter cup when it’s in the shape of an egg!? Not I.

{via}

* Parenthood. Darling and I decided to watch the pilot because it has Lauren Graham in it, who is one of our favorites thanks to her role in Gilmore Girls. (Darling = is Lorelai, I’m Rory, even though we look nothing like them.  We sometimes talk that fast and collapse into a heap of laughter for no apparent reason. If you want proof as to how Gilmore we can be, read Darling’s post about our Saturday morning escapade.)  Anyway, I knew I loved the show when I missed one espiode and promptly watched it on Hulu, something I rarely do.

* My Wireless Mouse (for my computer, of course). Gifted to me at Christmas time, it’s become my new best friend. Makes using a laptop oodles easier. Not sure how I survived without it for the last five years.

* Books, but I suppose this is nothing new. Confession: I went through the books I own but have not yet read and it’s a lot higher than I thought. I’m officially on a book spending freeze until further notice. The *only* books I can purchase will be those for a book club. Everything else will have to wait or be borrowed from the library.

* Twist Ice Cream, in a cup, with sprinkles. It’s a comfort food. It’s a guilty pleasure. It’s a bit of an obsession.

{via}

What about you? Any new finds or obsessions?

20 Responses to “The March Obsession List”

  1. mandy March 31, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    I am glad that you are enjoying the new Parenthood show on tv. I’ve been watching it (with my mom) as well. I adore Lauren Graham and its hard to not think of her as Lorelai. During last nights show I might have even said out loud “NO! Don’t date your kids teachers, we’ve been down this road this before!” Gilmore Girls aside, I do like the writing and can completely related to a large extended family who is probably a bit too involved in each others business.

    I need to stop buying books as well.

  2. Kim March 31, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Sprinkles can make life so much better!

  3. rachieannie March 31, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Yet another sign we’re meant to be friends … I definitely own all 7 seasons of GG and watch them over and over :-)

  4. LiLu March 31, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Journey indeed! I am so stoked about this whole thing :-)

    Thanks for being part of it!

  5. Margarita March 31, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Isn’t IITGI so exciting? I love it. Easter candy is SO tempting too. And since I bought so much of it for the Easter bunny to surprise little princess with, I keep dipping into it…. Um, that’s NOT good. lol. I have so many books too, I stopped buying them a while ago and recently purchased a few new ones and still haven’t read them!

    I wish I could buy time. :)

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 31, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I also own a ridiculous # of books that I haven’t read, and have been on a book buying hiatus since the beginning of the year. My only exception is also book club books.

    I am also obsessed with Peanut Butter Cups. Mmm. There is nothing better. Esp if you stick them in the freezer! Mmm. Kind of nice to have them as a frozen treat.

    I am also obsessed with Banana Bread. Just made another batch this week.

    And movies. I have been watching about a movie a day. Ah, the perks of being unemployed. I watched a fabulous independent film that was set in Paris this week. :) Made my heart ache a bit for the city.

  7. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 31, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Oh, and I also really like Parenthood. I have a crush on Adam.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 31, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    How DID you survive on a laptop without a wireless mouse for SO LONG. Goodness me, my battery died last week and I just about died without it. I was so clumsy using the laptop mouse pad again.

    Easter candy is getting the better of me too. Mini-eggs in particular!

  9. Erin March 31, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    I really am loving Parenthood too! Such a great cast…though I have a hard time not thinking of Lauren Graham as Lorelai, and I keep expecting Rory to show up!

  10. katelin March 31, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    my latest obsession is raspberries and vanilla yogurt, sam worthington, watching say yes to the dress when i get ready in the morning and driving with the windows down as long as i can before i either get too hot or too cold, haha.

  11. Kyla Roma March 31, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    I’m also on a book buying freeze- I’m a library girl and I’m actually going to donate a ton this spring.

    My latest obsession: hedgehogs. I don’t even know why. I have a whole post about it on Friday lol

  12. Suburban Sweetheart March 31, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I’m on a book freeze, too! I have SO MANY that I haven’t read. Shameful!

  13. nicoleantoinette March 31, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Okay, so, my roommate and I have been desperately craving ice cream for days. We talk about it, fantasize about it, but we’re too damn lazy to actually leave the house to get it.

  14. oh March 31, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    New finds? well, according to the ad in its catalog, I gotta check out the “jeggings” at Nordstrom. No, really, the grey ones with little zippers at the ankles, brand name “joe’s” I think, look pretty darn nifty.

    Obsessions: egads, the usual. It’s that book thing. Reading, collecting, flipping through them…enjoying them, sharing them and talking books with Nory and friends.
    And time with the family because they are smart, funny and cool. And we all have ridiculous stories to share when we get home from work.

  15. Her April 1, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    I have been loving Parenthood. Whenever we talk about Lauren Graham’s character, I call her Lorelai, but it’s her fault for being so awesome that she is officially typecast in my heart forever.

    Before we moved from Austin, we sold 6-700 books. It was insane, and we realized that we should never buy books anymore. I’m now addicted to the library!

  16. Megan April 1, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    I’m also contributing to IITGI. I submitted my first post yesterday, so it should show up soon!

    I love, love, love Parenthood. Husband and I haven’t missed an episode. It’s very “aww” without being cheesy. And I love Lauren Graham.

  17. Little Miss Obsessive April 1, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I’m craving ice cream now… a twist cone w/ sprinkles sounds delish! :)

  18. Kathleen April 1, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    I’ve been on a book spending freeze for a year now. Unfortunately, due to websites like paperbackswap.com, I have been able to procure multiple new books for free. Gah–the point is to finish all the books I already own!

  19. Jessica April 4, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Yikes..my bookshelf is full of books I haven’t read yet too, especially since I have a book blog and get free copies sent to me sometimes. I love it though.

    Inittogymit is really cool…too bad I have noooo motivation to work out at all!

  20. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 7, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Sweets and I LOVE Parenthood. We’ve watched it since the season premiered a few weeks ago. I personally love Peter Krause. But, to be honest, I’ve fallen in love with all the characters on the show. Every single episode manages to make me hoot in laughter and also brings tears to my eyes. Now, that’s a sign of good writing and acting!!!

Leave a Reply

