Promises to my Future Self

1 Apr

I promise to…

… never, ever own a minivan, regardless of how many kids I have.

… let my gray and white hair show through when I’m older. I think the women who do are incredibly classy.

… give myself permission to slow down, drink it all in, bask in the today more.

… look back on my 20s with fondness

… call in sick, even if there’s a big presentation due that day so that I may spend an extra few minutes cuddling with the husband and children I hope to have.

… celebrate the holidays with abundance, always, no matter the circumstance.

… hang up  photos of my family and memories past so that my children (or nieces and nephews) can know and remember.

… never to be crotchety and grumpy even if I’m sick, frail and tired.

… always keep an open mind; a lot will change over my lifetime and the only way to live will be to embrace it.

… makeout with my husband as though we are teenagers who just met.

… remember the history that I witnessed and pass it on to future generations.

… at some point in my life, sell my baked goods whether it be at my own store or someone else’s.

… lie under the Eiffel Tower, just once.

… tour wine country in Italy and consider never returning to the states.

… donate to charities, adopt dogs, make people smile, wear my heart on my sleeve, send snail mail no matter the cost of a stamp.

What would you promise to your future self?

33 Responses to “Promises to my Future Self”

  1. Kyla Roma April 1, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Oh!! Oh I just love this, my goodness! =) I think we should lie under the Eiffel Tower together, for the record!

    To my future self: I promise that I will willfully embarrass you while I’m young, that I will live recklessly and with all of my heart, that I will deliver scars to your knees and heart, and laugh enough to line your face with kindness and memories. I wouldn’t want you to lack character, after all =)

  2. Matt April 1, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Wine tour in Italy? Where do I sign up?

  3. barbetti April 1, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Nora – You & me. Wine Tour 2011 or 2012. IT’S ON.

    Except, I’ll actually have to come back.

    This is beautiful, by the way.

    I promise to lost some of this extra weight and be happy with my body, despite the stretch marks and saggy skin leftover from pregnancy.

  4. Windsor Grace April 1, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    I would do a lot of the same things. I don’t know about the mini van tho. I do like all of the things on your list. I hope I don’t get stuck in my ways and frown at younger generations.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair April 1, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Aww what an awesome post. I love this!! I want to promise my future self that I will also never be senile and grouchy, no matter how old I get. I promise myself that I will always love fully and I promise myself that I will not let stress get the better of me!

  6. Margarita April 1, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Oh my goodness I adore this post. You should print this out and frame it by your bed so it’s the first thing you see when you wake up.

    Eiffel Tower? Let’s do it. Wine drinking? Check.

    NEVER DRIVE A MINIVAN! I love this one :)

  7. Amy --- Just A Titch April 1, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I’m pretty sure you already asked me to come to Paris :) I suppose Kyla and Margarita could come, too :) Actually, wouldn’t that be an AMAZING thing to plan? Hmmm…

    I love this. Seriously. Also, you can basically count on me stealing this.

    Gah, you’re amazing.

  8. Habbala April 1, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I will laugh really hard if you end up with a minivan. :)

    Let’s see:

    I promise

    -to never forget to take care of myself. Bubble baths, new books, hot tea.
    -to never settle
    -to love as I have been loved. Fierce and unconditionally
    -to not name my children stupid names

  9. Doniree April 1, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    I love this list!

    I promise to:
    – slow down and stop looking forward so much that I miss today
    – take more pictures

  10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns April 1, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Yes, sign me up for the wine tour as well! And the laying under the Eiffel Tower, too. I can be your tour guide!!

    I promise to:
    – slow down and stop planning so much of my life
    – surprise my husband with a fabulous weekend get away
    – learn how to gracefully accept compliments

    i am with you on never owning a minivan! I am totally going to hold you to that! And I love the making out w/ the husband one, too. That should so still happen no matter how many years you are married!! :)

  11. Her April 1, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    This is a wonderfully wise life.

    I’m already crotchety–must work on that!

    I promise to…
    -always take time to say ‘I love you’ as I walk out the door
    -listen to my future children and respect them as individuals
    -eat some of the batter
    -document my life with pictures

  12. Sarah April 1, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I like this one!

    I promise my future self that I’ll never be a grouchy old lady. That I wont’ be a worry-wart. That I’ll love, love, LOVE my twenties as the time that I really grew up but still had fun. That I’ll hold on to my family history. That I’ll love freely. That I’ll never try to be / dress like someone way younger than me. That I’ll have my own sense of style and will wear what looks good on me, not what looks good on tweens/teens. That I’ll have fun.

  13. hannahkaty April 1, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    I promise to never become a cynic to life.

    I promise to let my children dream big dreams and always encourage them to follow them.

    I promise to not think just do in matters of the heart.

    I promise to keep loving myself every single day.. No matter what.

    Oh and I promise to always keep my future fully stocked with delicious food and cupcakes of all flavors and sizes.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  14. bellerenee April 1, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    I promise to write a post like this. I love this idea!!

    Also, you can sell your baked goods at the B&B I intend to open eventually.

  15. Erin April 1, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Oh, I have to laugh at your minivan comment. We didn’t really want to go the minivan route, but two babies + gigantic stroller + diaper bags + anything else you might have to put in the car = minivan. The SUVs just don’t have enough space for all that and other people. Never say never. You could be rocking the twins lifestyle someday!

  16. OG April 1, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    I am right there with you on the Minivan thing. Good list.

  17. ashleyTIA April 1, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Such an awesome post! (I don’t want a minivan either!!)

    Let’s see…

    I promise to be a friend I want to have.

    I promise to learn how to take kick a$$ pictures!

    Thanks for sharing, Nora. You are really blessed with a sweet, caring nature.

  18. katelin April 1, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    i absolutely love this post nora, it’s great. i promise to take pictures, to never own a minivan either because i’m afraid i’d crash it and i promise to always kiss matt goodnight. woo.

  19. mandy April 1, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    This post if beautifully brilliant. I love this, Nora. I want to live next door to you when we’re old women so we can bake cookies and recall our life stories while laughing.

    I promise to always look back and realize that each and every moment of time was absolutely perfect and just as it should have been.

  20. Suburban Sweetheart April 1, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I promise my future self that I will be like my dad – happy, funny, enjoying life until the very end. I will own a comfortable, firm mattress. I will give myself time to myself in order to be a better person & a better spouse (eventually). I will not have kids until I know I want & am ready to be a mother.

    This is a good exercise for current-me. I need to think of more.

  21. Jamie April 1, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    I love the last one especially.

  22. Jessica April 1, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    Wow there are lots of things.

    Never give up
    Never stop trying new things
    Never let fear get in your way
    Never stop going to the gym or trying to eat healthy

    And if you want a friend to the Eiffel Tower, call me :)

  23. DeMo April 2, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    I love this! I’m all about going to Paris.

    Found your blog via Kyla. I love it here!

  24. Leslie April 3, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Great post! I’m really going to have to think about it before I answer :)

  25. Brittney April 4, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    You are adorable. In case I forgot to say it lately. <3

  26. Jessica April 4, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I love that you won’t ever own a mini van. That’s hilarious. I admire you for the grey hair thing…I have a feeling I’ll be a serial hair dyer when I get old.

  27. Walter April 5, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    For my future self I promise to:

    Learn everything I can
    Accomplish all my goals and
    Treat each day with gratitude. :-)

  28. ClaireSuzanne April 5, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Minivans terrify me. It seems that as soon as people have one child they opt for a minivan. I know it’s practical and all that but can one (or two) kids really come with that much STUFF that you need a small planet to transport them.

    I say all this and yet I know that I’ll probably cave in and get one when the time comes (years and years from now). I love convenience and practicality too much.

  29. Mel April 6, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    I’m late on this, but your first one about the minivan?? That’s me. I have been saying that for YEARS. And the hubs is cool with it, because frankly, SUV’s and Minivans these days have similar gas mileage. Sweet.

  30. Ally April 6, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    I love this one, Nora!

    To my older self, I promise:
    to get to Europe at least once.
    to live with no regrets.
    to show love through actions.
    to always be there for the people I love.

  31. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 7, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I promise never to own a minivan (ugh – loathe them) and never take a vacation someplace where I can’t imagine living (I’m always so impressed with people who go to India for vacations and talk about the swarms of people, beggers for money and food, and no personal space – to me, that is not a vacation).

  32. Emily Jane April 12, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Your last one is something I try and live by every day as it is :)

    I promise to continue to push myself to grow, to learn from mistakes rather than harboring regret, to do as much as I can to leave a positive impact in the world, to always tell those I love how much they mean to me, and, most importantly, to never let fear (or what other people may think of me) dictate how I define myself and how I live my life.

  33. samdotcom April 14, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    This is beautiful, Nora. Love.

Leave a Reply

