The (Three Day) Weekend

7 Apr

This past weekend I…

… enjoyed a leisurely Friday with the family full of Italian food and gelato, laughs and good debates.

… daydreamed about buying my own townhome with a backyard for Jack and a porch on the second floor overlooking a garden.

 

… ran 8.75 miles, without stopping, as part of my training for the upcoming Soldiers Field 10  miler in about seven weeks.

… felt surprisingly awesome after running the aforementioned miles.

… rummaged around my closet for clothes that aren’t too big for me, found nothing so went for a “bohemian” look on Easter Sunday in a flowy dress and curly hair.

… decided that it’s time to go shopping due to the fact I look like a bag lady in my clothes these days. (Thank you running.)

… baked a smore brownie pie and spinach lasagna roll-ups as part of Easter Brunch.

… listened to the laughs and giggles of the neighbors who were in hot pursuit of plastic Easter eggs filled with money.

… ignored school work for 36 hours without feeling the least bit guilty.

… reconnected with an old friend with a few glasses of wine, a whole lot of laughs and promises to meet again soon.

… lazed around with Jack, listening to the wind roll through my windows, the birds fluttering about as they make their nests and having a moment of zen.

photo sources:
garden, eggs, wine
16 Responses to “The (Three Day) Weekend”

  1. mandy April 7, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Your three day weekend sounds absolutely lovely. The weather has been calling me outside too. I love rocking the Bohemian look when I dont dry or really fix my hair even, wear things that don’t exactly match, and completely own it. I laughed at the part about the neighbors running around hunting eggs with money in them. On Sunday, the little kids were playing bingo with my grandma. My almost 15 year old cousin and I were “too cool” to play until we found out some of the prizes were eggs that had money in them, then we opted to play 4 cards at a time. =)

  2. Kyla Roma April 7, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    This sounds beautiful! Especially the no school guilt and how running is having you replace your wardrobe- that’s wild! Great work! =)

    I’ve been doing a lot of lazing around with the windows open, just listening to the birds singing. It’s still getting down to freezing here at night, but during the day it’s beautiful. Give me weekend sunbeams and I’m a happy kid.

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 7, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Thank you for running for both of us. I was worried there about missing my training run. =)

  4. ria April 7, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    it was great when i couldn’t find clothes that fit because they were too big but then i had to buy a whole new wardrobe. the wallet wasn’t too happy hehe (and i’m terrified now that threw all the big clothes away i’m going to outgrow my new ones!)

    sounds like an amazing and relaxing weekend :) i wish i could run. i get to like 1.5 miles and i’m bored out of my mind. i never find that zen place.

  5. Margarita April 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Nora, that sounds like a perfect weekend – especially finding out all your clothes are too big for you! I love love love that feeling!! I so wish I had a dog to laze around with too!

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns April 7, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Sounds like an ideal long weekend. Yippee for taking 36 hours off from homework! You definitely have earned a break – and a sick vacation when you are done. And by sick, i mean awesome.

    Well done on the long run. It is nice to see the fruits of your labor in the looseness of your clothes. I am hoping that when I train for the marathon, the lbs continue to slip away as I”d love to get back into my marathon wardrobe. I am 1-2 sizes away, depending on the brand of clothing! So close!

  7. Her April 7, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    I personally like the bag lady look, but I love that you’re getting healthier even more.

    It sounds like you had an awesome weekend–here is to many more like it.

  8. Suburban Sweetheart April 7, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    8.75 miles?! WHO ARE YOU?! But way to go – this is awesome, as is all the weight loss that’s come with it. Inspire me, please? :)

    Also. Easter eggs full of money? I want to go to there.

  9. Amanda April 7, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    that sounds lovely :)

  10. sleepyjane April 8, 2010 at 4:00 am #

    Oh your weekend sounds really good. :) It’s always great to recconect with old friends.

  11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair April 8, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Sounds lovely! Great job on that run, you will kill your 10-miler! I know it :)

  12. Sarah April 8, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Don’t you just love three-day weekends? Are they not THE absolute best? They totally rock. I’m glad you had such a great three-dayer!

  13. Megan April 9, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Sounds like such a lovely weekend. Three-day weekends are absolutely refreshing. (I’m already looking forward to Memorial Day!)

    Great job on the run!

  14. OG April 9, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Sounds like a good weekend. I hope this weekend goes just as well..

  15. Ally April 9, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Sounds like a lovely weekend with a little bit of everything. That is an impressive run — way to go! Your Easter brunch dishes sound delicious. I have never had a smore brownie pie but if it’s as delicious as it sounds, I’m in. :)

  16. Jessica April 12, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Good for you for dropping those lbs and running your little heart out!

Leave a Reply

