Free Hug Friday

9 Apr

It’s been a bit of a whacky week across the board; maybe it’s residual full moon/tide crap, or maybe everyone just needs a week long siesta on the French Riveria or Italian Wine Country. Whatever it is, times like these I wish I could fly around the country to dole out hugs to friends and family and, okay, maybe wine and cupcakes too.

Since I can’t be everywhere I wish to be: in Florida with my childhood BFF who is about to give birth to her first child; my cousin who is engaged and planning her wedding; my friends going through break-ups and heartaches; having a beer with my brother; supporting friends who have men and women overseas. Since I can’t be there, maybe you can. Hug someone close to you today: friend or family, crush or boyfriend, dog or cat. Sometimes that’s all it takes to make someone’s day.

Let’s make today Free Hug Friday.

16 Responses to “Free Hug Friday”

  1. mandy April 9, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Oh how I love this idea and you! So often I find myself wishing I could reach through the computer screen or cell phone and hug someone. I am definitely a hugger. Consider yourself virtually hugged by me.

  2. Lauren From Texas April 9, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    hug! thanks for the great idea :)

  3. Her April 9, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    When I first read this, I thought it said hug free day, and I thought that was kinda sad.

    But! Since it is free hug day, I can get behind that.

  4. Ally April 9, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Happy free hug Friday, Nora. It sounds like a perfect day to open the free hug shop you were talking about. :)

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 9, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    If it wasn’t for the fact that he’s so stinky, I’d hug Sweets everyday. Maybe I can make an exception today. hahaha.

    I’m also supposed to meet up with old friends (one of whom I haven’t seen in almost a decade) tonight, so I’ll be sure to hug them, too.

  6. Margarita April 9, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Gotta love hugs. I hope you have a good weekend, full of fun and talking to all your friends who are far away :)

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair April 9, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Aww thanks for this reminder to hug the ones we love. I love hugs :D

  8. hannahkaty April 9, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    I adore free hug friday. Good call.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  9. Sarah April 9, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Oh this is one I can totally get behind!! I’ve just finished my Spring Break, but oh my could I do with a week long siesta on the French Riviera… or anywhere for that matter. ;)

  10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns April 9, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Sending you virtual hugs!! :)

    I am actually probably not going to see a single person I know today but maybe I could hug a stranger. Ha. ;) That is the crappy thing about living alone/being single. I haven’t hugged anyone since Tuesday. I can go weeks without any physical contact because it’s not like I am going to hug a co-worker. :(

  11. Richard Losciale April 9, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    My hugs are always free to you!

  12. katelin April 9, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    i absolutely love this and fully support this idea :)

  13. Kyla Roma April 10, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    You are the sweetest =)

  14. oh April 10, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    You’re right. We have to reach out. How do we forget that? Here’s a bunch of virtual hugs for you right now!

  15. Manderz April 10, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    I must say, that’s one thing I really miss about high school – the sheer amount of hugs I got in a day. But I try my darnedest to make sure Jason gets multiple hugs a day.

  16. Jessica April 11, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    Aww you know how much i love to hug. Get ready for many of them Memorial Day weekend! You’ll get a nice big one that will linger and last :)

Leave a Reply

