Boxing, Dove, & A Giveaway

12 Apr

About a month ago, Dove approached me and offered me an opportunity to host a workout party for me and 10 friends to help promote their Dove Visibly Smooth Clinical Protection Deodorant.

It was a no-brainer to say yes because:

A) I love to try new workouts
B) They gave each of us moisture-wicking workout tops & Dove Visbily Smooth Deodorant in Wild Rose
and C) I love an excuse to get together with the girls

Let me start by saying this: Jillian Michaels has nothing on the workout you’ll receive at the Boxing Gym. NOTHING.

So today, we (me, Darling, Liz, Rebekah, Jennifer, Jen, Jen, KH, Linda and Angela) all met at The Boxing Gym, not quite sure what to expect. All of us are working on various weight loss goals so we’re training for runs, losing weight, taking spin classes, meeting with trainers, so we figured it wouldn’t be too intense. We were wrong.

Jim, our trainer, promised us that he would “kill us,” by the time we were done with the workout. He wasn’t kidding. Good thing he was hot, otherwise we probably would have punched him and walked out. (Okay, not really, but he was tough.)

Our Trainer, Jim

45 minutes of jumping jacks, punching, kicks, crosses, jabs, squats, sit-ups, sit-ups while punching, punching while squating, jumping jacks then punching, and a variety of other combinations I’m sure I’m forgetting. The class ended with planks, side planks and fancy up and down planks. See for yourself:

(Filmed with a Flip Video Camera, courtesy of Dove. Director’s Debut by Rebekah)

I am so very glad that I used the  new Dove Deodorant which boasts “clinical protection,”  this morning, and let me just say that while I was dripping sweat from my face, my armpits were dry. Seriously. And they didn’t even stink when I was done. (TMI? I hope not.) Double bonus: the scent of the deodorant isn’t crazy strong. Oh, and a triple bonus, if that’s possible: the deodorant goes on smooth, doesn’t stain the clothes and helps to reduce the appearance of hair overtime. Another TMI: I’m Italian. I have dark hair. I have to shave everyday. If something can help minimize the appearance of my hair, I’m so in.

Darling, me, KH & One of the Jens Post Workout

I’m also incredibly glad I donned the moisture wicking tank from Dove because maybe, just maybe, the super cute trainer didn’t realize he was totally kicking my ass. (I’m sure the plan didn’t work, but it was worth a shot.) Both workout top and deodorant are now on my list of things I *must* take to the 10 mile race coming up over Memorial Day weekend.

We all left the party invigorated and full of energy, many of us contemplating joining this gym or at the very least adding this boxing workout to our regimes once a week, which, we all noted, we’d definitely make sure to use our new deodorant.

Now for the fun part! Dove has given me five sticks of the Dove Visibly Smooth Deodorant to giveaway to five of my lovely readers.

How to Enter:
* For one entry: Leave a comment on this blog and tell me what your favorite work out of all time is.
* For a second entry: Mention this giveaway on your blog, with a link to this post. Be sure to stop back by and leave the URL in the comments section.
* For a third entry: tweet about this giveaway, making sure to leave the link to your tweet in the comments section.

Contest ends Friday April 16th at midnight. Winners will be posted on this blog & contacted via email to obtain their mailing information.

 

* Disclosure: Dove paid for the workout event and provided  workout tops and deodorant for all guests in attendance. I also received a Flip Video Camera for being the party host. I was not paid for this review or giveaway; all opinions and commentary are my own.

38 Responses to “Boxing, Dove, & A Giveaway”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns April 12, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    What a fun event! You are kind of a big deal! ;)

    My favorite workout is a long run outdoors around the lakes in my city.

    I think our classes were probably somewhat similar. We did a heck of alot of kickboxing type of stuff on saturday morning. I am still ridiculously sore. Like it hurts to sit down and then stand back up. Ow. I guess it’s proof that ‘just running’ isn’t making me into a woman of steel! I need to take advantage of the boxing classes at my gym over the next month or so (putting my membership on hold this summer)

    Happy Monday!

  2. Matt April 12, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Boxers are the most athletic people on the planet. Im telling you!

  3. Megan April 12, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I am starting to love Jillian Michaels’ 30-day shred, but most of all, I love a good bike ride. I’m going to start running soon, too, so I’m sure I’ll add it to my list of favorite workouts.

  4. mandy April 12, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Looks like a fun time! I have no doubts that kick boxing would kick my ass (just for the record, anything other than walking or biking typically kicks my ass). My favorite work out is riding my bike, preferably along the river.

    I hope all you ladies had a great time!

  5. Liz April 12, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    I have two words for you: SO SORE! But totally fun. I had a blast. Thanks for inviting me!

  6. ria April 12, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    that workout looks amazing! i would love to try something like that. i love a workout that keeps me interested. i have an attention span of a two year old so anything that keeps me moving and motivated is a win! :)

  7. Margarita April 12, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    It looks like an amazing party! So lucky :) I’ve tried other clinical protection deodorants and eventually give up on them. I sweat a lot (oops! TMI!) for like no reason so I totally need deodorant that’s not too strong and makes me smell worse, or that simply works!

    I’d love to try this :) Sorry about this comment, lol!

  8. Sarah April 12, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    WOW does that workout sound/look like it totally kicked butt! OMG, I’m not sure I’d have lasted (who am I kidding, I definitely wouldn’t have lasted), but it’s definitely given me some ideas for my own workouts in the future. I really want to get into some boxing now!

    I really appreciate your review of the dove deodorant – I’ve used Dove cream deodorants before and they stained my clothes :( so I’m not a huge fan. But after reading this, I *may* reconsider my allegiance. ;)

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair April 12, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Oh, hello nice new blog design! Love!

    Anyways, my favourite workout of ALL TIME (as I’m sure you know) is running. But swimming is a close second. I wonder if the deodorant would hold up to a good swim workout ;)

    I love dove deodorant though, it’s the only kind I buy so I’ll have to try it out!

    That party sounds super fun and kickboxing IS hard!!!

  10. Habbala April 12, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Hahahaha, he’s totally cute. You are correct.

    My favorite workout is Zumba with my friend Olivia. Not because I particularly love Zumba, but I DO love laughing hysterically at Olivia’s gyrations. Laughing is a workout, right?

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 12, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    I have always wondered how healthy it is to use deodorant. I mean, the body needs to sweat to help moderate its own temperature. And if we’re blocking it from sweating, is that such a good thing?

    I know it’s socially unacceptable NOT to wear deodorant and so I do wear it when going out. But, you know what? I don’t wear it when going to the gym.

    My favorite workout is running along the lake on a cool, crisp, sunny morning. That or hiking mountain trails out west. =)

  12. Mel April 12, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    I love Jillian Michael’s when I work out….as well as yoga frequently!

  13. Her April 12, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    I’ve been loving Pilates lately, and I gave yoga a shot, but I’m just too uncoordinated for that right now.

    It sounds like you ladies had a great time!

  14. Jessica April 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    First, love the header.

    Second, your workout looked so intense but fun. Um, and the trainer? Yeah.

    My favorite workout is definitely swimming, though I don’t do it nearly enough!

  15. Jessica April 12, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Wow that trainer is hot. Way to go girl.

  16. barbetti April 12, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    My favorite workout? Swimming. I just love how low-impact it is (I have bad ankles) and I never need my inhaler to participate in it. Plus, it works SO many of my muscles and I don’t sweat! WIN WIN WIN.

    Also, you’re adorable.

  17. Kyla Roma April 12, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Oh cool! If I can enter I’ll join in, I’m a big dove fan =)

    My favourite workout of all time would have to be riding horses, I almost never do it, but it’s such a mentally and physically engaging thing! Aaaand you do it sitting down. Win! lol =p

  18. Andrea - Caffeinate Me April 12, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    What a fun party! My favorite work-out is Bikram yoga, but no deodorant will prevent you from sweating through that!

  19. E.P. April 13, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    How fun! Seriously. I love that you’re getting to do so much stuff like this and tell us about it.

    Keep on rocking, sister!

  20. SSG April 13, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    am I weird? I WANT to sweat when I work out. The more sweat the better… But a deodorant that minimises hair growth sounds good!

  21. OG April 13, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Looks like a good workout – glad you did something fun on your weekend.

  22. Kathleen April 13, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    I am OBSESSED with Dove deodorant; it’s the only kind I’ll ever use! I’ve never tried clinical protection before, but if I don’t win one I’m going to buy it! Sounds amazing!

  23. Linda April 13, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    That was so much fun!!! Can hardly wait to do it again – thanks so much for the invite!

  24. samdotcom April 13, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Awe! Sounds like a blast! My favourite hard as hell workout is power skating. I just love being on the ice, and the cold of the rink.

  25. Akirah April 14, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    I LOVE kickboxing. Every Tuesday and Thursday after school, my best friend and I would attend a kickboxing class in our high school cafeteria. It was amazing.

  26. Becky April 14, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    My favorite workout is yoga because it helps make my core strong. I wish we had kickboxing here, it looks so fun and energizing!

  27. hannahkaty April 14, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I will say it ten thousand times, Physique 57… The DVDs are a legitimate God send… I recommend them to anyone and everyone.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  28. LiLu April 15, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I’m officially a p90x convert! The yogaX workout, to be specific.

    :-)

  29. Lauren April 15, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    This sounds like so much fun! I really want to get into some sort of set class work out – something like boxing.

    But for now, my favorite form of exercise is definitely swimming. I love the feeling of being in the water and I love what swimming (if done often which isn’t the case much lately) does for my body.

  30. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 16, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Just in time … I posted a link to your giveaway today!

    http://somispeaks.com/2010/04/16/replay-39/

  31. Tabitha April 16, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    My favorite workout of ALL time? That’s tough! I used to go to this great class at 24hour fitness (can’t remember the name of it), and it was pretty awesome. But I think lately, I’d have to say that running is my favorite…and believe it or not, spin class is taking a close second. I can’t believe I’m saying that! :-)

  32. cher April 16, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    i love body pump or classes like that. basically weights with music in a group! so motivating!

  33. Tabitha April 16, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Here’s my tweet! http://twitter.com/probablytabitha/status/12284787767

  34. Mindy Merenghi April 16, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    My favorite workout is ZUMBA! :)

  35. Tabitha April 16, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Here’s my third entry! http://probablytabitha.com/2010/04/16/such-is-life/

    Woohoo!

  36. Rebekah April 19, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    I’m not entering so I will not tell you what my favorite workout is… probably because I don’t have one ;o)

    Thanks so much for the invite – I had a good time doing the non-kicking parts!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wishin’ & Hopin’ « Walking with Nora - April 14, 2010

    […] process complete sentences, much less paragraphs lately. Side Note: Don’t forget to enter my Dove Visibly Smooth Deodorant Giveaway! Only two more days left to […]

  2. Tweets that mention Boxing, Dove, & A Giveaway « Walking with Nora -- Topsy.com - April 16, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by In It To Gym It. In It To Gym It said: RT @WalkingwithNora: Posted {Boxing, #DoveVIP Party & A Giveaway!} http://tinyurl.com/y8wmhr4 […]

Leave a Reply

