Lessons Learned on a Rainy Weekend

26 Apr

… driving with the radio turned down, the rain slapping the windshield, is a rather calm way to start the work day.

… allowing yourself a tiny bite of a doughnut is completely acceptable after a week of early alarms and chaotic meetings.

… there’s still nothing quite like the accomplishment felt after a long week of work, the many to-dos crossed off the list, a sigh of relief as you exit the building.

… sometimes you have to give into your junk food cravings. Bonus if it’s all something you can make/bake at home.

… laying in bed for an extra hour on a rainy Saturday morning watching mindless ABC Family movies is blissful.

… returning to your favorite breakfast place is always a good idea.

… jumping out of the comfort zone and trying on 1940s style sundresses in bright colors will be one of the best decisions made in awhile.

… writing econ papers is better after several hours of procrastination, a dog at your feet, and a thunderstorm out the window.

… nothing beats Mexican food and a movie on a Saturday night.

… Saturday Night Live isn’t nearly as good as it used to be.

… I’m a chronic over-scheduler. My weekends need less activity, more free time.

… seeing other people run is a stab to the heart right now; the body is craving the open road and the running shoes. Thank goodness for common sense.

… there’s no place quite like bed, Boston Legal in the DVD player, schoolbooks packed away and a book by your side.

Random Side Note: Thanks to everyone for their kind words and support on last Friday’s post. I will definitely be exploring alternative racing options as well as new workouts after getting the final MRI results and discussing all possibilities with my doctor to make sure it’s a-ok.

17 Responses to “Lessons Learned on a Rainy Weekend”

  1. mandy April 26, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    I am glad that you took some down time this weekend to just lay low and enjoy the rainy weekend. What movie did you see? Sounds as if you had a great weekend.

  2. Kyla Roma April 26, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    I’m so glad that you just gave yourself some space to breathe this weekend- you are doing so much these days! Being able to have enough time to rest is so crucial to being able to rise to the challenges that you’re taking on. And Mexican food & ABC Family movies always seem to help =)

  3. hannahkaty April 26, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    It is so great to see that you were able to make something of a rainy weekend. Usually I get so bogged down that I just stay in bed the whole time wishing the rain would go away. This is inspiring love.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  4. Holly April 26, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Sounds like you had a restful weekend! “There’s no place quite like bed …” – amen to that :D

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 26, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Mexican …. mmmmm, yummy. If it makes you feel an ounce better, it was rainy here this weekend, too, and I didn’t do a long run. In fact, other than a long walk with my dad, I didn’t work out at all. Consider it some sympathy. =)

  6. Habbala April 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I learned that a weekend without chatting with Nora– sucks.

    And that 5Ks should not be run in the heat of the day, cause you feel like you’re going to pass out.

    Oh, and frozen yogurt is amazing after a run.

  7. kilax April 26, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    When I had a stress fracture last summer it KILLED me to be in DC and see everyone running. Even around our neighborhood, back home! Hang in there. I am feeling for you!

  8. Amy --- Just A Titch April 26, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Mexican food sounds amazing right now. Oh my goodness. I also agree with the “less activity” thing. I’m with you.

  9. Suburban Sweetheart April 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    I’m a chronic under-scheduler. Trade ya some?

  10. Jessica April 26, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Sounds like a great weekend! I love laying in bed or on the couch watching mindless TV in the morning. Great way to start the day!

  11. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns April 26, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    We need to see a picture of this dress!

    I also gave into cravings last week & had M&Ms one night. I ate so many I sort of felt sick afterwards… I still need to learn how to eat sweets in moderation!

    We both had rainy weekends! I loved falling asleep & waking up to the sound of rain.

  12. sleepyjane April 27, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    Sounds like a perfect weekend. :) We also had rain pretty much all weekend – it was the perfect excuse to do absolutely nothing!

  13. Kim April 27, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    ABC family movies have a way of sucking you in and holding you for dear life.

  14. Ally April 27, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Now this sounds like a great rainy weekend! And I agree — SNL is definitely not as good as it used to be.

  15. Veronica April 28, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    Those are all very awesome lessons.. and you’re right… SNL is not what it used to be.

  16. Her April 28, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    What I want to know is HOW you limited yourself to just one bite of the donut? That’s willpower.

    Also, I don’t think anything ever beats Mexican food.

  17. Jessica May 3, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    I literally agree with all of these. Can we just be best friends and watch ABC family movies together right now?

Leave a Reply

