The April Obsession List

28 Apr

Another month in 2010 has flown by and so it’s time for another installment of my monthly obsessions.

* Yard work. Yes, that’s right, I said yard work. I love mowing the lawn, seeing the neat little rows, the instant gratification of a job well done and having the satisfaction of having one of the prettiest lawns on the cul-de-sac if only for a few days before the rains causes it to grow an inch over night. I’ve also become a fan of pulling weeds, trimming trees and general sprucing up around my parents yard. Results you can see are fabulous and it’s a bit of a cardio/arm workout too.

* Sundays. You’d think that I’d love Fridays but lately, Sundays are my favorite. They mean a day without any school work (I work like a maniac all week to ensure my Sundays are free), leisurely naps, watching a movie, family dinner and 24 hours to let my brain detox from the incessant finance quizzes, problems, econ case studies and charts.

* Being Single. Yup, I said it. It rocks. I don’t have to shave my legs if I don’t want to. No one asks me where I’m going or what I’m doing. I don’t have to worry about wearing make-up or dressing up; instead I dress to make me happy and in the process I like to think I’m finding my own (new) style. I have my family all to myself on holidays and don’t have to dash off early to get to another family celebration. I’m refocusing on my goals: school, work, health, buying a house and couldn’t be a happier about it.  I’m taking time to just be me, no boys added.

* Not Reading. I know, such a change for me, right? School sadly infiltrates all areas of my life so sometimes the last thing I want to do is read a book for fun. Instead I’ve been listening to the radio (indie station, usually), popping in new CDs on my way to work, and getting my daily dose of reading through my mom who shares tidbits of things from Vogue & the New Yorker, while my dad shares our daily horoscopes and the big news with us at the dinner table.

* Planning mini-vacations. Working for a small company makes it challenging to take off a week at a time so I’m learning to plan around vacations we already get. Memorial Day weekend, assuming the knee news is good, I’ll be in Chicago for four days. In July, I’m spending an extra weekend in Washington DC before my mandatory work conference. August will be a trip up north just for fun and then hopefully a trip to see my faux-niece this Labor Day weekend.

Giveaways. I have a few ideas for a giveaway or two coming up in May, so in the meantime, go check out Lauren’s awesome giveaway to celebrate her blogaversary!

Any new current obsessions for you this month?

(all photos courtesy of weheartit; click on photo to view source)
21 Responses to “The April Obsession List”

  1. Krystyn April 28, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Neat post. I’ve been obsessed with reading books for FUN this month – no text books!! Since I am officially DONE with the semester as of 10:15am this morning, I will be losing myself in books non-stop for the summer.

  2. rachieannie April 28, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I have never liked yard work … but I love seeing the results of mowing. It’s so gratifying! Enough so that I told Luke the other day that if he brought a mower home from camp (we don’t own one … but have access to many through camp – that’s a huge benefit!), I would mow. He looked at me funny and told me he was going to keep me at my word :-)

  3. OG April 28, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    I like mowing the lawn too, it’s relaxing and gratifying. Although I don’t actually have to do it where I live, so I guess it’s easier to like it when I only have to do it every once in a while.

    My current obsession is finding things to do that get me more active at night. I usually just to school and then the gym, but have realized that I need to find little ways to have fun too. Whether it’s catching a minor league baseball game, trivia night at a local bar or just inviting some friends over to cook dinner.

  4. Ally April 28, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Your Sundays sound just great!

    I’m planning mini-vacations too. I had hopes of having one major vacation this year, but things just haven’t worked out this way. I’m not complaining though — minis are lots of fun.

  5. mandy April 28, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Sundays are glorious for just laying low and decompressing. Hooray for mini-vacations. I don’t have the motivation that goes into planning something for a week or longer so I’m basically all about mini-vacations, particularly roadtrips.

  6. Kyla Roma April 28, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    It sounds like I need you to come help me with my lawn! Our front yard is a desolate wasteland. It’s extremely shady and when we pulled the path up that used to be there last year none of the seed would take! We’re going to take another run at it this year, but I’m not holding my breath lol

  7. Amy --- Just A Titch April 28, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    How about a CA trip? :)

  8. Margarita April 28, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I’m going through a no-reading phase as well – and not on purpose, just no time!! Sundays are by far my favourite day of the week as well – sleeping in, no obligations, brunch, being lazy – it feels great! You seem very happy lately and I hope this ‘new’ Nora continues ;)

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns April 28, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    I am obsessed with hoarding my weekends. I don’t like to accept more than one thing on the weekend. I still haven’t fully recovered from ‘the psych experiment’ so I feel like I need wide open weekends. This will eventually go away but for now i am loving it.

    I am obsessed with Adam Braverman. or I am obsessed with finding someone with those dance moves, the half smile, and who will gaze at me like he gazes at Christina.

    Hard boiled eggs. I have been eating them as an afternoon snack and just love them. I used to hate them, so it’s odd that I now like them!

    Your obsessions are all great. Especially the single one. I think it’s healthy to push pause on the dating life from time to time. We all need to re-charge our batteries and re-enter the wonderful world (or not so wonderful world) of dating when we are ready… So enjoy being the boss of yourself & your time. :) I know I certainly am enjoying it!

  10. Ashley D April 28, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Recent obsessions? Working out when I get home from work, having a glass of wine with dinner, and reading a book in bed before I fall asleep. :)

  11. Her April 29, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    I’m hoping that up north means the East Coast! I’d love to see you/meet you somewhere, unless you want to come to Cambridge. =)

    My obsessions?

    Cooking at home more, apartment hunting, trying to decide if we should spend a month in Montreal or focus on settling in here. It’s tough, I know…

  12. Veronica April 29, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    Hmm… I’d have to go with the newest Hanson single! I’ve been obsessing over it!

    mmm Mini vaca’s are awesome too!

  13. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks April 29, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    I never used to read for fun when I was in college. As you said, there was just too much reading for school. Add a full-time job on top of it and forget it. I don’t blame you!

    You should consider coming up to Chicago over Memorial Day weekend no matter what your diagnosis is today. If you can’t run, we can make it a walking tour of the city. Or even a put your feet on the coffee table and veg out on movies weekend. =)

  14. ria April 29, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    i am the worst lawn mower ever! it’s always crooked! i wish i was better because i wouldn’t mind being out in the sun doing something in the summer ;) luckily C likes cutting the grass so i don’t have to be embarrassed

  15. Habbala April 29, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    My obsessions are:

    -Running

    -Loving my body

    -Justin Bieber.

    Ha.

  16. katelin April 29, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    oh yay for mini vacations, those are always the best. well not always, but when you can’t take a long one minis work as well :)

  17. Jessica April 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Oh my god you love yard work? I have PLENTY of love to give you :) ANd being single does rock. That no leg shaving thing? LOVE.

  18. Suburban Sweetheart April 30, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Yardwork? As they say in the ‘hood, “Girl, you crazy.” NO WAY. This is my biggest someday-owning-a-house fear. NO THANKS.

    But Sundays? Yes? Not reading? Gimme the Internet. Being single? I can handle it.

    :)

  19. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair May 2, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I love all of your obsessions! And I miss having a lawn. Now that I have a large patio in my new place in Kamloops I plan on planting some flowers so that will do for now. Mowing the lawn is a GREAT workout though and nothing beats the smell of fresh cut grass!

  20. Mel May 3, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    I love being married…But I do miss single-ness at times. :)

  21. Jessica May 3, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    I can’t imagine you mowing the lawn, but good for you girl! I am glad you are loving being single…I am not, but it’s okay!

    Yay for taking trips!

Leave a Reply

