Read or Die (and a giveaway!)

4 May

Each spring, StL is fortunate to have a huge outdoor book fair. I’m talking about 10s of thousands of books: fiction, short stories, true crime, biographies, graphic novels, science fiction, mystery, comic books, memoirs, cookbooks, history, autographed books, textbooks, children’s books and other categories I’m forgetting. Rows upon rows upon rows of books.

Darling and I set out early on Saturday morning to beat the rush (this is a huge event, parking is always out of control) and started grazing through the neatly organized rows of books with the other book lovers. (Pictured below: Just an example of one row of fiction books!)

Nothing is priced over $5, though most books are $1. ONE DOLLAR. One Dollar for writers such as Jane Green, Dan Brown, E.L. Doctorow, Joyce Carol Oates, Judith Krantz, Stephen King, Sue Grafton and hundreds of other famous (and not so famous) authors. Hardback books in brand new condition for only one dollar. It’s a book addicts dream, that is, until you get home and can’t find a place to put the new books you’ve purchased.

After one hour, I had eight books for myself, two as presents and two to giveaway to my readers. It was time to go as my trusty bag was overloaded with amazing books for less than $25 which all goes to a local charity, the Crisis Nursery.

As I was perusing the book aisles, I happened upon two of my favorite books: Jemima J by Jane Green and Getting Over it by Anna Maxted in perfect condition. These authors are two of my favorites: just the right combination of whimsy and chick lit, add in some serious topics and intelligent writing and voila! Recipe for perfect summer reading. And so, dear readers let’s consider this reader appreciation week: one lucky winner will win both of these books!

 

The Rules:

* You must love books.
* Readers from all countries can enter.
* You must leave your comments/entries on this blog by this Friday, May 7th at midnight Central Daylight Time.

Earn up to three entries (each comment must be separate to be counted):

* Leave one comment telling me what your favorite all-time book ever is.
* Blog about this giveaway and leave a link to your blog in a separate comment. Use this link on your blog: http://tinyurl.com/2b8kxtq
* Tweet about this giveaway and leave a separate comment to your tweet below. Use this link in your tweet: http://tinyurl.com/2b8kxtq

Good luck!

48 Responses to “Read or Die (and a giveaway!)”

  1. Amy May 4, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    I love books and book sales, too. :) Just went to one last weekend. :)

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 4, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    My all-time favorite book? That’s so unfair. I have the worst memory ever. I’m lucky if I remember reading a book. hahaha. So, I’ll just say that one of my more recent favorite books was Caucasia. I’m always a sucker for fictitious novels about individuals or groups overcoming struggle!

  3. mandy May 4, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    One of my all time favorite books? The Secret Garden. Or the Anne of Green Gables series. But The Help was really good too. As is the one I’m currently reading A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. But then there’s To Kill a Mockingbird. I can’t do it! I can’t pick just one….

    And i’m pretty sure I need to attend an event like that. It would be like my own personal heaven. Where did you get that Read or Die bag?

  4. ria May 4, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    oh my why doesn’t michigan have such an awesome event?! one of my all time favorite books was memoirs of a geisha or the secret garden or anything by mary higgins clark or nora roberts or…well you get the point ;)

  5. Ben May 4, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Don’t count this as an entry because shipping from the US to Canada is RIDIC, but that looks like an amazing event!

  6. ria May 4, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    i tweeted too ;)

    http://twitter.com/rialeilani/status/13364625942

  7. Liz May 4, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    Oh man, how did I miss this? Oh well, maybe I’ll win the giveaway!

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 4, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Maybe I need to come to St L for this next year. Wow – what an event. I am seriously JEALOUS. $1 for books? I could actually break my book-buying-fast for that!!

    It’s hard to pick an all time favorite book… Maybe Tuesdays with Morrie. Or Without Reservations. So tough!

  9. OurLittleAshley May 4, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    What a fun giveaway!

    My favorite book is probably Walk Two Moons – a ‘young adult’ book, but SO good. I think it changed my life. Or at least my perspective. :)

    You are awesome. <3

  10. Alesia May 4, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    That second picture is what my idea of heaven is.

  11. SSG May 4, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    I love reading. when I say love I mean LOVE LOVE LOVE it is the greatest skill I have, being able to read. It has shaped me into the person I am today. A gift of a book is one of the best gifts you can give, in my opinion. You are giving dreams and hopes and the chance to learn.

  12. Ashley D May 4, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I’m always looks for new books to read so this is fabulous! My favorite book? Pride and Prejudice. A classic, but I love the story so much.

  13. Kyla Roma May 4, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Oh that sounds amazing!! My favorite book? That’s so hard to pin down- but for now I’ll say Capote because it’s what I’m reading now and I’m really loving it =)

  14. Kathleen May 4, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    My all-time favorite book is The Lord of the Rings. I don’t think anything can even beat the epic amazingness it contains!

  15. kristen May 4, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Read or die…teehee. A favorite is impossible but the best from our most recent library trip was definitely the quiet american by graham greene.

  16. Kathleen May 4, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Here’s my tweet! https://twitter.com/kapachino/status/13370686975

  17. Krystyn May 4, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Oh more books! Fun times. Funny I blogged about books today too..check it out. I’d love to add some to my summer reading!

  18. Becky May 4, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    Ohhhhh I’m so jealous!!!

    Hmm…all-time favorite book? The Great Gatsby, no questions asked!

  19. Lauren From Texas May 4, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    I’ve read both of those books & loved them!

    My favorite book of all time? So hard. I’ll go by the one I’ve read the most… Anne of Green Gables. It might not be considered a literary masterpiece (although I think so!), but I have read it so many times I’ve lost count. Love me some L. M. Montgomery!

  20. rachieannie May 4, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I LOVED that book – I read it in 6th grade and recommended it to everyone.

  21. rachieannie May 4, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Asking me to choose my favorite book is like asking me to choose my favorite child. It’s just not done!

    So, instead I thought I would talk about authors … cause some authors are just golden. Like LFT, I LOVE L.M. Montgomery. Also, I love Louisa May Alcott, George MacDonald, Francine Rivers, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R Tolkien.

    I also really like the book Tisha, which is a memoir of a girl who went to the Alaskan wilderness to teach. I tend to read that at least once a year.

  22. Doniree May 4, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    My favorite all-time book(s) are Eat Pray Love and The Alchemist. I found both at times in my life when I needed an extra little push to think bigger and follow my dreams, and they’re stories I continue to go back to.

  23. Judy Dudley May 4, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Not sure about a favorite, but The Kite Runner is high on my list!

    Please enter me in this giveaway!

    seizethebookblog(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. Habbala May 4, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    My favorite book of all time is Pride and Prejudice. I have a bout 10 copies of it, one being over 100 years old.

    I just decided that I am coming to visit you next year for the book faire. I will go, and mail myself back the books. Sound good?

  25. alliecakes May 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    That book fair looks awesome and I am about to go google if we have anything remotely like that going on around here anytime soon!

    My fave book is also Pride & Prejudice like a couple of the lovely ladies above.

  26. Margarita May 4, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Hmmm, my favourite book of all time?

    It would be very very difficult to say…

    I’ve read so many and my tastes have truly changed over the years… but I’d have to say:

    The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

  27. katelin May 4, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    i’d say my all time favorite book is ‘in cold blood’ by truman capote. it’s just so well written and intriguing and albeit creepy, still really good.

    love this giveaway, yay books!

  28. Nora May 4, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    my favourite book growing up was anne of green gables – i don’t know if I could pick now!

  29. Caz May 4, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Asking for my favourite book is like asking a mother to pick which kid is her favourite!

    Do I pick one of my classic favourites like Pride & Prejudice or To Kill a Mockingbird?

    Do I pick a recent read like the Time Traveller’s Wife? Should I pick one about travel and adventure like Shantaram? Or an easy chick-lit read like the Shopaholic books?

    Anyway, I’ll go with P&P because I take my copy all over the world with me and read it about once a year.

    Also, if you can’t ship to Australia ($$$$) then don’t worry and don’t count this entry. :-)

  30. Jessica May 4, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    OMG I am so jealous of that book fair…did you know I have a book blog? Obsessed.

    My favorite book…sigh, so hard to answer. Really, anything by Meg Cabot. I can’t choose!

  31. Veronica May 5, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    My all time favorite book is one from my childhood. The Giver by Lowis Lowry… it’s outstanding, and I can read it a hundred times over and be just as enthralled by it.

  32. Erin May 5, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Swoon! I want to go to a book sale like that!!

    Can my all-time favorite book be the entire Harry Potter series? If not, well, too bad, because that’s what it is! :)

  33. mandy May 5, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    I tweeted! http://twitter.com/MandyKTD/status/13462384190

  34. mandy May 5, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    I tweeted!

    http://twitter.com/MandyKTD/status/13462384190

  35. mandy May 5, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    I tweeted… http://twitter.com/MandyKTD/status/13462384190

    (I also feel like I’ve posted this a bunch of times to get it to show up so if its all floating around your inbox I’m sorry !)

  36. Allie May 6, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    My mom is a librarian, so I’m all about the books (although I’ve been “cheating” a lot lately with audio books).

    I’ll do two:
    – Favorite childhood book: Blueberries for Sal
    – Currently digging: Stieg Larsson’s books (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, etc.)

  37. butterflycharlie May 6, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Picking an all time favourite book is so hard! Picking an all time favourite of anything is difficult. But, I’d probably have to say The Picture of Dorian Gray, or The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, or Disgrace or…or….there’s too many!

    That book fair looks amazing. I could lose myself for hours in there.

  38. Joey May 6, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    Ack. To pick just one? Eeeps. Ok. Here goes: Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) and for a kids book I loved “The Phantom Tollbooth” (Norman Juster).

  39. Tabitha May 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    My all-time favorite book is A Cricket in Times Square, for mostly nostalgic reasons. My grandmother gave it to me as a kid, and it was the first chapter book I read by myself. But it is also a really sweet story! :-)

  40. Tabitha May 6, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    And a tweet!

  41. AuburnKat May 6, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Ohh I LOVED Jemima J!!! I’ve never heard of the other book though!!

  42. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 7, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Posted a link to your giveaway today.

    http://somispeaks.com/2010/05/07/replay-42/

  43. Emily Jane May 7, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    Oh wow what a heavenly way to spend a day :)

    My all-time favourite book EVER… is really hard to narrow down!! I’m going to cheat and mention two, because I can’t pick. Neil Gaiman’s “Neverwhere” for INCREDIBLE imagination, and Mervyn Peake’s Gormenghast trilogy, because I’ve never seen prose so breathtakingly beautiful in all my life.

  44. AppleTree May 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    My most recent favorite book is “Wounded by School.” It’s a professional book, but also such good perspective for anyone who has children, or cares about what’s best for children.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. shop-a-bookaholic – GIVEAWAY! « OH! BOOKS…PAPER…REAL LIFE… - May 4, 2010

    […] Hey,now go on over to Nora’s blog . She’s running a book giveaway as well. (Yup, that’s her in my picture of the […]

  2. Book Review: Jemima J - July 10, 2010

    […] few months back, I entered a giveaway at Nora’s blog, and won. She very promptly sent me the books, and I finished them that weekend. This is one […]

Leave a Reply

