Nora Confessions, Part VII

6 May

Previous installments:  here , here ,  here ,here,  here and here.

* I’ve never seen the original Star Wars movies. Ever.

* When I was in Key West for my friend’s bachelorette party, I committed the Cardinal Sin of vacations: I fell for a local. Captain Steve. Sigh. Italian, tall, tan, handsome and wildly adventurous.

* If I can’t sleep, I will eat M&Ms in bed while playing my Nintendo DSi.

* I still suffer from blogger envy on occasion: design, followers, stats. I know, it’s totally silly and shallow considering everything else that’s going on in the world.

* About once every two months, my Monica Gellar cleanliness tendencies go out the window. Suddenly there are piles of clothes, books and other randomness all over my room. It builds up until I can’t take it anymore and I do a clean sweep.

* I get really annoyed when the men I work with feel the need to make loud, bodily function noises in the hallway. I may be the only girl in the office, but I can hear them!

* I’m not sure that I’m feeling Glee this season. The plot line is a bit… jumpy.

* The other day, I caught a glimpse of myself and my hair in the mirror. The curliness and gray hair totally looked like Cher in Moonstruck. I haven’t decided if this is a good or bad thing. I guess it’d be good if it means I find some Italian dude who likes the look.

* Some days I wish I could be the party girl, the devil-may-care-attitude girl. Not the cares-what-people-think, people-pleasing, worrying-about-everyone-but-herself girl.

Anything you want to get off your chest today?

29 Responses to “Nora Confessions, Part VII”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 6, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    My hair is going gray as well. I just changed the way I part my hair today – oddly enough, there is a clump where I usually part on my hair, but not on the other side. I am going to try to get through the summer w/out a haircut! We’ll see how that goes!

    I haven’t seen Star Wars either and I never will. No thank you.

    I eat pickles in bed when I can’t sleep. :)

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 6, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    I saw the original Star Wars in the movie theater. When I was about 5. I’m pretty sure you weren’t even born yet. =)

  3. mandy May 6, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I’ve never seen any of the Star Wars movies, occasionally suffer from blogger envy, and combat the gray hair with dye. =)

    My confession — I’m sometimes more scared of things (like potentially losing my job, not finding a new one, etc) than I let on.

  4. Megan May 6, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I’ve never seen the original Star Wars movies either. Just the new ones. I have blogger envy on occasion as well. I went on a cleaning sweep yesterday because my house was a MESS. I didn’t realize how messy it was getting while I was busy doing homework and other school things. Now that school is over, I’m on a mission to clean from floor to ceiling.

  5. Emily Jane May 6, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    I’m a sci-fi snob – all over Star Trek but NEVER seen any of the original Star Wars either!

    I’d like to see a pic of you with your hair like that. I’m sure it looks lovely :)

  6. kilax May 6, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    #1 makes me so sad I can’t read the rest. :P

    My confession: I have been slacking hardcore …

  7. Amy --- Just A Titch May 6, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I, too, suffer from blogger envy, sometimes let my house get out of control dirty and wish I cared less about what others thought.

  8. RootsAndRings May 6, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    -Star Wars sucks. All of them. I hate sci-fi.

    -I’m one of very few women in my office… I work for a construction company. So lets just say I can TOTALLY relate. Plus, my chair is literally about 7 feet from the bathroom. GROSS. And the cursing?? Oh the cursing!

    -I have TONS of gray hair. Sometimes I’ll catch my mom or husband talking to my head instead of my face. “What are you looking at?” They look at me, “All your grays….” I’m 25. Not okay.

  9. Ashley May 6, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    So with you on the last one, but I wouldn’t recognize myself!

  10. nova May 6, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Nora! So good to hear from you. I still read you regularly, but I’ve been so bad with leaving comments.

    Blog envy? I can’t even imagine that from you. Your blog is awesome and I see that you have increased your readers exponentially. =]

    Ahhhh, the gray hairs on my head consume me every day. Have you ever heard of hair mascara? If you haven’t – it’s awesome and it increases the time between root touchups.

    Glad to read you’re doing well. I bet you can’t wait for finals to be over. Good luck with all of that!

  11. Alesia May 6, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Looking like Cher in Moonstruck is a good thing. Looking like Cher in 2010, however…

  12. Erin May 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    I’m not really feeling Glee this season either. It’s just…awkward, and not in a good way.

    I’m also rocking some serious grey these days. We can compare in Indy!

  13. AuburnKat May 6, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I’m sick of being talked down by a man at work who thinks he knows everything when he doesn’t have a clue. I just had to get that off my chest=)

  14. Leesh May 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I agree with you on Glee although it’s slowly getting better.

    I find it so cute that when you can’t sleep you eat m&m’s and play your Nintendo DSi. I use also do that. I would eat cookies and play my DS too.

  15. Veronica May 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    I’m annoyed at the fact that I have to shave my chin more than I do my legs. URG1

  16. Kyla Roma May 7, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    I’m sure the hair is a very good thing =)

    Something that I need to get off my chest: I need to go easier on myself! I’ve been beating myself up like you would not believe in the past few days and it’s just not kind at all.

  17. Becky May 7, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    I get the blog envy sometimes too!

  18. Amanda May 7, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I love your new blog look! (at least, it’s new to me, haha).
    Hm. Confessions. My “real life” friends know I blog and, in an inebriated state, the one person who knew the *name* decided to share it with everyone. I don’t mind that they read, but I kind of resent that my little blog world is no longer just mine. ::sigh::

  19. Elizabeth May 7, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    I’m so glad to be far away from home this Mother’s day–I feel like that makes me sound terrible, but I just don’t want to stomach everyone fawning over my not so good sister in law (okay, evil) and her new-ish baby.

  20. Meg May 8, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    I’m not really feeling Glee right now, either. I keep watching though (granted on hulu, not when it airs) because I feel like it might get better and I’ll regret not keeping up.

  21. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair May 9, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    I have found a couple of Italian guys I want to bring back to you. Now I just need to work on fitting them in my backpack. Hmmm…

    Also, I am SO the same with my cleaning. Sometimes I’m just plain MESSY!

  22. Suburban Sweetheart May 9, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Love the idea of Cher hair. My hair is pretty darn straight. I’m sure it won’t be too tough to find a man, Italian or not, who appreciates locks like that. :)

    I’m not really feeling “Glee” either, though I feel slightly guilty about it. And I, too, experience blogger envy on the regular.

  23. Jessica May 9, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    That last one is so me.

    I also get blogger envy sometimes, but not as often as I used to!

  24. Jessica May 9, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    WHAT? Never seen Star Wars? Oh girl I found what we’re doing when you come to town. Do you watch Cougar Town? Courtney Cox had something called “M&M tea,” which is literally just M&Ms in a coffee mug. I love that.

  25. OG May 10, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    I’ve never seen the original star wars either. I’ve actually never seen any of the star wars movies all the way through. And I also suffer from blog envy ;) Good luck on exams!

  26. sleepyjane May 10, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Sometimes I wish I was the partying kind too. Then I get distracted by my puppies or J, good food and a movie. ;)

  27. sleepyjane May 10, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    PS – I really like this new design WP has. SO excited about the new ones coming out. :)

  28. Lauren From Texas May 14, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I’ve never seen the Star Wars movies either! Although I have solemnly sworn to my husband to watch them soon.

    Maybe you should come watch them with me to ease the pain?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kyla Roma » Blog Archive » Fridays Are For…secrets - May 17, 2010

    […] Facts, Series, Stories about My lovely, beautiful, heartfelt friend Nora has a blog series called “Confessions” that I really enjoy & wanted to try my hand at- so here are some secrets from me to […]

Leave a Reply

