Randomness & The Winner

10 May
  • Iron Man 2 rocked. RDJ is looking better than ever, the music was great (I think I need to purchase the soundtrack), Mickey Rourke is still creepy looking, and the movie gets a 9.5 out of 10 from me. If ScarJo hadn’t been in the movie I probably would have given it a 10/10 but I’m just not a fan of hers.
  • End of semesters stink. I’m struggling to push through these last five days. I know I can do it, I just wish I didn’t have to. Knowing that wishing won’t get me anywhere I’ll get ‘er done but I’m longing for a weekend where I can hug my pillow for a few extra hours each morning and lay around listlessly staring at a variety of chick flicks.
  • I’ve seen the penguin exhibit at our zoo approximately 15 times. It doesn’t get old. Nor do the giraffes, sea lions, and “big cat country.”
  • People should have more picnics. I spent the majority of my day yesterday celebrating my mom and gram at one of our favorite parks with an array of food and drink, activities and relaxing. Combine food, reading, dog & people watching, family, laughs and just being and seriously, who wouldn’t want to have mor picnics?
  • Mother Nature is confused. We had to turn the heat on at our house last night. The. Heat. It’s May. This shouldn’t be happening.
  • Big events are around the corner: my best college friend’s baby shower is the weekend; my dad is turning the big 6-0 next week; my brother will be home for a few weeks; and the basement is finally going to be finished after the great flood February 2010!
  • I guess you want to know who won the book giveaway, eh?… the winner is: Veronica from Simply Charmed! Congratulations, Veronica!

Anything random on your mind this Monday morning?

19 Responses to “Randomness & The Winner”

  1. Becky May 10, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    I can’t wait to see Iron Man! My husband has weird days off so it might be another week before we’re able to see it together. I’m not a fan of Scarlett Johanssen either and when people ask me why my answer is, “I don’t know when I think of her, just…blah.”

  2. Lys May 10, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    We were standing in line to see Iron Man Saturday night, only 30 minutes from being let in the IMAX theatre, when J and I decided we didn’t really want to be shoved into a dark room with hundreds of other people reeking of sweat and popcorn butter and sounds of obnoxious, tired children and nerdy diatribe permeating the occasion. We’re going to wait til the crowds die down in a few weeks to try again. I’m not sure if this means we’re officially old…or just lazy, but we walked around the mall with smoothies and people-watched instead. It was pretty fantastic. Not to mention, while standing in line, an Indian guy in front of us had to have had halitosis or something going on in his mouth…his breath reeked of death and mold. Seriously added to our decision to skip out.

    Also, the weather down here has been floating in the mid to upper 90s. I can’t say I don’t love it, because I get to be outside all day playing with dogs and getting a crazy tan while losing weight and getting paid. It’s a pretty sweet deal :) I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with awful weather, I heard there were snow flurries in wisconsin last week!

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 10, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    The StL Zoo never grows old – it’s one of our nation’s best, that’s for sure!

    Randomness on my mind? Sneezing while carrying a glass of milk makes for a very messy situation. Sigh.

  4. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 10, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Dangit – I was hoping I would win!! :) So jealous!

    I can’t stand ScarJo. I can’t believe we haven’t chatted about that! I think she is the girl that every woman seems to hate. She’s the woman who will sleep or mess around with your husband. I fully understand that is just the character she plays… but still… her voice just screams cheater sex to me!!

    Yes, Mother Nature needs to realize we don’t need cold crappy weather right now!

  5. Margarita May 10, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    I love zoos too! I haven’t even seen all of Iron Man 1 yet so I need to watch it pronto!!

    Love the new look :)

  6. Kyla Roma May 10, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    I saw Iron Man last night and really loved it too! =)

    And it’s been crazy cold here too, I’m glad I’m not the only one not traipsing around in a tan and sun dress lol Somehow that makes it a little better.

  7. Renee May 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    I LOVE penguins. They definitely never ever get old.

  8. Suburban Sweetheart May 10, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    I fell asleep during the first “Iron Man,” but I heard the second one is really good, so I may have to give it a shot. And re: the zoo, I’m obsesssssed with the Small Mammal House. I can’t get enough!

    Good luck with the end of the semester. <3

  9. mandy May 10, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Its unseasonably cold here as well. Which makes getting up in the mornings very hard. Right now, I’m basically ready to go to bed and be done with Monday.

  10. Elizabeth May 10, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    I went to your penguin exhibit last fall! I loved it too. Also, I’m embracing the cold for now, but it’s still a pretty new thing for me.

  11. alliecakes May 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Omg, I love your layout!! It’s super cute, just like youuuu. :) Good luck getting through the last few days of the semester… you’re almost done!!

  12. Jessica May 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Seriously, I’m freezing cold in my apartment right now. I’m turning on the heated mattress pad tonight. For real. Glad you liked Iron Man 2, I’m dying to see it this weekend now that I’m back.

  13. Veronica May 11, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    Man… I so had to do the same thing at my house (turn on the heat) not sure what’s going on with the weather!

    Thank you again! I can’t wait to get the books!

  14. LiLu May 11, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Probably the biggest selling point of our apartment for me is the fact that the zoo is DIRECTLY behind it. I swear, I could go every. single. day… and NEVER get bored.

  15. sleepyjane May 11, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    “◦Iron Man 2 rocked. RDJ is looking better than ever, the music was great (I think I need to purchase the soundtrack), Mickey Rourke is still creepy looking, and the movie gets a 9.5 out of 10 from me. If ScarJo hadn’t been in the movie I probably would have given it a 10/10 but I’m just not a fan of hers.”

    YES YES YES. About everything! The movie rocked, the soundtrack was awesome (AC/DC is always a WIN in my book) and not a big fan of whatsherface.

    The weather here is crazy too. We’re almost having winter-like weather here and the leaves haven’t even turned brown and fallen off for autumn.

  16. Jessica May 11, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Good luck getting through the end of the semester! Almost there.

    It’s cold in Philly too :(

  17. imogenc May 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Hmmm…I’m not a big fan of Scarlett either -and have to admit to falling asleep during Iron Man I. Should I still give this a chance? :)

    As for Mother Nature, I’m thinking a better way of putting it might be to say “we’ve confused her”. God created all in infinite wisdom and I do think we only have ourselves to blame for today’s mess…We made our bed (and still keep making it really) and now we’ll have to sleep in it :roll:

    Ps. LOVE the new blog outlook! Was considering it myself, actually, but as it turns out I’m not as good at (or as patient with) customizing templates as you seem to be. Plus -I love my sidebar content way too much ;)

  18. Emily Jane May 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Mother Nature’s PMSing I think. I had to take a space heater to work this week!!

  19. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair May 18, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    Oooh I really want to see Iron Man 2! Hopefully this week!

    You’re DONE classes now for awhile, I’m so proud of you :)

Leave a Reply

