Monday Open Letters

17 May

Dear Father Time,

Any chance you could slow down? Weekends go by in a blink of an eye. Four years goes to fast: it seems like just yesterday I was standing next to my best friend from college during her wedding and on Saturday we celebrated her first baby. I can’t handle the time warped speeds that life seems to be going at these days.

Sincerely,
Not a Time Traveler

Attention: Grad School Professors
From: Nora, Dedicated Student
Re: Final Grades

I did the work you asked me to do well within the parameters of the semester. I understand you have other finals to grade, but could you please post our final grades already? The suspense is killing me.

Dear Rain Clouds,
Go away. Seriously. Disregard anything I’ve previously said about loving rain on this here blog because right now I want you to just disappear. I can’t mow the lawn. I can’t take Jack for long walks. The construction on my parents’ house can’t start as long as your around. Just shoo!

Respectfully,
One Tired Rain Lover

Dear Self,

It’s technically your “summer” break. Two weeks of glorious no homework, no quiz, no test days. Take advantage of it.

Yours Truly,
Your Inner Overacheiver

Dear Movie Makers,
Could we maybe spend a little more time on creating original scripts than doing remakes? Is it really necessary to remake movies that already rocked (I’m looking at you, Robin Hood)? I’d like a little more creativity and originality at the box office this summer.

Yours,
Bored with the Box Office

To: Food Allergies
From: One Fed-up Nora

It’s about time you go away. I’ve had enough of having to monitor my food for “poison.” I’m craving cantelope and bananas, raw carrots and broccoli. I’d much rather not have to carry a big purse with me everywhere I go to accommodat the Epi-Pen or panic if I think I’ve ingested something that could kill me. It’s been three years. Shouldn’t you be moving along by now?

Dear Target,

Thank you for having such adorable sandals and flats this season. At $15 a pair they don’t break the bank and they make my outfits that much more adorable.

With Love,
Addicted to Shoes

To All the Lovely Men & Women Going to Vegas this weekend:

Have a lovely time. I’m sorry I won’t get to be there this year but count me in for next year! Enjoy the experience, the comraderie, the hugs, newfound friendships, epic-ness that is the blogging world. Just promise you won’t forget me while you’re partying it up Vegas-style.

Love always,
Nora

18 Responses to “Monday Open Letters”

  1. ria May 17, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    i LOVE your new layout. enjoy your break between classes!

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 17, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I’ll echo you on that rain letter with one caveat. Rain during the week as much as you want so long as you bring me lots of sunshine this weekend. =)

  3. mandy May 17, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Dear Nora,

    You’re one of the best friends a person could ask for. I admire the person you are– always striving for the next thing, the way you plow through your school work, and the way you care about your friends. I don’t take enough time out of my day to always tell you that. I really do appreciate you. You are awesome and I’m incredibly lucky to call you a friend.

    XO,
    Mandy

  4. Margarita May 17, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Aww, I really hope you party it up these two weeks! Take a bloggy break and really have fun!

  5. Becky May 17, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Haha, love these!

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 17, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    I hear you on the rain. I was thrilled to come back to sunny skies & warmer temps. :)

    My letters would be:

    Dear Makers of Parent Hood,

    Could you extend the show & make it 2 hours/week?

    Your Faithful Fan,
    Lisa

    Dear Summer Budget,

    I know you exist for my own good, but it’s so hard to resist all the cute summer dresses & sandals that tempt me!

    Signed,
    One Fashion Deprieved Girl

    Dear SATC2,

    I am looking forward to seeing you so so so much. Please do not disappoint me.

    XO,
    Lisa

  7. katelin May 17, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    you will be oh so very missed in vegas, but next year! and i’m holding you to it!

    also. love the layout, so cute!

  8. AuburnKat May 17, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I love cantaloupe, I ate an entire one yesterday in less than an hour…oops!

  9. Jessica May 17, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    Great letters! Ugh you guys are STILL getting rain? BOO! I want to also write a letter about the cold and gray skies. I mean seriously, I cannot handle it. I’m also guessing you went to see Robin Hood and hated it. Glad I skipped it.

  10. LiLu May 18, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I so wish you were going! :-(

    This is a one-time deal for me, so we’ll have to figure out another way to meet up this year.

    OR ELSE.

    xoxo

  11. Kyla Roma May 18, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    I’m completely at a loss as to how this year could have moved so quickly too- it’s bizarre!

    My open letter:

    Dear Weather,

    I know you say that you’re going to rain wherever we go on this trip, but I’m calling your bluff. I know you want to just shine and be beautiful- let it out, okay? =)

    Kyla

  12. Ashley May 18, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I’m still waiting on one grade and it’s driving me crazy. I think I know what it will be, but I need the confirmation. And validation too.

    I also got a lovely pair of Target sandals.

    Enjoy your break. There will be plenty of things to accomplish when you get back!

  13. Ashley D May 18, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Aaaaand now I want to go to Target and buy some cute new flats!

  14. Amanda May 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    You + Me + Vegas 2011. Deal. I don’t even care if Bar Prep has already started. It will be my law school graduation present to myself :D I am saying this on your blog so you can hold me to it :)

    And I agree about grades…I’m waiting on 2 and they prob won’t be out until end of june…AFTER I’ve finished my first summer class and gotten that grade back. Lame.

  15. Sarah May 19, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    I couldn’t agree with you more about the box office re-makes. What is with that?! (Although I never did like Kevin Costner’s Robin Hood – I preferred ‘Robin Hood: Men in Tights’. It was much more entertaining.)

  16. uberfrau May 20, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    I heard they had to recast maid marian becuase the original actress was making russell look too old. I bet that it will about as good as “Robin Hoood Prince of thieves” but probably worse because there will be no Bryan Adams song.

  17. Jessica May 24, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    I’m with you in your letter to father time…I’m not too happy with him lately!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ten on tuesday…. « Jens World - May 18, 2010

    […] Please name your current top 10 blogs.-ohhh this could be tough… 1) Knowing the Difference 2)Walking Through the Rain 3)These Little Moments 4) Mommy Wants Vodka 5) Vast Public Indifference 6)Grumbles and Grunts 7) […]

Leave a Reply

