Daddy’s Little Girl

19 May

Today is my dad’s 60th Birthday.

I know him as the dad who bought me my favorite Christmas stocking (to this day) with his last dollar when I was less than one year old.

The dad who has switched jobs several times in life, all in pursuit of making a better life for the family.

The dad who, after my first break up, stood up and proclaimed “I’m going over there.” The man who still offers to “talk” to the men who break my heart even though I’m 26.

The dad who carpools with me a few times a week to save me gas money so that I can save as much money for my future home as possible.

The dad who loves my dog Jack as though he was his grand-dog-baby.

The dad who can read my mind, word for word, at any given time. (This can be both good and bad.)

The dad who has taught me to be a compassionate yet firm businesswoman.

The dad who encourages me from the sidelines time and time again, letting me fall if I must, but always picking me back up and setting me on the right course.

The dad who treats my mother so well, I’ve got a view of what I want my future relationship(s) to look like and I refuse to settle. (I suppose this could be both and good bad too!)

The dad who leaves funny comments on this blog, taught me what real music is, bought me my first car, hurried my moving into my first college dorm because he didn’t want me to see him cry, who treats the family to Mexican after a grueling day at the office, who was happy to partake in the Father/Daughter Dance for my Brownie troop, who taught me how to play catch, who is the best father I could ever ask for.

Happy Birthday, Dad. I love you.

{You’d think I’d have a recent photo of my father and me, but I don’t. I guess I should work on that. Or borrow a few from my mom.}

If you’re looking for more of my writing, check me out at Kyla’s blog today. I share some of my hopes and goals for this summer.
Come back Friday for the final installment of the Dating Disasters!

 

20 Responses to “Daddy’s Little Girl”

  1. Richard Losciale May 19, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    That’s my girl! None better on this planet or any other. I am a man of blessed karma to have such a daughter!Thanks for appreciating me.

  2. mandy May 19, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    This is as beautiful post that made me teary. As somone who doens’t have a relationship with her father, it makes me happy when other people appreciate what they have with their father. A very Happy Birthday to your dad! You’re both incredibly blessed to have each other.

  3. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 19, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    What a sweet tribute to your dad! He sounds like an amazing man! We are so fortunate to have wonderful father figures. They bar for our future husbands has been raised high, but it is definitely a good thing! :)

    Happy Birthday to your dad! I hope you have a fabulous day together!

  4. Habbala May 19, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    I love it. Happy Birthday to your daddy!

  5. OG May 19, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Sounds like you have a great dad, I’m sure he’s happy to have a daughter who appreciates him so much. Happy Birthday to him.

  6. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 19, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this post. Cannot wait to meet THE MAN one day. Happy birthday to your dad – yay!

  7. Anya May 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Gorgeous post about your father. Makes me think about how rich my relationship is with my dad.

    We’re so blessed to have had wonderful father figures.

    Enjoy your day with your dad :)

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair May 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    What a beautiful post, and I love that your dad was the first comment :) Happy Birthday to him!

  9. Becky May 19, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your dad!!! The one where he said “I’m going over there,” tugged at my heart!!!

  10. Margarita May 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Aww, so adorable. Happy Bday to Nora’s daddy!!

  11. Emily Jane May 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Awww! It’s my dad’s birthday tomorrow! :) Happy birthday to your lovely dad.

  12. katelin May 19, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    this is such a sweet post nora. happy birthday to your dad!!

  13. Elizabeth May 19, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    What a dad! I’m so glad you have something so special with him. Happy birthday to him!

  14. E.P. May 19, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Aww, so sweet! I loved reading this!

    Happy birthday to your dad! I hope it has been (and continues to be) an amazing day!

  15. Suburban Sweetheart May 19, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Love this. Lucky girl. Happy birthday to your dad.

  16. Nicole May 20, 2010 at 6:14 am #

    Awwww, great post! It makes me want to drive home so that I can give my dad a hug.

  17. ria May 20, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    happy birthday to your dad! he sounds like an amazing father

  18. alliecakes May 21, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    This is so sweet… sounds like you have an amazing Dad!!

  19. nova May 21, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    He must be a great dad to have raised such a beautiful daughter as you. Congratulations to you both. ♥

  20. hannahkaty May 22, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Happy belated Bday to your dad.. I hope he reads this because it is absolutely touching.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

Leave a Reply

