A Family of Fries

24 May

Ever since I went to the Vegas Blogger Meet-Up last year, I had planned on going again. Until I decided to train for a race (that I can no longer run). What does this have to do with Vegas you ask? Every time I go to Vegas I get sick. Like high fever, stuck in bed, riddled with pain sick. Blame the lack of sleep, the alcohol, the second hand smoke, whatever you want, but it  happens. I wasn’t about to go to Vegas to a) attempt to get in my final training run and b) come back sick and not be able to run after all that training. Not sure when I became an adult, but that last sentence proves I have (at least in some ways). Joke was on me I guess since I’m not able to run thanks to the knee situation and by the time that was evident, tickets to Vegas were over $500. So due to finances and stupid non-races, Vegas was out for me this year.  

And thus a new plan was born: Indianapolis with four other lovely ladies, each having similar reasons for not being able to go to Vegas. A radtrip, if you will (thanks, Renee, for the term radtrip).

A radtrip which included conversations like this one:

Ashley: What would you do if you saw Justin Timberlake?
Me: Marry him.
Renee: Lick him.
Ashley: What would that taste like?
Me (without pausing): SEX.
Renee: … or strawberries and swagger.

A radtrip which included me ordering a “family of fries” at the Mug n’Bun, a fabulous drive-in root beer and food stand, with each french fry receiving it’s own characteristic: baby, liverspotted, osteoporosis. A fried food fail since we barely touched our food. The root beer was amazing and a bonus: free bumper stickers.

A radtrip where we posed with Barbie while working on our Barbie Faces, traveled to Egypt, to the land of Star Wars, and back to the Dinosaur era all thanks to the Children’s Museum. Where we fell in love with When Eddie Met Salad, a fabulous salad and wrap restaurant that I really wish we had in StL.

A radtrip that had us (accidentally) evading a security doorman, getting manicures and pedicures at Spa in the City, complete with mimosas and other beverages, laughing with the nail technicians and coming out relaxed, girlie and ready for our tapas dinner at BARcelona where we managed to enjoy tapas and sangria for less than $10 per person.

A radtrip that I was sad to see come to a close, but so thankful that we all loitered at the brunch table at Cafe Patachou this morning far too long, none of us ready to part ways and drive our four and a half hours back to our cities.

Each night we stayed up later than the last, eyes barely open, sharing, emptying our hearts, opening our minds, remembering, hoping, dreaming, planning, until we couldn’t take it anymore. We woke up six hours later each time and started it all over again.

Simply put: this weekend was just I needed and I think just what we all needed. Old fashioned slumber party style sleeping, giggles when the lights went out, eating junk food for breakfast, and laughing… a lot.  This is what blogging has done for me. This is why I can’t wait for more meet-ups and trips in the future. This is the stuff friendships, bonds and memories are made of.

27 Responses to “A Family of Fries”

  1. Megan May 24, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Sounds absolutely amazing — and like my kind of meet-up. I’d love to go to Vegas, but I’m not a party person. I’m somewhat laid back and relaxed, so I think the Bloggers in Indy is more my style. (Not sayind I’ll never go to Vegas. I’d love to go to BiSC as well!)

  2. bellerenee May 24, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    You put this so much more eloquently than I ever could. The whole weekend reminds me of our three hours in the Vegas airport last year… good, old-fashioned girlie fun.

  3. Doniree May 24, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    This gives me goosebumps and warm fuzzies, seriously. I’m so glad you girls did this and we LOVED following the tweets and hashtags while you ran around Indy. It’s so exciting to me to have friends like you that LOVE these reunions and sleepovers, and it just warms my heart watching these friendships grow over years now. I absolutely adore what blogging has done for our relationships with these beautiful people across the country! :) Glad y’all had fun!

  4. AshleyD May 24, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    This makes me so happy (and a teensy bit jealous too)! It sounds like you girls had a wonderful time. :)

  5. Liz May 24, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    So fun! I love hearing about awesome bloggy meetups. Vegas is great, but it’s the people that’s important. Glad you had an amazing weekend!

  6. nova May 24, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I have never been on a blog meet-up, but this sounds fabulous. Don’t you wish every weekend could be like this? :-)

  7. mandy May 24, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m so glad that you all had such a fantastic time! Sounds like it was perfect in every way and really, who doesn’t like a big old fashioned slumber party?

  8. Lys May 24, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    so, so jealous

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair May 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    I was following your updates on twitter – your weekend sounded so fun! And roadtrips (or radtrips) are awesome! Glad you got to have a fun blogger meet-up even though you weren’t in Vegas!

  10. Emily Jane May 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Oh this is so exciting!! I’m hoping to have a “mini” Vegas with a couple of bloggers one day. It sounds PERFECT, glad you had such a wonderful time! :)

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 24, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Sounds like a lovely trip.

  12. Amanda May 24, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    I’m so glad you had fun! I admit I was kind of moping this weekend because I was mad I didn’t get to go to Vegas like I’d planned and had to do homework instead…but I guess I’m over it, haha :)
    I’ve never had a blogger meet-up and I really think it’s about time!

  13. Suburban Sweetheart May 24, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    “Strawberries & swagger.” Perfect.

    Also, delicious.

  14. Lauren from Texas May 24, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    ::glowers with jealousy::

    Still, glad y’all had fun. Next meet-up should be in Texas! : )

    xoxo

  15. Tabitha May 24, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    That sounds like such a perfect, relaxing alternative to the wild and crazy BISC meetup. And now I’m jealous of OVER SEVENTY PEOPLE who got to share the bloggy love this weekend, and I’m itching to make something like that happen for me…Bah! :-P

  16. Erin May 24, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    You are a rockstar…I can’t believe you already have this post up! Color me impressed.

    I miss you already, and it was just so fantastic to see you this weekend!

    p.s. The babies were moving like crazy while I was reading this post. I think they miss you too!

  17. Akirah May 24, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I’m glad you had a good time…and I hope we’ll be able to go to meetups in the same city sometime soon!

  18. Jessica May 24, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Aww that sounds like it was so much fun! I loved following your tweets and fun adventures. Are you still coming to Chicago even though you can’t run? MISS YOU!

  19. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 24, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Sounds like a fabulous trip. I laughed out loud at the JT tasting like sex comment. :) Hilarious.

    And radtrip is a fabulous term. Love it.

    I am so glad you had a fun weekend. It sounds like it was exactly what you needed!1

  20. hannahkaty May 24, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    This sounds like such a good time. I really hope I can attend a meet-up one day too!

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  21. Jessica May 24, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    Yay! This sounds like it was so much fun and a great alternative to Vegas…wish I lived closer to you!

  22. ria May 25, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    oh what an awesome idea to meet up in the middle! it sounds like a relaxing and fun time. next time i want to come too :)

  23. alliecakes May 25, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Sounds like an awesome time! We need to meet one of these days!!!!

  24. Becky May 25, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Def. sounds like a great time! I’m a little jealous! :)

  25. LiLu May 25, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    It sounds amazing, lady friend. And I’m not even mad you weren’t in Vegas because I’ll get you in less than two months!!!

  26. OG May 25, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I’m so happy you had a good time, those kinds of trips with friends are always fun. You’re always welcome down in FL.

  27. E.P. May 29, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    This post makes me so happy and makes me miss Indy and all of you at the same time.

    I’m so thankful we were able to make it happen, and I look forward to future trips!

Leave a Reply

