The May Obsessions

27 May

I can’t believe that I’m already posting my May Obsessions. MAY. This year is flying by in a blink of an eye. The last month has been incredible in many ways, leaving me with several new obsessions….

* Liberty of London. I’m pretty much a Target-holic: I can’t help but shop there. I recently purchased a new comforter by Liberty of London and now my bed is not only summerized (my other comforter was much too heavy) it’s also newly stylized. I love coming home after work and melting onto my bed for a few minutes to unwind, read a few pages of my book, or cuddle with Jack. Plus the look is chic and a little bit hippie at the same time. (And no, I wasn’t paid or compensated in anyway to write about Liberty of London. I just love their prints and fabrics.)

* Old Friendships. In the last few weeks I’ve been hanging out with friends from college, immediate post-college, my fellow “internuts” and even high school friends. There’s something to be said about a friendship if you can pick up right where you left off after not seeing each other for awhile. These are the people who truly understand me. These are the people who don’t judge me. It’s incredibly refreshing and makes me glad for keeping in touch with these people throughout the years.

* Leaving the house without my Blackberry. Shocking, isn’t it? Lately if I know I won’t need my cell phone, I leave it at home. Going out with friends and family, or even myself, sans Crackberry is so liberating. No blinking red light, no emails that need to be checked. I find myself more in the moment, less worried about what’s going on in the various social media sites, embracing the experiences and conversation around me. Try it sometime. It’s really fantastic.

* The Sex and the City 2 Soundtrack. Well, I don’t own it yet but I will. This show has always been more than just pop culture to me; it was a show my mom introduced me to, a show we watched together, talked about the fashion, the universality of love, dating, relationships, friendships and much more. I’ll soon post about the movie-going experience but suffice to say the songs in the movie are just as awesome as the first.

* Family Time. I’m sure I’ve said it before but my family rocks. Between a luxurious Mother’s Day, my brother coming home for a few weeks in between spring and summer semesters, celebrating my dad’s 60th birthday, and all the fun moments interspersed throughout the month, it’s just too fun. More often than not we wind up laughing hysterically, bonding over a healthy debate, or just relaxing. My brother heads back to school after Memorial Day and it’s going to be a tough adjustment. Kind of love having him around.

* This Picture. I know it just happened last week but I freakin’ love this picture that the talented EP took. When we first got in the elevator, the first thing she said was “we need an elevator picture before the weekend is over.” She was right!

 

Did you discover any new obsessions in the last month? Any musicians/movies/product I must try? Or perhaps you did something in May that you vow not to repeat in June? Either way, do tell!

24 Responses to “The May Obsessions”

  1. Nicole May 27, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    I love the elevator pic! I never thought to do that, but now I want to try it with my friends. :)

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks May 27, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I just recently tried some Avon moisturizing products and have been pleasantly surprised. Just might have committed myself to a new nighttime routine!

    PS – You’re a cute bunch!

  3. mandy May 27, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    You all rock that elevator pic!

    May has been a lot of fun for me as well — first concert of the season, spending time with my cousins and other family, having the opportunity to hang out with old friends….I’m hoping for a repeat in June. =)

  4. Becky May 27, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    I can’t believe it’s the end of May either! I might try that leaving the house without my blackberry thing sometime in June – that flashing red light can be crippling!

  5. Maddy May 27, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    I’m with you! This month went by too fast! This month I’m obsessed withnew camera lenses and also learning some new techniques in Photoshop. Sounds geeky, but that’s all I’m obsessed with lately!

  6. Mel May 27, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    We are going up to the inlaws cottage this weekend and what I’ll be doing? Leaving my crackberry OFF. First of all, the coverage up there sucks. They have a phone so I can call and check my voicemail at times if I want. They have the internet but I’m not bringing my laptop. If I NEED to do homework, I’ll use THEIR laptop.

    But this holiday weekend from Friday-Monday, I’m detaching myself from technology.

  7. Habbala May 27, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    This month was insane. Let’s see, new obsessions….. I really like the band Wakey!Wakey! That’s been new.

    Oh, and in the past month I feel like my life has really come to this pinnacle of contentment. Where I am really happy through to my bones. Can I be obsessed with that?

  8. Lys May 27, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    I just bought a fantastic skirt from Gap that I can’t get enough of. It’s long enough to drag just a little on the floor, made of a light white cotton, and extremely flowy. I feel like such a hippie when I pair it with two different colored tank tops and a rope knot bracelet, haha. It just feels amazing to have this skirt flowing around my ankles and dragging across my toes. It’s such a carefree outfit, I don’t even care if the edge gets dirty from the ground, it gives it character.

  9. ria May 27, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    leaving the phone home always feels wickedly nice :)

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair May 27, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I’ve been A LOT less attached to social media/my blackberry since going without it for 3 weeks. It’s a good feeling!

  11. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns May 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    I can’t wait to check out SATC2 – both the movie & the soundtrack. I loved the soundtrack for the first movie. SATC is more than pop culture for me. It makes me feel like less of a pariah (you know, being almost 30 and single in the land of I’m happily married with a baby on the way).

    May has been a great month for you. Doesn’t it seem like forever ago that you were finishing up your classes? Ok, maybe it just feels that way for me!

    My new obsession this month has been Pink’s CD. I listen to it all the dang time at work. Love the new song, “Glitter in the Air”.

  12. Ashley May 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    I love the elevator picture. I don’t have any strong obsessions right now, which is so unlike me. I guess Daria and running are filling in the gaps. Have a great long weekend!

  13. Akirah May 27, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I’m not really obsessed with anything these days. But I’m gonna check out the SATC 2 soundtrack, since you’re recommending it.

  14. Jessica May 27, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I am also obsessed with Liberty of London but I wasn’t too wowed by it in person. Some things, yes, but not everything. But I still love the bright colors and bold patterns. LOVE!

  15. Veronica May 28, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    I’ve rediscovered how much I love reading for pleasure and have gotten quite voracious with it. Thanks to you as well btw LOVED the books I got from you :)

  16. Emily Jane May 28, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    This month HAS flown by!! I’ll check out the soundtrack (you know I’m all for new music!) – I’m hearing lots from the new upcoming Twilight soundtrack too which sounds AWESOME (though I definitely won’t be seeing the movie) :)

    This May I discovered an incredible book, “A New Earth” by Eckhart Tolle. I think everybody should read it, so that’s my recommendation for June :)

  17. OG May 28, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    You’re right about leaving the phone at home. I find myself playing with my phone when I’m out with friends and, even though it’s generally accepted these days, I still find myself feeling like I’m being rude and I’m not completely in the coversation. I need to do better at leaving my phone alone. I got out a lot more this past month – that was fun.

  18. samdotcom May 28, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I try to leave my blackberry behind as much as possible. If I’m heading out to meet friends for the night, I leave my phone at home. It lets me focus on the conversations we’re having, rather than subconsciously grabbing my phone to see “what’s going on”. What’s going on is right in front of me! I love the brief feelings of freedom :)

  19. Suburban Sweetheart May 28, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    God, I feel like I don’t even remember May. Obsessing over blueberry Special K bars, “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” reruns, YA novels, side ponytails & going to bed early. Not too shabby!

  20. E.P. May 29, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    You’re right: This month really HAS flown by. I cannot believe it’s Memorial Day weekend AND that it’s almost June. Gah. Where is the time going?

    All of your May obsessions made me smile! Currently, I’m obsessed with spending time with friends and actually taking time to myself since I (hopefully) will not have to stay late at work anymore. Here’s to hoping…

  21. Elizabeth May 29, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    It’s ridiculous that this year is nearly half over. I’m loving the Liberty of London line, but I haven’t been able to justify buying anything.

  22. oh May 30, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I tried letting deadlines go ’til the minute. I think in June, I’ll try not accepting as many deadlines. ‘Cept my own, like scrapping, journaling and gardening and spending time in the kitchen with my Hubs and kids whenever they’re around. Oh, yeah, and getting laundry done in a timely manner!

  23. Erin May 31, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    I have been loving leaving my iPhone at home. I get so attached to it sometimes. It’s nice to have a forced disconnect.

  24. Rachel June 5, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    I recently rediscovered flip flops. Summer is upon us.

    PS: Target is love.

Leave a Reply

