Holidays

1 Jun

Holiday weekends are for…

… going to a midnight showing of Sex and the City 2, ignoring the bad reviews because we all know sequels aren’t as good as the first, loving the fashion, the underlying tones in the movie, giggling with the girls, and indulging in a $10 cosmopolitan. Don’t forget the fact that we dressed up and shamelessly took photos while we waited in line for the movie.

… sleeping until noon as much as possible, even if your body only allows you to do it once.

… disconnecting from all things technology including blogs, gmail, work email (well, ok, I checked it once), twitter, phone calls, online classes.  

… finding new tv shows to be addicted to, even if  only for the weekend but realizing you kind of want to watch the entire season. (I’m looking at you, Drop Dead Diva.)

… treating yourself to late snacks just like you were in high school. On the menu: Doritos, an ice cold Coca-Cola, cookies.

… taking advantage of the sales at the mall to buy a few new fabulous pieces of everyday jewelry, possibly including a faux black diamond ring a la John James Preston III.

… meditating on the big life questions, maybe getting nowhere, maybe getting somewhere.  

… finishing a book that you really, really wanted to read (Kingdom Keepers III) and being ok with putting down a book that’s not grabbing you, at least for now (Swimming).

… giving yourself a pep talk: only eight more weeks of finance and you’re done with the subject forever. Only 16 weeks before you’re 100% done with school. FOREVER.

… wrapping up loose ends around the house: cleaning, filing, organizing, trashing.

… baking the classics: chocolate chip cookies and oatmeal carmelitas.

… wishing that it wasn’t necessary work everyday, 8 to 5 (and then some) because the feeling of freedom, being able to do whatever you want whenever you want is just so amazing.

… hugging your family members, catching up with neighbors and friends, penning notes to others.

… remembering those who have sacrificed their lives, families, loves and so much more for our country and freedoms.

… going on long walks with the dog and your sibling, talking about everything and nothing at the same time.

… making some mid-year resolutions with yourself regarding personal health, wealth, and overall goals.

How do you spend your holiday weekends?

23 Responses to “Holidays”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 1, 2010 at 6:09 am #

    I usually spend them at the cabin so this was a weird/off weekend for me! It was nice to be home the last 2 days, though. I did some much overdue cleaning around the house, cut up a bunch of watermelon for snacks for the week, made a summer quinoa salad, and caught up on sleep!

  2. Nicole June 1, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    Sounds like a great way to spend a holiday weekend!! :)

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 1, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    You’re looking great, Nora, even if we were only able to train and run that race in spirit. =) Sounds like you took advantage of your extra long weekend, just like you should have. Yay!

  4. mandy June 1, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    I love that you kept your days off to take an extra long weekend. You needed that. You will rock out the rest of your grad classes, I have no doubts about that.

    I went to Amish Country, watched my pap walk a 20K, took in an all day concert with my brother and friend, planted some seeds, helped my mom around the house, slept in and read. I sort of wish I had another day.

    XO

  5. LiLu June 1, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Oatmeal carmelitas?!

    Recipe. Now. Do it.

  6. Mel June 1, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    My weekend? Was relatively quiet. :) We spent time at the lake where I did a lot of homework reading. It was great!

  7. Habbala June 1, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Sounds like a lovely weekend! And I LOVE Drop Dead Diva!!

    This weekend was full of sleepovers, BBQ’s, pool time, margaritas, hiking, wine tasting, volleyball with a new crush… :)

  8. lucy June 1, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Your holiday weekend sounded divine. I spent mine with my hubby, daughter, and stepson. Eating out, wishing I could go see SATC2 and trying to get in a run/walk whenever possible. Even when it was raining. Found you from As Simple as That and glad that I did! Always looking for new bloggy friends :)

  9. Amy --- Just A Titch June 1, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Drop Dead Diva is my favorite!

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 1, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Your holiday sounds lovely! You deserve it so I’m glad it was so wonderful!

    I didn’t have a holiday weekend this weekend but LAST weekend when it was the holiday in Canada I spent it busy-busy on Saturday/Sunday and then ended up in bed sick on the Monday! Boo!

    I can’t wait to see SATC!!

  11. Erin June 1, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Your weekend sounds divine! Unfortunately, my weekend was hot and sticky (not in a good way) with no AC. Still we had fun shopping for baby stuff and celebrating our anniversary.

  12. Kyla Roma June 1, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Oatmeal carmelitas?? This sounds like something I should know about!

    It sounds like you had beyond a beautiful long weekend, and I’m jealous of your girly night out =)

  13. Suburban Sweetheart June 1, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Wait, wait, you had cocktails AT the movie? Um, THAT’s how life should be.

    Even though I’m liking the new job, I, too, really wish that work was not a necessity… & that I could sleep until noon a bit more often!

  14. Jessica June 1, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    Um I need those recipes ASAP missy! Your SATC night sounds like it was fun, I love that you dressed up! We need to schedule a visit ASAP because I missed you this weekend!

  15. Veronica June 2, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    Could you repeat that first part… a ten dollar drink. Not sure I heard you right?

  16. Maddy June 2, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Sounds like the perfect way to spend the weekend! I spent it running around after little rugrats, taking tons of pictures, eating lots of bbq and basking in the warm summer sun! Oh yes…and lots of driving too :)

  17. ashleyTIA June 2, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Ahhh! Drop Dead Dive is totally my guilty pleasure show. Glad you like it too!! :)

  18. OG June 2, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Sounds like an awesome way to spend the weekend. Sitting on the couch in front of the TV with soda and chips always reminds me of middle school/ high school too for some reason. What’s an Oatmeal Carmelita?

  19. Elizabeth June 2, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    I like your holiday weekend!

    I spent mine apartment browsing, which I actually love doing. We also fantasized about moving to Berkeley, which I also love doing.

  20. alliecakes June 3, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Your weekend sounds lovely! I did the same thing with my friends when we went to see SATC2 – wore sparkly tops, high heels & got some drinkies. :)

  21. ria June 4, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    sounds like a wonderful weekend! i wish i could eat like i did in high school still all the time haha

  22. Jessica June 5, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    I watched Drop Dead Diva in my law class..how cool, right? It’s a cute show!

  23. andrea June 6, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    This sounds like bliss. We just moved into a room in our house that has so much bright light in it – the weekends are for basking in the sun that comes in in the morning and being so thankful I’m there to shine on.xo

Leave a Reply

