Nora Confessions Part IX

11 Jun

View all previous installments here.

* I’ve had a .50 overdue fee at the library for the last two years. It’s finally paid.

* I’m pretty sure I have more celebrity crushes than I do real life crushes (Aksel Lund Svindal, Evan Lysacek, Russell Brand, Adam Braverman, Puck.) I hope this doesn’t make me too pathetic.

* When I go to concerts of my absolute favorite artists/bands, I dress up, just in case they see me and decide to invite me on stage.

* I think I have a marginally addictive personality when it comes to TV shows, book series, and exercise.

* I”m 26 and I need the TV on in the background, a glass of water next to my bed, and something in my arms if I’m going to be able to fall asleep.

* I gave up ballet and tap  at the end of my 8th grade year; this may be my one regret.

* In the last few months I’ve gone shopping for several baby showers. On more than one occasion I’ve broken down in tears, afraid that I may never get to that point in my life. Thank goodness for sunglasses.

* Some days when my knee is really bothering me, I yell at it. Probably counterproductive, but it makes me feel a tiny bit better.

* I think I’m getting a nose ring this weekend pending available appointments and the kind of ring I can have in while healing.

* I really, really want to visit Disney again.

* I’m a sentimental sap about certain possessions: t-shirts, books, jewelry, even if I don’t wear it or use it, I can’t bring myself to rid of it it’s from a family member.

* I have knitting needles and yarn but no idea what to do with them. I also have a baby blanket which I started cross-stitching that’s about 25 % finished; I started it over three years ago.

* Some days I’d rather read blogs than work.

* I’ve found myself getting annoyed with the rain. Me, the girl who used to call her blog “Walking through the Rain,” is getting frustrated with the weather. This is most unusual.

Anything on your mind today that you wish to confess?

Be sure to check back next week for another book giveaway and updates on my weekend (Harry Connick Jr Concert, Race for the Cure, and a local one-tent circus)!

28 Responses to “Nora Confessions Part IX”

  1. Imogen June 11, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    “Some days when my knee is really bothering me, I yell at it. Probably counterproductive, but it makes me feel a tiny bit better.”

    I do the same with my computer -so totally understand where you’re coming from..;)

    Ps. My blog navigation bar, seems to be -bizzarly- stuck at the top of your page :o Can you see that, too?

  2. Nicole June 11, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    I’m with you on the walking through rain. I used to think it was romantic or something like that. Yesterday, it just meant that I walked into work looking like a drowned rat. Lol.

  3. Becky June 11, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Love these!

  4. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 11, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    In the same post, I’m pretty sure I just read that you’re ONLY 26 and FEAR you’ll never be at a point where you will have kids of your own. Now, I’m going to remind you of one of your goals for the summer (and suggest you extrapolate it beyond just the warmer months) … and that is, live in the here and now. Seriously. 26 is YOUNG, no matter what your peers are doing. I was 32 when I *finally* met the man who’d be my husband (and that’s young compared to many of my friends), 34 when I got married and I’m now 36 and still childless. And even at 31, when I still hadn’t met the man of my dreams, I had no regrets. You’ll never get *this* time in your life back. Make the most of what you have. Worry not about what you don’t. And know, there’s always a world of possibility at your fingertips. xoxo

  5. Maddy June 11, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    Lol! Most days I rather read (and write) blog posts than work :)

    Confession: I’m excited for the World Cup, just so my hubby is distracted enough for me to get away with some big ticket purchases this month ;o)

  6. mandy June 11, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Does that mean you’ve decided to wear the dress instead of the t-shirt to see Harry tonight? =) As much fun as Disney is, I think I’d rather go see the new Potter Wizarding World (or whatever it’s called).

    My confessions:

    I’m more excited than I should be about this possible job opportunity.

    Sometimes I wish my relationship with my grandma was different and that we could actually have a conversation, not just sit in silence with one another because we have nothing to say to each other.

    My current feelings towards my small town scare me a little.

  7. Erin June 11, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I’m with Mandy. I want to go to Harry Potter world. I’d be there right now if I wasn’t all kinds of pregnant.

    I totally get the crying while shopping for baby showers. I still get emotional about it.

  8. ria June 11, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    i’ve wanted a little nose ring for a couple years now but i’m afraid i’m too old. boo!

    most days i’d rather read blogs than work ;)

  9. Habbala June 11, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Yay Nose Ring!!!!!

    We’ll be twins. It’ll make for way cooler photos when we finally meet. I’m thinking close ups of our noses with landmarks behind, eh?

  10. Kim June 11, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    I almost always have to have the TV on in the background to fall asleep as well. It’s just a habit at this point.

  11. Supercilious Seed June 11, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Confession: I cried (alone) when my younger brother and his wife announced they were pregnant. I’ve always wanted children but it will likely never happen so I was a bit jealous. But, I am going to be the best auntie ever!!!

    Pretty sure the majority of your readers would rather spend the day reading blogs than working! Have a great weekend.

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 11, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    * I feel like I missed my window of opportunity of seeing Disney. My parents didn’t take us since it would have cost an arm & a leg to take 5 kids there… So now I have no interest and going, and I might not bring my future child there…. Is that mean that I think ‘well, I didn’t get to go so therefore you shouldn’t get to go…’ Although I never even really asked my parents to take me there so maybe I don’t have the Disney gene? But I do adore the movies…

    * When I start to cross an intersection and see that a car might turn left – I stare themn down and say “don’t turn, don’t turn”. I am paranoid that someone is going to hit me when turning left.

    * Along those same lines, when traffic comes to a very sudden stop, I yell – ‘see me slowing down, see me slowing down’ sort of hysterically. I am also paranoid of getting read ended…

    * I made a total pity party comment at dinner on Wed night about how no one will be at my wedding becuase they’ll all be home with their kids. It was a stupid thing to say and my friends all promptly said that yes, while they will still have kids, they will all be excited for an excuse to get a sitter for a night out! I promptly apologized for being so stupid about being single and explained that I am just going through a bleak phase. They totally understood, of course.

    That’s probably enough confessions for today…

  13. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 11, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Am I going to want babies at 26? Because right now I’m leaning more towards 30-32… At 22 having a baby is the LAST thing I want right now!

    But, have no fear my friend, we will BOTH get there at some point!

    Also, love that you had a 0.50 charge at the library for so long! Library ladies are so cute! They never make me pay my charges when I don’t have the change and they still let me take out more books!

  14. Leesh June 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I’m 33 and I still need the TV on for background noise to fall asleep…and…I need the closet door to be closed. I’m still scared that something may come out of it.

  15. Lauren June 11, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    I want babies a lot also. And I sometimes get jealous of other people’s babies. BUT, I have just decided I will have them husband or not. Even though I am pretty sure the husband will eventually come for me. (and for you, too!)

    I love your Confessions!

    I will confess that I blamed my lateness at work on the rain when really I just hit snooze two times too many!

  16. Ashley June 11, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    When I was younger, I always dressed by best for concerts in case Justin Timberlake decided at first sight that he had to marry me. I could only figure that would increase my chances. :)

  17. LiLu June 11, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    I”m 26 and I need the TV on in the background, a glass of water next to my bed, and something in my arms if I’m going to be able to fall asleep.

    I KNEW I loved you.

  18. Amanda June 11, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Girl – love you.

    *I’m 24 and feel the same way about babies. I counted once and I think I have 5 friends who aren’t married/engaged and I’m constantly baby/wedding shopping. I go back and forth weekly between jealous it’s not “my turn” and thankful I’ve still got all this independence.

    *I love (like, really love) all the attorneys I work with. That doesn’t keep me from wishing weekly that one of them will quit next year so maybe my work will be able to hire me after graduation.

    *I went to bed at 8:30 last night.

  19. Nora June 11, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Thanks for reading and commenting! Hope you decide to come back again =)

    Also? I must have the closet doors shut as well. It makes me feel safer for some reason…

    Happy Friday!

    – Nora

  20. Brittney June 11, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    Oh how I miss Disneyland. Seriously. Ask me what I miss about CA and I’m like Mickey Mouse? OH, and family. Sure, why not family too? But moreso, Mickey Mouse. ;-)

  21. Jordan June 12, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    A big AMEN to blogs over work (school in my case) who needs it, really? ;) I love this list! And I agree, Russell Brand is reallly hot. Have you seen his Rolling Stones cover? Oh my.

  22. kilax June 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I have to have something in my arms to sleep too. It used to be a stuffed cat, but then my real cat attacked it, so now, it is a pillow.

    Have you given us any update on your knee? I have been wondering about you and wonder if I overlooked it.

  23. Elizabeth June 12, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I’m terrified that we’ll move across the country and I won’t be in love with it like I think I will.

  24. Jessica June 12, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    So we’re even more alike than I thought:

    -I gave up tap and jazz at the end of 8th grade. Sad. I also wish I gave ballet more of a try.

    -I have an addictive personality for sure.

    -I need the TV on in the background of everything, but especially for sleeping.

    -You haveeeee to take your kids to Disney. It’s amazing.

  25. Kyla Roma June 13, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I’m all for going to Disney on a regular basis! :)

    Definitely root yourself in where you are at the moment as much as you can- and for what it’s worth, try to remember that your friends who are having babies are seriously in the minority in terms of trends, even if it doesn’t feel like it!

    All things in time, miss- when you finish grad school I’m sure that the whole world will feel a lot less like it’s ahead of you and you’re trying to catch up. Don’t underestimate the pressure you’re under right now <3

  26. Stephany June 13, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    I cry reading articles in Shape. (I already confessed this on my blog but seriously? Shape magazine?!)

    Every time I see a baby, I want to have one. Then I go to work and realize how much TIME AND EFFORT is spent taking care of such things and tell myself “Ten more years, ten more years.”

    I’m terrified I’ll end up alone and never meet my future husband.

    And, most days, I would rather read blogs than do work. Most. Days.

  27. Jessica June 13, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    First, I love that you had a fine like that for two years and just paid it off. You are a girl after my own heart. And you should get back in ballet! It’s never too late :)

  28. Nicole @ LaughOutLoud June 14, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    Okay, so I have a few hell yeahs for you!

    Rain is getting annoying – hell yeah!
    Reading blogs instead of working – hell yeah!
    Crying whilst shopping for baby showers – hell yeah!

    LOVE your confessions ;)

Leave a Reply

