Come by Me

14 Jun

This weekend, in a word: Whirlwind.

In many words…

* Harry Connick Jr, who is his own set of words such as amazing, talented, sexy, fantastic, handsome, hilarious, personable, sweet, excellent perfomer, wonderful dancer. He played one of my favorite songs, which happens to be the title of this post, near the end of his set; if someone sang like this to me on the streets of NOLA or anywhere else, for that matter, I’d be putty in their hands. It’s been four years that I’ve been trying to go to his show and let me tell you, worth every penny.

* The Susan G. Komen Race for a Cure, a total of 70,000+ men and women walking/running/wheelchairing for a cure for Breast Cancer; awe inspiring, tear inducing, united. My nextdoor neighbor and I ventured out of the house at 6:30 am on a Saturday morning, dressed in pink and smiles, ready to walk the 5k track in celebration of those who have survived and in memory of those who are no longer with us. I walked for my Great Aunt Nancy who battled breast cancer several times in her life and despite her strongwill, she couldn’t beat it. It was a hot sticky day but at each street corner there were performers there to greet us including a 12 year old who rocked his electric guitar, an Irish band who had us doing a jig and random Harley Davidson men and women who had classic rock blasting from the stereo. (Pictures to follow later this week.)

* Circus Flora. A local StL Tradition since the late 1980s and a family tradition since we moved here in the mid 1990s. You can’t beat a one-tent circus where no seat is further than 50 or so feet from the excitement. Despite the heat (the a/c in the tent was cutting it), I enjoyed my cherry & coconut sno-cone, the fourth row seats, the amazing feats of acrobatic and physical talent the men, women and children displayed yesterday. Bonus: My dad was invited to participate in the circus by Nino, the head clown. His job: to conduct the orchestra. Fortunately my dad is a performer outside of his daily 8-5 job so he embraced the roll, had the crowd laughing and received about 100 compliments after the show (no joke). Look for a post later this week with a few Circus Flora pics and my experience with audience participation involving yours truly later this week.

* Naptime, rain, True Blood and the A*Team. There was a lot of rain this weekend, which meant I took advantage of a few naps. How can one not take a nap when it’s thundering and lightning outside? It’s like Mother Nature is just urging you to close your eyes and doze off a bit, which in my case turned into nearly two hours. After all the live entertainment of the weekend, I needed my daily dose of Hollywood as well which I received thanks to the A*Team (hilarious, entertaining and really awesome special effects) and True Blood (which I felt was rather blah but I guess they need to set up the rest of the season?).  And rain, oh, the rain. We got stuck in a gale like winds on our way home from the circus on Sunday rendering our wipers defenseless against the sheets of rain and hail that decided to fall from the sky.

(And for those who were asking, no nose ring yet, but it’s coming. Likely this weekend.)

Your turn: tell me anything you like (or didn’t like) about your weekend!

18 Responses to “Come by Me”

  1. Kyla Roma June 14, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    That circus looks amazing! That’s so cool that your Dad is getting involved! And you beat me to the punch about the nose ring- can’t wait to see it next week :)

  2. mandy June 14, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    How much fun was your weekend? I am so glad that it was a great one for you. I cannot wait to hear more about all the events you participated in. (And it seems entirely appropriate that it be your dad’s turn to particiapte in the circus activities!)

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 14, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    I love Harry Connick Jr’s voice … and what fun to see him at the Fox Theater. Great memories of that place. Also great memories of Walk for the Cure. I cry every time I participate!

  4. sleepyjane June 14, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Ah! Your weekend sounds lovely. :)

    We visited with J’s family on Sunday and on Saturday we had friends over. It was a good one. :)

  5. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 14, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I did not care for the rain this weekend. I don’t mind a shower here there, but this is like day 5 of it or something like that. And it’s going to rain all week, too, with the exception of Wednesday. Bleh.

    I loved having dinner w/ my aunt, uncle, and cousin at a restaurant where nearly everything was gluten free. :)

  6. Emily Jane June 14, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend! We had rain here this weekend too. We came home from the World Cup game (at a British pub, fun!) and got SOAKED and promptly put on pyjamas and made copious amounts of tea to warm up. Because we’re old people. :) Can’t wait to see the nose ring!

  7. Imogen June 14, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    1. Your weekend sounds fantastic! Can’t wait for the pics…

    2. The A-List is on my list of movies to see. Ain’t Liam Neeson just gorgeous in it, with his new extra short haircut?

    3. Has the 3rd Season of “True Blood” started in the US? Guess we’ll have to wait quite some time, before we get to see it on Greek tv..:roll:

  8. Jessica June 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Oh my god I love that you saw the Ateam. Tell me please, were Bradley Cooper’s abs totally worth it? I’m tempted to see it but wasn’t sure if it was good or not.

  9. hannahkaty June 14, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Great weekend! I was all about the World Cup this weekend! Go Germany!

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  10. Elizabeth June 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    It sounds like you had a busy, wonderful weekend. I spent most of mine freaking out about housing and the well-being of the baby. It’s amazing what 24 hours can do to calm you down!

  11. Stephany June 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    What an awesome weekend you had! I’ve wanted to do a breast cancer walk/run for a long time now. It must have been so inspiring!

    My weekend was pretty low-key, nothing too exciting. But I’m always happy to see the weekend because I need a break!

  12. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 14, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    I have NEVER been to a circus! It sounds fun though! I love that your dad totally put on his performing hat :)

  13. Amanda June 14, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    FULL weekend you had, lady!
    For mine, it was equal parts great (annual church picnic by the river, hanging out with 100+ of my faves and seeing a bunch of people be baptized) and not-so-great (failing to be studious in advance of my final exam that was tonight).

    It was also 100 degrees and my a/c doesn’t work in my car, so that gets a :(

  14. ria June 15, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    your weekends always sound so fun filled!

  15. katelin June 15, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    i admit i didn’t read anything after harry connick jr. because ohmygoodness HARRY CONNICK JR. and come by me is my favorite of his too!! well not counting christmas albums, because when it comes to christmas music the man owns my musical soul. ah. love. heart. jealous. love anyways.

  16. bellerenee June 15, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Harry Connick Jr. has a bit of a Hugh Jackman thing going on in that video… momma like…

  17. Sarah June 18, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Boy, have you had a packed weekend!

    I think the Race for a Cure event is amazing. Reading about how many different people came out to support the event brought tears to my eyes and made me think about a close family friend who lost her battle with breast cancer earlier this year.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pretty In Pink « Walking with Nora - June 16, 2010

    […] Jun As I mentioned yesterday, I joined forces with thousands of other St. Louisians, Missourians and Illinois-ians to raise […]

Leave a Reply

