Tidbit Thursday

17 Jun

I’m feeling a bit lazy today thanks to sitting in traffic for two hours post Dave Matthews Band concert (You’re lucky I love you, Dave, because that was seriously annoying!) so you get bullet points on the most random tidbits from my life…

* I CAN RUN. Yes, that’s right. I’m allowed to start running again as per my physical therapist. My range of motion has greatly improved, my muscles that support my knee are in nearly tip-top shape, and I’ve mastered the technique and awareness that the PT was looking for. I have to restrict my runs to the track/treadmill for now (no concrete for a few more months) but I’ll take what I can get. I plan to go get my first run in this week. I’m not expecting it to be awesome since it’s been so long but I can’t wait. Should be able to run a 5k later this year if all goes well!

* Finance Whiz. Okay, well maybe I’m not a finance whiz but this is my second semester in the trenches that is the world of finance. (To my readers who live in the finance world: I salute you. Seriously.) I think I’ve finally figured out how the book asks questions, I’ve nailed down some great online tutorials who show me how to do the problems step-by-step and I’m learning the concepts. I’m not ever going to take a finance class again but it’s a start. I also am a firm beliver in the fact that graduate school is 90% learning how to study and find resources to help you and 10% what you actually learn. (Also a huge THANK YOU to Lisa and OG for the encouragement and willingness to help point me in the right direction from time to time!)

* Rain, rain, rain. Seriously, Mother Nature. I know we have done you wrong a lot but wow, this rain? It’s intense. A river has literally formed in my parents backyard which while annoying is also kind of cool because we get a lot of deer, ducks (well, we did until my neighbor decided to be rude and put up attack duck wire. I hope they just left and didn’t get caught/tangled) and bunnies along the edge of the “river.”

* Time IS relative. Einstein was right (of course). Time is going so quickly these days. I don’t know if it’s the long work days or the busy weekends or what but I feel like this entire year is just zooming by. I need it to slow down because at this rate summer will be over before I’ve had even one pool day and that’s just not okay.

* Audio Books Rock. I’ve not listened to one since I was in college when I borrowed the Devil Wears Prada from the lady I nannied (that’s probaby not a word but oh well) and I didn’t like it. As part of the book challenge my library has this summer I thought I’d give it a try and wow, I’m in love. It makes the commute to work so much better. I actually look forward to getting in my car at the buttcrack of dawn. I’m going back for another one tonight.

* 30 before 30. I don’t have an official 30 before 30 list… yet. I know have a few years yet before the 30 but some of the items I want to accomplish are kind of huge in terms of time and resources (trip to Italy, for example). After the DMB concert last night I’ve decided that I must see him perform at The Gorge before I’m 30. He’s not touring next year so it will have to be 2012. Anyone else in?

(Also, a huge thank you to everyone who commented on yesterday’s post. I was floored by the lovely responses I got, the shared points of view, the understanding and more. This community continues to rock my world on a regular basis!)

17 Responses to “Tidbit Thursday”

  1. Liz June 17, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Ok so I had to click the link to see where The Gorge is, and I’m with you! I’d love to go there! Also, I should make a mental note to do a 30 before 30 list.

  2. Kali June 17, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    YES. I will so go to the Gorge! I know we’ve talked about this before. I can’t go this year (here or there, sad), so I’m saving for 2012 starting, err, now and I will be right there with you!

  3. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 17, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    You ARE a finance whiz! You’ve been doing so well!!

    Will be the best feeling to have those classes behind you!

  4. Stephany June 17, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    It’s funny how you mention rain, when the lake in front of my apartment is seriously low. It looks like more of a beach with some water than a lake. So I’m hoping we’ll get some of your rain down here! :)

    And that’s awesome about being able to run again! Great news!

  5. ashleyTIA June 17, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    oh my word! I looove audio books. I can’t remember life before them. If you really addicted, I recommend audible.com. :)

  6. Margarita June 17, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    30 Before 30…. it sounds so daunting! Maybe a group of us should do it! I have 4 years – okay 3.5 years before 30. OMG. Freak out time…

    ANYWAY congrats on being able to run again! I know that means a lot to you :)

  7. AshleyD June 17, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    Congrats on finally being able to run again! I know that must be HUGE for you! :)

    I love the idea of a 30 before 30 list. I made a 101 in 1001 list last fall and I’m still working on that, but maybe I should start a different list for this… I have 4.25 years before I’m 30 so I better get started! We should start brainstorming for our lists and compare notes, I’m sure we’d both come up with some awesome ideas.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 17, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    I’m grinning ear-to-ear about you being able to run!!!!

    Take it slow. Take walking breaks. Eeei, so excited for you :)

    Also? I second that time slowing down thing. It’s racing by much too quickly for my liking!

  9. Elizabeth June 17, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    I’m so relieved that you can run again! You’re right about time–when I think about this pregnancy, I feel like it’s just creeping along, but when I think about my time up north in general, I don’t understand where it has all gone.

  10. kilax June 18, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    I am so excited that you can run again! :)

    I agree on the time issue. I feel like I say it every year, and each year seems to go by faster. How weird.

  11. Kyla Roma June 18, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Congratulations on being able to run!! That must be such an amazing feeling and a big relief :)

    And I know exactly what you mean, time is EVAPORATING right now! It’s good and bad- I’m just trying to keep up!

  12. Ashley June 18, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Wait, people who don’t live in Washington know about the Gorge? I saw James Taylor there several years ago, but I know DMB makes it a Summer ritual. It’s on my list of things to do too!

  13. Erin June 19, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Time is going way too fast! I need more time to get my house ready!

    Also, I’m tired of the rain. It’s been almost non-stop, and we can’t get anything done in the yard.

  14. Sarah June 19, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    YAY! You’re running again! Good for you!

    I’ve never tried audio books, I’ve been thinking about it for a while, especially for the daily commute (I can’t read on buses, I get travel sick), but I don’t like the idea of it. Maybe I’ll give it a try, seeing as you like it. Can I ask, are you listening to fiction or non-fiction? I ask because I have a theory that it’d be better if it were non-fiction.

  15. mandy June 20, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Woohoo for being able to run again! So happy for you. I have lost all sense of time and am having a hard time believing its the end of June.

  16. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 22, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    So awesome you got the green light to begin running again. You’ve been off the wagon for a little bit now, so running under controlled circumstances is probably a good way to re-introduce it into your regimen!

  17. imogenc June 30, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    1. Congrats on the great news, re: your knee :)
    2. Time is, indeed, relative. In fact, the past few years seem to have passed so damn quickly for me, they might as well never have happened :roll:
    3. I wasn’t a big fan of audio-books either, but I’m starting to change my mind. Guess it all depends largely on the narrator…

    Ps. Great layout ;)

Leave a Reply

