Delis, Chariot Racing, Popcorn, Friends and a Giveaway!

22 Jun

This past Saturday I was fortunate enough to host a Netflix/Nintendo Wii Party thanks to Justine and Brand About Town.

Eight of my closest friends came over for the afternoon to nosh on some amazing wraps, cheese and pink lemonade from Jason’s Deli while we watched Monsters Inc. (I’m on a bit of a Disney kick lately), gabbed about our weeks, and took a look at the other movies available via the Netflix Streaming capability on the Wii.

After we substantially stuffed ourselves, I brought snacks into the room (some of the best popcorn we’ve ever had, M&Ms, Twizzlers, Junior Mints and other fun candy) so that we could settle in for a good old-fashioned game session. I got so into watching people play and playing myself that I forgot to take a lot of pictures and video, so you’ll have to make do with the few that were snapped.

Thanks to my Nintendo Points Card, I downloaded a few party games via the Wii Channel before my guests arrived. We played TV Show King 2 for several rounds and then Chariots of Heracles which is a classic racing game except you’re in chariots and can be fun characters like Medusa, Hearcles, Beesy and other period-characters. Whether it’s a battle or a championship race, this game is hilarious and so much fun.  After we’d all had a turn and laughed ourselves to sore stomachs, we went with the Wii Classic: Wii Sports since a few of my guests had yet to experience Wii Bowling and Wii Boxing. More hilarity ensued as we tried different spins on the bowling ball, managed to knock each other out at the *same time* on boxing, and getting into tennis with full arm swings.

Each of my guests received, thanks to Brand About Town, a 2,000 Nintendo Points Card which is good for both the Nintendo Wii and Nintendo DSi so that they can download games of their own to their systems when they get home.

Pictured from Left to Right: Rebekah, Christy, me, KH, Liz, Jen.
Not Pictured: Darling (who took this picture), RW (who had to leave early) and two  of my other friends who work retail and got called into work.

Thanks to all my friends, Netflix, Nintendo and Brand About Town for making this party a success!

And now, for the giveaway…

I have one Nintendo Points Card worth 2,000 points for one lucky reader allowing you to download anywhere from two to three games (maybe even four if you’re a point miser!) for your Nintendo Wii or DSi through the Wii/DSi Shop Channel. Don’t have a Nintendo system? Makes a great present for friends and kids who have one.

How To enter (earn up to three entries!)

First Entry: leave me a comment letting me know what your favorite video game of all time is.

Second Entry: blog about this giveaway (remember to leave a comment on this post with the link to your blog).

Third Entry: Mention this giveaway on Twitter (remember to leave a comment with the link to your tweet. Please reference #nintendoenthused when tweeting!)

Contest open until June 25th at midnight CDT. Contest open only to residents of USA and Canada; winner will be posted on Monday June 28th and notified via email.

FTC Disclosure:
With the exception of the Netflix subscription, all food, drink, Nintendo Points Cards and a Flip Video Camera were supplied to me by Brand About Town. The opinions in this blog, however, are my own; I was not paid or otherwise compensated to provide a reveiw of the products or party.

36 Responses to “Delis, Chariot Racing, Popcorn, Friends and a Giveaway!”

  1. Becky June 22, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    Hmmm…fav video game of all time – it’s a toss up between Super Mario Brothers and Mario Kart (for the Wii) because they’re both so much fun! Looks like the party was a big hit!

  2. pinkie larue June 22, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    Sounds like you guys had a great time! My favorite game of all time is Zelda:ocarina of time. There are rumors that a remake is in the works for the DS. I’m sooo excited!

  3. pinkie larue June 22, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    and here’s my tweet http://twitter.com/pinkielarue/status/16767231143 :)

  4. Kyla Roma June 22, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    Oh cool! My favourite video game on the Wii is Trauma Center :)

  5. mandy June 22, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Sounds like such a fun time!

    I’m going to go old school and say that my favorite video game is Super Mario Bros. I’m also not ashamed to say that every once in a while I pull out the old ninetendo and play it. =)

  6. Maddy June 22, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Sounds like a fun time!! My favorite game of all time has to be Super Mario Bros. But with the Wii, Rock Band comes at a close second!

  7. Maddy June 22, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Tweeted about the giveaway. But I tweet on my phone, so I don’t know how to get the link :o/

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 22, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    SO FUN!

    I LOVE Donkey Kong for Super Nintendo!! I could play that for hours – and I have! Haha

  9. MASHley June 22, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    ash – on the wii, it’s definitely the bowling (probably because it’s the only one i’m good at). either that or ssx tricky. i really miss my old super nintendo though. all time favorites would be mario bros. and donkey kong

  10. RootsAndRings June 22, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Oh my husband would be THRILLED if I won this!! My favorite game is the original Mario Brothers. I just cannot be topped!!

  11. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 22, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Oh fun! Wish I could have been there! Sounds like the perfect party. I love playing games on Wii! I dont’ have one, but would love to own one someday! I think I want a DS first, though… I have almost bought one multiple times as it wuold be great for traveling. Maybe I will get one for myself before my trip to Vancouver/Portland!

  12. Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} June 22, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    My favorite video game of all time is Super Mario :) *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  13. Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} June 22, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Blogged about the giveaway

  14. Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} June 22, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Tweeted the giveaway

  15. edmontonjb June 22, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    My favorite game of all time is Tetris. I use to play it so much, I would dream about it.

  16. Erin June 22, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Your party looks like it was so much fun!

    I actually love Super Mario Bros. for Gameboy. What a great fame!

  17. michelle June 22, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    one day, when i finally get a dsi, i’m going to play tetris nonstop. that is my forever favorite game cause im a puzzle dork

    time to check out the rest of your blog :)

  18. Genny June 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Great giveaway! My favourite game is Picross 3D for the DS. Or any type of puzzle game for that matter.

  19. Margarita June 22, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    That looks like such a fun party!! My favourite video game is probably Crash Bandicoot 1 – 3. They rocked :)

  20. Suburban Sweetheart June 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    This sounds amazingggg. Consider me NOT entered because I’m Wiiless (that sounds dirty?), but… SO FUN.

  21. Brittney June 22, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Lol, Sean and I have been playing the Wii’s New Super Mario Bros for weeeeeeeeeeeeeks.

  22. Jessica June 22, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    That looks like it was an awesome time! What a great party. My favorite games are Tetris and/or Super Mario Brothers, THe ORIGINAL.

  23. Mel June 22, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    How fun!

    And I always be a Tetris fan. I don’t care how lame it is. I can sit and play that for hours.

  24. colleen June 23, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    My favorite are the mario party games.

  25. Elizabeth June 23, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    Your party looks like it was a blast–good food is always a plus!

    I’m not a gamer, and we’ve never even turned on the Wii we got as a gift, so skip me!

  26. Amber Hahn June 23, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    If we’re talking system video games (xbox, wii, ps) I’d have to say probably Skies of Arcadia was one of (if not my all-time) favorite. If we’re talking computer games, I’d have to say Syberia I&II (set) would be my all-time favorite followed (VERY) closely by The Longest Journey/Dreamfall series (only bc they have yet to complete this is it 2nd). Our family just loves the Wii & are all avid Nintendo fans, this would be a great prize to win!

  27. Nicole Greene June 23, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Haha–My favorite of all time—well, I have 2! Donkey Kong and Super Mario—ooooo and add Duck Hunt in there ;)

  28. Krystyn June 23, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Sounds like a great time and if I had a WI or even the room in the house to have one and play the games, I would love this giveaway…so don’t count my entry, just wanted to comment on what a fun time everyone must have had.

  29. Veronica June 24, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    ohhh my honest to god favorite video game is so bubble bobble! its old school but i was OBSESSED as a kid. i remember almost beating it with my brother and it froze and power went out and it was horrible lol

    oh and i tweeted it! http://twitter.com/wehateyouloveus/status/16946569624

    LOVE it nora, you’re fab!!

    <3

    V

  30. Megan June 25, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    My favorite game of ALL TIME is Super Mario Bros. on the SNES. I love the Super Mario Bros. for Wii, though!

  31. MASHley June 25, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Matt –

    Favorite game of all time? That’s hard. Probably Mario Kart. Never gets old.

  32. MASHley June 25, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    http://twitter.com/ProfProphet713

  33. Tabitha June 25, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Ooh, fun! I’m just barely making the deadline here, but my favorite video game of all time is probably Boom Blox for the Wii. It’s just hilarious, endless fun, and if you haven’t played it, you’re missing out!

  34. Tabitha June 25, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    And here’s my tweet: http://twitter.com/probablytabitha/status/17036209949

  35. imogenc June 30, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    Didn’t realise TV Show King was also available on Wii. I used to have it on my iPhone…

    The Wii Sports package is great fun, though! One of my best friends has it and we’ve spent countless hours playing Frisbee, Tenis, Golf and Bowling -quite a workout, too ;)

    Speaking of workouts, I’ve never tried the Wii personal trainer bundle. Any idea if that’s any good?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Play … (real life) « OH! BOOKS…PAPER…REAL LIFE… - June 22, 2010

    […] so Nora took over (the first floor of ) our house on Saturday for a party. A “game” […]

Leave a Reply

