Summer Readin’

23 Jun

It seems like just the other day that I was in school with three month long summer vacations full of lazy afternoons, sleepovers, silly phone calls to boys, popsicles and of course books. An endless supply of books.

I took the suggested summer reading list very seriously, stockpiling as many books from the library as they would allow me. Late fees didn’t exist in my world then because I’d read by the pool, while eating breakfast, in the car, sometimes finishing a book inside a 24-hour period. I guess I was a bit of a dork back then…
 

A few weeks ago when I went to the library (in an attempt to study at a place other than Barnes & Noble so at least I wouldn’t be tempted to buy more books, only borrow them), I discovered that they are hosting a reading challenge for adults.

All we have to do is read 10 books or 50 hours from May 25th to August 14th, track our progress, and turn in the sheet. All sorts of prizes are up for grabs at each branch including Starbucks and Panera gift cards, tickets to Cardinal games, Nordstrom gift certificates and more. Although my reading is limited I’ve managed to get in four books already and have the next six stacked neatly next my bedside. This challenge has helped me to rediscover the library (DVDs to rent for free? Audio Books?  A special “teen only” section with video games and computers? When did the library get to be so cool!? And let’s not forget the self-checkout machines that seem to magically read which books you’ve placed on top of it) and has forced me to slow down a bit more during these hot summer days.

(Would love it if I had a reading room like the one above some day)

Are you a library fan? Any fun “summer reads” you recommend I add to my ever-growing list of books?

24 Responses to “Summer Readin’”

  1. Veronica June 23, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    I l.o.v.e. the library. However, I’ll be honest that since I got an e-reader I’ve visited less and less. Still, the smell of a hold library book keeps me going back from time to time.

    I can relate to the book buying frenzy. For me it comes in surges, were I end going a bit overboard. Enter.. e-reader. :)

    Anyways, sounds like a fun project. Let us know how it goes for you.

  2. Kyla Roma June 23, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    I adore the library! I’ve collected some really fun light period piece summer books over the past few years. If you’re in the market for one let me know! :)

  3. Becky June 23, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    I love the library! In fact I’m going by there tonight to renew a book I have – that challenge sounds so cool!

  4. mandy June 23, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    I love the library! I am there weekly checking out new books, movies, etc. I read way too much to buy every single book I want to read so I utilize the library a lot. I would love if ours did an adult reading challenge. I always wanted to be the one who read the most books as a kid (and often was, book dork alert!). I think its great that you are taking part in your library’s summer program, with all that you have on your plate, reading is a great way to relax and unwind. =)

  5. Liz June 23, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    This is sad, but I haven’t been to a library in probably 7 years. And even then, it was when I lived in New York. I don’t even know where my nearest library is! I should look into this becuase libraries are awesome.

  6. Maddy June 23, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I love the library! That’s where I spend most of my lunch breaks. But as far as reading 10 books in the span of 3 months, that might be challenging for me. Between blogging, catching up on my shows, taking pictures and you know…actually enjoying the weather, there’s not much time left for anything else :( But I am happy for the SR Book club, if it wasn’t for that, I wouldn’t have read as many books as I have thus far!

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 23, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    I love going to the library – the one here isn’t quite that fancy though. I am headed to the library this weekend to pick up some new books actually! I find that I read WAY more in the summertime!

  8. ria June 23, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    i love the library! i’m currently reading twenty boy summer. i was apprehensive about it because i thought it would be sad but i’m really enjoying it and so far i would definitely recommend it. i just finished chasing harry winston, it was fun but not one of my favorites :)

  9. MASHley June 23, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    ash – i love the library. i just wish i had more time to read lately. between classes, a few wedding details that i want to get out of the way this summer, my internship, and med schools apps…. well i’ve been lucky that i fit even a few books in so far. this post has encouraged me to go to the library when i go back home though :)

  10. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 23, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    I keep hearing really great things about our public libraries … in particular, they offer free passes to many of the local museums. I have yet to get my card, but someday …

  11. Amanda June 23, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    I love the library! My grandma was a librarian, so I grew up in them, and now I work for one :) Sadly, I never have time to read with my “lawyer” job and school, so every time I check out a book it turns into a late fee :(

  12. Alesia June 23, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    I ADORE the library.

    I’m currently reading The Passage by Justin Cronin, and it’s a scary blast. Next up is Berlin Noir by Philip Kerr (it’s 3 novels in one package). It’s about a German detective during WWII. I’ve read the first few pages, and I can tell already that I’m going to love it. They’re both perfect summer reads.

  13. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 23, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    I would love a reading space like that some day as well! A girl can dream. Le Sigh. :)

    I have been using the library a ton now that I am on a book buying fast… I just have so dang many unread books that I own, it’s ridiculous to keep buying more, esp since I am out of room.

    Our library isn’t as ‘cool’ as your is, but I still love going through and wandering throught the aisle. I picked up a couple of books a few weeks ago by one of my favorite authors – Richard Paul Evans.

    And yah, I was the total dork who read books in 24 hour spans. I still am, actually, when I have the time to devour a book that quickly!

    I hope you win some of the great prizes!

  14. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 23, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    PS I have been wanting to buy this “In the Library” perfume for ages… I was hoping to check it out when I was in NYC last spring but we didn’t to the boutique in Brooklyn where it’s sold. :( Might have to takea change & just buy it and hope I like it. Could be my signature scent!

    http://www.cbihateperfume.com/in-the-library.html

  15. Krystyn June 23, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Oh I wish I was in that library contest. I’ve read 10 books since late April and am on #11 right now. :)

  16. Erin June 23, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    As big of a book lover as I am, I never go to the library. Never. Now, I should point out that my husband works for a major book retailer, so we often buy books. Also, if I don’t want to buy it, I can borrow it from his store. Still, I think I would probably enjoy some of the library programs if I ever got around to actually going. :)

    I just finished reading Little Bee, and I can’t say enough good things about it. If you haven’t read it, I would definitely add it to your list.

  17. jen June 23, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    i LOVE the library, in fact i went to the library the other day to borrow a book, but it was out, so i perused the used shelf of books for sale, and found the book that i wanted to borrow, for $4 dollars! Hard Cover! SCORE! oh and i would recommend The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, i LOVED IT!!!!!!!

  18. Emily Jane June 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    LOVE libraries. I remember when I visited Dublin and saw the Trinity College library it almost moved me to tears :) Did you ever read Good Omens?

  19. Stephany June 23, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    “I’d read by the pool, while eating breakfast, in the car, sometimes finishing a book inside a 24-hour period.” <– This explains me perfectly as a child. (Also, include in the bathroom, which I do to this day. I used to have a bathroom book, a car book, and a "regular" book.)

    I'm such a big fan of libraries, because buying books is not cheap and I read a lot! And I especially love when I can just request online and just stop buy to pick them up when it's most convenient to me. (My other library even had a drive-thru drop-off and pick-up window!)

  20. katelin June 23, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    my goodness i want a reading room like that in my house. i am such a reader and i would love a summer reading challenge. well not like i need any more to add to my already busy plate but i love reading and i love the library and it’s just fun all around, woo.

  21. Jessica June 23, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    First, I love the new blog design. Second, I’m a HUGE library fan. I just got my card re-activated and I love it. I’m a huge library nerd.

  22. oh June 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    thanks for pointing me to a snazzy new theme and one I can likely stay with for more than a hemidemisemiquaver! Yours is lovely. Perfectly perfect.

    And I hope I can become a library fan like Jessica, above, but it’s going to take some re-learning and some discipline. You’re right; I can’t take 10 books out at once when only two weeks are allowed (and though renewing is possible, someone always seems to have my books on “hold” so I can’t renew them!) OK, but I’ll get it, I’ll master this library thing without having to cough up past dues that amounts to paying the library’s utilties bills.

  23. alliecakes June 25, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    I should really get back into going to the library.. when I was younger, I would check out books like nobodys business! But these days I buy, buy, buy… considering I’m about to be living on a MUCH tighter budget, the library would be a great solution. I’m thinking of challenging myself to read 10 books this summer, since I’ll have more time and b/c I simply miss reading! (andddd I might just have a stack of books from this past year waiting to be read, heh)

  24. Tabitha June 25, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    I love libraries, but I never seem to get to one these days. I finally signed up for a library card at my local one a couple months ago, but I haven’t been back since. I gotta work on that. :-)

Leave a Reply

