Does Not Compute

24 Jun

A most random list of things that I can’t quite comprehend this week…

* Why my professor decided that group work in an online setting would be a good idea. My “groupmates” are spread out across time zones and cities, rarely check the discussion board and I’m thus far I’m left doing most of the work.

* Is it really necessary to send an email to me, then call to confirm that I’ve received it?

* This whole BP oil spill thing. We have some of the most talented minds in the world residing within our nation’s borders and we can’t figure out how to effectively cap this thing (without losing more lives)?

* Why we can’t have three months of summer even once we’ve graduated college.

* Calories. I’m counting calories again (it helps keep me accountable) and even eating the healthiest of foods they rack up in a blink of an eye. At least I know I’m getting a lot of my fiber, protein and vitamins through what I’m eating but it’s still kind of sad.

* People who still text while driving. And who put their make-up on while driving. Or read the paper while driving. I’ve seen all these things in the last few weeks. Makes me stabby.

* Waking up with a start at 3am for no apparent reason.

* The never-ending pile of laundry that seems to take over my room these days.

Anything going on in your world that “doesn’t compute” for you?

23 Responses to “Does Not Compute”

  1. jen June 24, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Yes!!! Why on Gods Green Earth did the town of Newington appraise my 1999 chevy malibu with 200,000 miles at $2900????? which equals an $84 property tax bill! Have they SEEN that car? its a miracle it still starts!

  2. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 24, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    – My condo has been around 83 degrees the last few days. Does not work for me.

    – I could not figure out the freaking Free Cash Flow problem last night! What the heck – so frustrating! :P

    – My condo looks like a twister blew through. It’s terrible. There are piles of un-opened mail. Piles of laundry that I don’t want to do because I know when I run the dryer, it will make my heat box of a condo even hotter.

  3. Liz June 24, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    The whole no summers off when your an adult thing? Yeah that sucks.

    Also, my lack of motivation to get my butt back in the gym. I might have to just force myself tonight because the “mood” hasn’t struck me lately.

  4. Maddy June 24, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Lol! I’m with you on the “confirm emails”. I have a person that I work with that LOVES to do this! I feel like screaming “Stop clogging up my inbox!!” What’s not computing for me is that my scale must be broken or something b/c it hasn’t budged for the last 2 months.

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 24, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Hey, nice new layout you’ve got going on here!

    You know, I think it’s actually really good to learn to work with people across time zones. In today’s ever expanding economy, people in the workplace often find themselves needing to collaborate with people all over the place. That said, there’s no reason your teammates aren’t carrying their own weight!

    I just saw a photo from some church that said: “Honk if you love God; Text if you want to meet him.” hahaha.

  6. Jennifer June 24, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    I HATE it when I receive a phone call like a minute after someone emails me. “Did you get the email?” Some people are so clueless!

  7. MASHley June 24, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    ash – how quickly the dishes pile up in my sink. that definitely doesn’t compute.

    ps i HATE group work. it’s not i don’t like to have the load spread out between people. it just seems like you always end up with the biggest portion of it all. i hate having to keep sending out reminder emails that so and so needs to send me their stuff considering we’d all “agreed” to be done five hours before that. and here i am staying up in the wee hours of the morning waiting for them to send their stuff already! wow. rant over.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 24, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    I think I’m going to be jumping on the calorie counting bandwagon with you. I really, really REALLY want to lose 10 pounds and get back to my happy weight and just stay there but despite marathon training and eating (what I think) is very healthy, it’s not happening. Sigh.

  9. Ashley June 24, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Group work is bad enough when you get to see people in person. I can’t imagine doing it online.

    I can’t compute why I spend all day at work wishing I could be outside and then I get off work and spend all evening in my apartment. Okay, I guess that’s my fault, but it still doesn’t compute!

  10. Mel June 24, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Yeah, I’m with you on a few of these things!

    The BP oil spill is infuriating. WTF brilliant minds of the WORLD?!? You can’t figure ANY of it out!?!? I mean for goodness, even KEVIN COSTNER tried. And if we have to wait for Hollywood stars to figure it out…Sheesh….

    And the group work online!? Thank GOD my online course didn’t require any group work this semester. I would have died. I always end up doing all the work because I want to make sure that I get a good grade. I had one group once where 1 person never did anything, just said “That looks good”. I had to report her to the teacher. Who still ended up giving her credit. WTF.

    Also, I have the summer off. Didn’t want to throw that in your face, but I so do! Not by choice, but I’m glad I have this time to RELAX now.

  11. LiLu June 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    FOR SERIOUS with the texting.

    I should know… I totaled a brand new car that way.

    But everyone shouldn’t be as dumb as me and have to learn the hard way…

  12. Amy --- Just A Titch June 24, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Hate the call and email thing, and group work.

  13. rachieannie June 24, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Group work. Blech.

    What doesn’t compute is no matter what time I get up in the morning, I still don’t get a blessed thing accomplished. Blergh.

  14. Erin June 24, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Group work is the bane of my existence. Seriously.

    Right now, I’m not understanding why it has to rain every single time Ted has time to work in the yard. Every. Single. Time.

  15. Ally June 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I finished my undergrad degree online and I so feel your pain on the group project front. They were the worst. I (and maybe one other would help out some if I was lucky) was always picking up the slack. I think in theory it sounds like a great thing, but in reality not so much.

  16. Jessica June 24, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Totes agree on the BP thing. Day 60? REALLY? Oh and I have to add people who can put their makeup on the bus. That thing is NOT a smooth ride. Hypnotizing.

  17. Amanda June 24, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Group work makes me stabby. My “does not compute” for the day? The secretary BARGING INTO my office while I’m furiously working on a memo (on a short deadline on an incredibly important, media circus type case) for a senior attorney and saying, loudly, that “we got an email and we’re supposed to leave our doors open.” She then proceeded to put the door stop under and wedge my door open. I just sat there, no words. Sorry, darlin’…”we” did not get an email. YOU got an email because you’re the secretary for over 10 attorneys who cannot give you work if your door is SHUT. I? I am not the secretary. I have 35 open, active cases and sometimes I need to shut out the cacophony to get my work done.

    /rant. I am on my *lastnerve*

  18. Megan June 25, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    I don’t get why people still text and drive either. It makes me want to shout expletives at them.

    I HATE when people send emails and then call within seconds to see if you’ve received the email. Why not just call in the first place?

  19. kilax June 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    OH gosh. How I hated group projects in college. I am sorry. I always got stuck like that too.

    We have taken a few long car drives lately and are sickened by how many people we see texting or talking on their cells in the car. They are just asking for it!

  20. Elizabeth June 25, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    Group work is never okay–it looks like a lot of people agree with that!

    I don’t understand why all the delicious drinks have to have so much caffeine!

  21. Brittney June 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Ok yes, the BP thing irks me to no ends. This isn’t acceptable. We don’t get to just walk around destroying the earth for all the little innocent plants and animals and then decide to fix it on our own schedule.. OH WAIT. That’s EXACTLY that we do, I guess.

    And second.. Sean used to have an ex who drove and ate breakfast. With utensils. And a plate. I’ll let that one sink in for a moment. ::twitchy eye::

  22. E.P. June 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    The BP oil spill is the same way for me. I just can’t grasp how things went so horribly wrong and how no one can fix it!

    I also don’t get how it can be so hot outside. Gah.

  23. Suburban Sweetheart June 27, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Heat. And how and why anyone could ever love or even like it, ever. Periodddd.

Leave a Reply

