Swimming: A Review & A Giveaway

25 Jun

I recently finished “Swimming,” by Nicola Keegan for one of the book clubs I’m a part of. At first, I admit, I had no idea where this book was going. It seemed depressing, random and a bit scatterbrained but after about 75 pages, I started rooting for the main character, Mena or Pip as her teammates call her. I guess what they say is true: give a book 100 pages before you judge it.

This story is about a young woman who finds solace through swimming, pushing herself day in and day out, searching for a way out of her family situation which was incredibly difficult. Through her tenacity she becomes an Olympic swimmer. This entire book is her story as she struggles with loss, addiction to sugar, lack of friends and¬†awkwardness around men, daily workouts and training regimes for swimmers, pride and glory and much more. I can’t relate to Mena very well but the author did a good job of making me feel the way Mena must have felt throughout most of this book, which to me is indicative of a good story teller (whether or not you like the story).

If you’re looking for a new book to read, a change of pace, a different style of writing, then you’re in luck because I’m giving away my copy of this book!

Rules for Entering:

* You must love books and reading.
* You can live anywhere; (this means you my fabulous friends in foreign countries! I’ll figure out a way to get it to you!)
* Entries must be received by Thursday, July 1st at midnight.

How to Enter:

* For one entry, leave a comment telling me about the best book you’ve ever read over the summer.
* For a second entry, blog about this giveaway. Be sure to come back and leave the link to your blog in a separate entry.

19 Responses to “Swimming: A Review & A Giveaway”

  1. Kyla Roma June 25, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    I love how you’re always doing giveaways! Count me in :)

  2. MASHley June 25, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    ash – favorite book that i’ve read this summer…. more classical literature = the go-between. chick lit = the third installment in nora robert’s new bridal series (i forget what it’s called). hoping i’ll have more time to read in july though!

  3. Maddy June 25, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I haven’t read too many books this summer so far, but I did finish “The White Tiger” earlier this month and it was such an interesting ride! Right now, I’m digging into the SRBC book!

  4. Anne Royce June 25, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    The best book I’ve read during the summer was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Such an awesome book! :D

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 25, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Oh I think I would love this book as I grew up swimming. And even though I truly do love running, swimming is the one sport that I am just good at and doesn’t take a ton of effort. I also think the best when I’m in the water! Ahh, this makes me wish I still had a gym membership so I could GO swimming more often!

  6. Andrea - Caffeinate Me June 25, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    I just started Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain and I’m pretty sure it’s going to be my favorite book this Summer.

  7. Sara Lang June 25, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    The best book I’ve read this summer was Garlic and Sapphires, which definitely made me want to be a food critic.

  8. Amanda June 25, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    This summer? Loved Laura Bush’s bio “Spoken from the Heart”. Nice thing, since it’s really the only book I’ve read so far :)

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 25, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    I’ve already read it, so don’t include me in the giveaway. Good idea to give it away, though!

    The best book I have read so far this summer is American Wife!

  10. Becky June 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Sounds fantastic! Count me in!

  11. Becky June 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Oh and my favorite book for the summer so far has to be Jane Eyre. Not sure how I have never read it before but am absolutely in love with it now!

  12. Stephany June 26, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    My favorite book this summer, hmm. Probably “When God Writes Your Love Story” by Eric & Leslie Ludy. I’m not completely finished with it yet, but I already know it’s going to be one of my favorite books for a long, long time.

  13. E.P. June 26, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Love it!

    My favorite book that I have read this summer was Janet Evanovich’s “One for the Money.” My book club read it for our June meeting, and I finished it in literally one sitting. I need to get the rest of the series now to continue reading it!

    What has been your favorite book that you have read this summer?

  14. Mel June 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Crap, I have read A LOT of books. It’s impossible for me to choose just ONE! :) But I will have to say that my most favorite book to read EVERY summer is Summer Sister by Judy Bloom. I read it once a year, every year.

  15. SSG June 27, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    Love, love, LOVE the new design!
    For a summer read, I equate summers with holidays, and when on holiday I like to read a book set in the area I’m visiting. I read “Shadow of the Wind” whilst in Barcelona, and “Shantaram” whilst in Maharashtra, and loved them both.

    As a teenager, I remember reading Michelle Magorians “A Little Lovesong”, on our garden with daisies and sunshine, and on our local beach with the smell of salt and suntan lotion, and dreaming all day long. I miss those summers of our schooldays, with nothing to do but dream…

  16. Suburban Sweetheart June 27, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Best book I’ve EVER read over the summer?! Oh, my, how can I remember? I know the worst: “Lord of the Flies,” for a high school summer reading list. I hated that book like I’ve never hated any book since.

    I hope this still counts as an entry. I just have a terrible memory!

  17. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 28, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    I’m almost done with the book (50 pages to go) and still waver between liking it quite a bit and indifference. However, I am definitely taking away the focus it takes to be an elite athlete and how that sometimes can interfere with having a life. BTW, don’t count me in this giveaway, since I already have a copy of my own. =)

  18. mandy June 29, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    I agree with Lisa, great idea to give it away. =) (And please don’t count me in the giveaway.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Video, A Winner & Nora’s Mish-Mash « Walking with Nora - June 28, 2010

    […] you’re jonesing for another giveaway, be sure to check out last Friday’s post for the chance to win “Swimming,” a novel I recently read for one of my book […]

Leave a Reply

