A Video, A Winner & Nora’s Mish-Mash

28 Jun

First of all, thanks to everyone who entered the Nintendo Points Card Giveaway! There were a total of 33 valid entries and thanks to random.org, number 16 was the winner which happens to be the lovely Erin. While we are on the Nintendo subject, a big shoutout and thanks to Rebekah for putting together this little video from the party in which you will see me and KH furiously boxing, Liz bowling, the famed Heracles Chariot Racing, as well as the other party goers and witness some of Rebekah’s awesome video-editing skills.

If you’re jonesing for another giveaway, be sure to check out last Friday’s post for the chance to win “Swimming,” a novel I recently read for one of my book clubs.

And now, for Nora’s Mish Mash:

* I do not have a green thumb. I was recently gifted some beautiful parade roses and I think I killed them. Or at least it looks I tried to kill them. Fortunately Darling is better at gardening than I, so she’s helping me nurse them back to health. I hope it works because they are beautiful!

* From Barnes & Noble to the Library. It’s no secret I’m a book addict but now it’s even worse since I can check books out of the library for FREE at any time, renew them online at any time and etc. I wrote about my library obsession last week so I won’t bore you with it again, but you would think I’d take out one, maybe two books out at a time but it’s not the case. I went Saturday afternoon and walked out with four books, once of which is a 1,000 page book. No way I’ll be able to finish it in the two week allotted period.

* Billionaire & Sookie Stackhouse love. I’m probably late to both of these things, but I’m kind of decided that Travie McCoy’s “Billionaire” is going to be my summer song (sorry, Katie Perry, I hear you’re up for best summer song with California Gurls but I don’t dig it).

And Snopp Dogg’s tribute to Sookie Stackhouse? I was dying from laughter and even made my parents watch/listen to it:

* Fireworks! I have a three-day weekend, possibly four-day weekend coming up and I literally can’t wait. Ignoring the fact that part of the weekend will be spent working on a finance midterm, my brother is coming into town which means the nose piercing just might finally happen (he’s my courage for these kinds of things), I’ll be poolside, reading, getting ready for my trip to DC and just mellowing out as much as possible.

So, tell me, am I the only one who kills plants and is in love with poptrashy music?

25 Responses to “A Video, A Winner & Nora’s Mish-Mash”

  1. LiLu June 28, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    YES YES YES!!!!!!! That Snoop video made my life. B doesn’t like it?! I’m all, but you relate, you want to bang Sookie too, right?? He says it’s dumb.

    I say BOYS are dumb.

  2. RootsAndRings June 28, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I don’t have sound at work so I can’t want any of your videos. DUMB.

    I kill plants too. I try so hard but I’m a failure. We need to form a support group.

  3. Kyla Roma June 28, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Can’t wait to see your new nose piercing, and have a fun long weekend with your brother! Sounds kind of perfect to me :)

  4. ashleyTIA June 28, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    I killed a beautiful potted plant from my mom this week, so I can relate to you there! I’m going to start Kyla’s 4 little pots soon, so I’m hoping I can pull a miracle and get them to grow. ;)

    Hope you have an awesome 4th!!

  5. Erin June 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    It’s me? I’m the winner? How fun! Ted will be very excited too. :)

    I cannot wait to see your new nose piercing. I had mine pierced for about a month in college, but after I sneezed it out twice during allergy season, it just wasn’t working for me.

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 28, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Yep, I kill plants. I am terrible. They had us grandchildren all take a plant home from my grandfather’s funeral in Feb of 2009. I really, really tried to take care of it and keep it alive. I even bought one of those water globes which is supposed to be idiot proof. Yah, it’s not. So I finally just brought the plant to my mom because she has a total green thumb. I would have felt so incredibly guilty had a killed a plant from my grandpa’s funeral. So I can sleep a little better at night knowing it’s under my mom’s care. :)

    I can only keep cacti alive. I have one that I have had for years. I love that I can forget to water it for months and it still is alive and kicking. :)

  7. Emily Jane June 28, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    I’m an awful gardener too – though I have ONE little plant I’ve had since I started working here and he’s stayed pretty strong throughout my employment – even if I pour coffee on him when I don’t have any water! :)

  8. Margarita June 28, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Perfect song choices – I’m loving that Billionaire song ever since it hit the radio a couple of weeks ago. Don’t worry about the green thumb, I was born without one too!

  9. MASHley June 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    ash – isn’t the sookie stackhouse video funny??? i saw it a week or so ago and made matt drop everything he was doing to watch it

  10. clairesuzanne June 28, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    I didn’t think it was possible for me to love Snoop more. But, apparently it is because that video makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside in a laughing my butt off kind of way.

    Also, I only have a green thumb for outdoor plants. My bf takes care of the indoor plants cause I’m not having any of it!

  11. Liz June 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Rebekah’s video is so fun! Of course, I’m stuffing my face with M&M’s in it, but whatever, still awesome!

    I killed a brand new hydrangea bush within the first week of having it. Not sure what I did wrong. Perhaps it’s just too hot? I don’t know. But I killed it.

  12. Mel June 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Yay, Sookie. I just started watching True Blood…um, yesterday. Love it.

  13. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 28, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I am trying TERRIBLY hard to keep a tomato and a strawberry plant alive this summer. So far they are doing OK… We’ll see!

    Have fun getting your nose pierced!! It doesn’t hurt but it will make your eyes water ;)

  14. Maddy June 29, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    I think I prefer “Billionaire” to “California Girls” any day! I think Katy was the front runner, until I saw her obnoxious video for California Girls. Plus, Bruno Mars is too adorable. Have fun with the nose piercing! I had one in college and I loved it. Too bad I had to remove it for work and then my hole closed up :o/

  15. OG June 29, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    I had to google Sookie Stackhouse…thank you for teaching me pop-culture. I like the Billionaire song though…good luck on your midterm, I’ll be at work Saturday and Monday :)

  16. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 29, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    I have really gotten into gardening lately … though I’m not sure I’ve got a green thumb, I don’t kill things, either. I can’t tell you the last time I actually saw a music video. Probably in grade school. At a friend’s house. Growing up without cable will do that to a girl. I read books so seldomly that I think it’s a treat to buy a new book and bring it home. That said, if I read as much as you, I’d probably get a library card, too.

  17. mandy June 29, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    The video of your Nintendo party rocks!! Looks like such a fun time. While I am looking forward to the long 4th of July holiday, I am more excited about DC. =) (Like super, ridiculously, OMG I can’t wait to FINALLY meet you in person and hug you excited. )

  18. Kimmers June 29, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Oh my lord I hate that Katie Perry song! I have to switch the station every time it comes on, ick. On the other hand, I love Billionaire. It’s such a great feel-good summer song.

    Don’t feel bad about the roses… I cast a sideways glance at plants and they keel over dead.

  19. Brittney June 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    LOL I just heard the song like, yesterday? And was so terribly estatic a hip-hopy song was laid back and said “frickin” instead of cussing? Stole my heart. :P

  20. oh June 29, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Glad to see Snoop Dogg still kickin’ it – I think he’s a classy guy and am pleasantly suprised by his tribute song to Sookie!

    Here’s to pop-trashy songs – ya gotta have some of them for sing alongs and laughs.

    BTW, your party rocked.

  21. oh June 29, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    PS That’s an excellent video that Rebekah put together! I. am. impressed. (and glad I was there!) Kudos, all!

  22. Amanda June 30, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    GIRL. I have killed my lucky bamboo from IKEA not once, but TWICE.
    My thumbs are apparently lethal.

  23. imogenc June 30, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    I’m afraid to say, I also have a slight tendancy to kill off my plants.

    Not all and not always, but still…Such a pity too :( I have this huge veranda I’d like to spruce up and transform into a zen, garden-like space -but can’t really see that happening.. :roll:

    Your Snoop Dogg video had me laughing my heart out! Lyrics are awesome :lol:

  24. Tabitha July 1, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    I totally thought I commented on this one, but in clearing out Reader I realized I didn’t. So: I LOVE that video. It totally encapsulates what a fun time you must’ve had, and it made me super jealous that I don’t live close enough to have been invited. :-P

  25. Leesh July 21, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Billionaire is also my summer song. Before my husband and I went to Samana, Dominican Republic, we vowed to ourselves that we would play Billionaire while sitting on the beach. Well, we forgot and were kicking ourselves when we got home.

    We will be going on vacation again in 4 weeks, so we have to remember to do it this time. Bruno Mars has an amazing voice. My hubby sings the Bruno parts and I rap like Travie. LOL!

Leave a Reply

