The June Obsession List

30 Jun

In no particular order, my must-haves (or must-dos) for the last 30 days:

* Ignore life at least one day a week. I’m talking a poolside chaise lounge, Beach Boys on the stereo, ice cold drinks, strong SPF, books, trashy magazines, and relaxation. Leave the phone inside, stash the computer, and just breathe in the smells of summer.

* Reconnect with friends. It’s probably due to the weather, but the social scene heats up for me big time during the summer months. Between phone calls, happy hours, dinners, breakfasts, parties and etc, now through Labor Day will be a blur of swapping stories with friends, catching up over Mexican and enjoying every second of it.

* My bed. With the way I run myself ragged during the day, it’s a pure joy to be able to slip into a comfortable bed each night. Bonus points for hugging the pillow and extra hour or two on the weekend.

* Rescue Me. If you haven’t watched it yet, do it. I promise boys and girls alike will love this show. The writing is amazing, the cast does a stellar job every single show and the plot twists keep you guessing each week. Season Six premiered last night and in true Leary form it was intense.

* Nintendo Wii Games. I think I’m slowly but surely becoming an addict. I recently started playing Super Mario Galaxy 2 and I love it mostly because it’s a game I can easily play.  

* Biodegradable doggie waste bags. I bought a mini clip-on waste bag carrier to take on my walks with Jack thus ensuring I never run over bags. Sounds totally silly but I love that they are eco-friendly and from a local company: two birds, one stone.

* Ann Taylor Loft. How I ever lived without this store, I’ll never know. 100% of my clothing fund goes straight into their pockets. Bless them for their cute dresses, summery tops, need-to-have jewelry and a staff that is so kind every single time, there’s no shopping experience that rivals it for me.

* Purusing the housing options in StL. I can’t wait to really start looking at condos in the next few months. The fact that I could have a house that is mine, all mine, to paint, to decorate, to do as I please? Makes me giddy with excitement.

* Eminem. His bad boy charms still appeal to me, even to this day. Oh, and Charlie Bewley from Twilight. Just. Plain. YUM.

 

What were your must-haves/must-do’s for the last 30 days?

19 Responses to “The June Obsession List”

  1. Kyla Roma June 30, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    Ah! Congratulations on starting to look at condos, that’s amazing! I know it’s a timing thing but I feel like it would be so exciting and liberating for you to have your own place! :)

    And I love that you ignore life once a week, I’m working on doing that too- a couple times a week I just veg out with Jess, we make dinner, take the dogs for a huge walk and flop on the deck to read. It’s so nice to just put everything on hold for a few.

  2. mandy June 30, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Its very exciting that you’re going to start looking at condos! Keeping my fingers crossed for you. And like Kyla I love that you ignore life on occasion. I do that a lot, especially during the summer.

  3. Maddy June 30, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    Wow! Congrats on the house hounting :) The hubby and I “should” probably get to it, but we’re in no particular rush. The summer for me is all about connecting with friends. And as for Eminem, I have a soft spot for him too. I also think he’s a real talent in a world of manufactured pop stars.

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair June 30, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    I’ve become obsessed with reading! This always seems to happen to me in the summer but every spare moment I have I’m curled up with my book.

    I’ve also been doing a lot of yoga. Maybe it’s because of the marathon training or more classes being available and in my price range. I don’t know but I’ve been doing yoga at least 2-3 times a week lately!

  5. MASHley June 30, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    ash – i think i need to take your idea of ignoring life one day a week. i’ve definitely felt too stressed lately between classes, med school apps (done with the “primary” apps but still have to work on the schools that require “secondary” ones), and my internship. pool and trashy books sound amazing. also for some reason i really like your “reconnect with friends.” in brit lit we read a book where a character suggested one’s life goal should be “only connect” (with friends, family, oneself, etc.). good luck with the house hunting!

  6. jen June 30, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    must have a week of vacation far far away!! which would be maryland this year on top of a mountain!! yay

  7. Krystyn June 30, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    OK – being an Eminem fan…I have a question for you…did he have some facial work done? The pic of him on iTunes gives me a VERY VERY squared off jaw….I don’t remember him that way…really doesn’t even look like him.

  8. Veronica June 30, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Ohhh I like your June obsessions. Well, maybe the Eminem one is a bit off for me. Although his song with Rhianna is on constant replay on my iPod. Loves it!

    Good luck on condo hunting. I’m sure you will find your perfect home. Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  9. Becky June 30, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    I’ve been trying to “ignore life” too! Sometimes if the hubby and I are just running to Target and I know he has his cell phone I’ll leave mine at home. If something’s so important someone has to get ahold of me that minute they can call his…otherwise, it can wait!

  10. ria June 30, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    ohmygosh i streamed rescue me through netflix and i am hooked! i love it! it’s disturbing but i love it anyways.

    it’s crazy how the weekends get booked during summer! :)

  11. Stephany June 30, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    Oh, those biodegradeable doggie waste bags are probably my newest favorite invention! So convenient and good for the environment, too! I love them!!

    I’m also taking the chance to disconnect from the online world once a week as well. Just to relax, sit back, and enjoy summer without the craziness of having to check Twitter every 2.5 seconds. It’s so nice!

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 30, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Great list! My must have’s for the month have been:

    1. Glee – fell in love with this show and got through the Season 1 Volume 1 episodes. The next Volume needs to come out stat so I can get all caught up before it starts again this fall.

    2. Peach Black Tea from a local coffee shop. It hasn’t bothered my acid reflux so I am loving this stuff. I have one on Sat, Sun, and Mon. That habit cant’ continue but it was a nice treat this weekend. I plan on just having them on Mondays when they $2 for a medium tea all summer. :)

    3. Summer dress – I just can’t own enough. i bought 3 at Target this weekend. I want to be able to have enough dresses that I can wear one 3-4 times/week. I am getting close to that point! :)

  13. AshleyD June 30, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I’ve been making it a priority to spend time at the pool as well. It’s so relaxing to soak up the sunshine with a good book in hand.

    P.S. Let’s chat soon! I miss you!

  14. Veronica July 1, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    LOL all June I’ve been obsessed with Burger King. They started serving Coke Icee’s for only a dollar. I work right down the street from a BK and it’s so difficult to drive past it and not stop for such a sweet, and cheap delight!

  15. ashleyTIA July 1, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I totally wished we lived closer so I could pop over and listen to the Beach Boys and read magazine with you! I’m excited about next week too. :) :)

  16. Erin July 1, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    I’m so excited that you are looking at condos! Buying a place is kind of insane (and not for everyone), but we have just loved owning our own home. Even if you rent, it will be amazing to have your own space.

  17. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 1, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    So excited to hear you’re ramping up your housing search. It was like the most exciting milestone of my 20s, no doubt. Feel free to use me for a sounding board, if you need one!

  18. Tabitha July 2, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Ooh, I LOVE the first bullet. I really need to make that happen in my life — taking one day a week (hell, one day a MONTH would be nice) to relax and have no responsibilities or obligations or to-do lists. This summer is getting away from me way too fast…

  19. Mel July 5, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    I was at the mall yesterday (yes, on a holiday) and passed my Ann Taylor Loft. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that store. But I chose not to go in. Their marked down items? Were on special for 50% more off. GAH! I wanted to go in so badly, but I’m on a mission to buy NO MORE summer clothes this year. I’ve got enough dresses, tanks, etc to get me through August. :)

Leave a Reply

