The Weekend: Four on the Fourth

6 Jul

I’ve spent the last four days living life outside of the office, away from the wires of the internet, detached from the shrill sound of my cell phone.

Instead I opted for quality time with the family and close friends, knocking out my finance midterm well before it’s due date (and not looking back), lazily reading under the cafe umbrella in the backyard, casual strolls with Jack.

I traveled to the movies to see Eclipse with my highschool gal pals. Post-movie, we hung out in the parking lot for an hour like we used to “back in the day,” talking boys, proposals, babies, trips, memories. I indulged in a late night snack and silly TV.

I watched Crazy Heart (highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it), backed up  my files to a hard drive (totally geeky thing but so necessary), planned out my outfits for the upcoming DC trip (I can such a girlie girl sometimes), ran a few miles (and lived to tell about it, sans swollen knee!), and relished in afternoon naps in the sun. I snacked on Mexican food, chair danced to salsa music.

I helped my Gram with the feng shui of her apartment, treated myself to a new pair of shoes, dropped my feet into the water at my friend’s lake house while indulging in mindless gossip and appetizers, stayed up too late talking to my brother and watching ridiculous YouTube vidoes.

I enjoyed the glow of  fireworks with a few hundred of my closest friends outside the local Barnes & Noble. I sipped Schalfly’s Summer Ale. I ran from the sprinklers that sprung up under my chair during the fireworks, laughing and drenched from head to toe.

I didn’t overthink, overplan, overbook. I didn’t stress, freak out, run late.

I lived in every moment, got back to basics and enjoyed every.single.second. Weekends like this are what summer is all about.

What’s your ideal summer/holiday weekend entail?

 

 

22 Responses to “The Weekend: Four on the Fourth”

  1. Becky July 6, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    Delightful!

  2. Veronica July 6, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    Sounds fantastic! Really!

  3. jen July 6, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    What a fabulous way to spend the weekend!!

  4. mandy July 6, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Isn’t it a much less stressful way to live — just being in the moment, detangling from the internet, and just enjoying the moment? I want that all the time. I basically can’t wait for DC this weekend!

  5. OurLittleAshley July 6, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I am enjoying a similar kind of summer (with occasional bouts of FREAKING OUT).

    Most of all, I am *thrilled* to hear that you went for a run! I can’t imagine how happy that made you. :) In 3 or 4 months, I look forward to running for the first time in ages. It’s hard to not run when your mind wants to!

  6. hannahkaty July 6, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    That sounds wonderful.. I am happy to report that I did the same and have decided that I need to be more intent on doing this with my weekends. Disconnecting and reconnecting with people.. Because it feels oh so good.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  7. Megan July 6, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    I love this! I’m glad that you were able to unwind this weekend. It’s so nice to get out from behind a computer in an office and go out into the real world. I sometimes don’t realize how much I miss it until I’m out there in it.

  8. Manderz July 6, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    What beautiful ways to spend the weekend!

  9. MASHley July 6, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    ash – fantastic. sounds like an amazing weekend. i enjoyed doing a little relaxing of my own this weekend…. amidst all the allergies. doing better now though!

  10. Maddy July 6, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Sounds a great approach to the holiday weekend. I, too, stay unplugged throuhout, though I wasn’t feeling well at all to say I enjoyed the weekend to its fullest. But, there’s plenty of weekends left in the summer to make for it :)

  11. Justine July 6, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect and well balanced weekend! I ALSO watched Crazy Heart this weekend!

  12. Kimwithak July 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Sounds wonderful! Crazy Heart was amazing, wasn’t it?

    Disconnecting for awhile is a great way to reconnect…if that makes sense.

  13. Lauren from Texas July 6, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I love those kind of weekends… we had one too, & it was much needed. I think I need a picture of these new shoes :)

  14. AshleyD July 6, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    That sounds like an absolutely divine weekend! I think I failed at the “overbook”ing part. My weekend was fun, but it’s Tuesday and I’m still exhausted!

  15. OG July 6, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Glad you had a relaxing weekend. It was rainy here which was nice because there was not a lot of pressure to go out and party it up because it was 4th of july weekend.

  16. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 6, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Sounds lovely! I just came off of a crazy four days with family where each day was filled to the brim with chatting, catching up, laughter and a bit of bickering too!

  17. sassy molassy July 6, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Crazy Heart was an amazing movie! ANd new shoes always make any weekend good.

    My perfect weekend? Productivity mixed with moments, nay, hours of relaxation. Like…camping w/ a little hiking/biking/running thrown in or taking an early morning run, throwing together a fabulous breakfast of pancakes and eggs and laying on a dock while reading a book the whole afternoon.

  18. Elizabeth July 6, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    What a good weekend. I had a kind of forced unplugging from the world while my computer was in transition to Texas, and it was a very good thing!

  19. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 6, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Sounds like an absolutely fantastic weekend! You were due for one! I am glad you got that midterm out of the way so you could enjoy yourself without that dreaded homework cloud!

    My perfect summer weekend would be spent at the cabin. It’s make-up free. I like to start the day with the run, jump in the lake to cool off, transition to a swim suit, and stay in that swimsuit (with a cover up of some sort that is usually a dress) until it’s time to shower and put my jammies on. That is a perfect day for me. It should include blended drinks and a delicious book, too. And giggling with my nephews.

    Writing about this makes me miss the lake!!

  20. Jessica July 6, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    That sounds like a great holiday weekend! I love that you guys hung out in the parking lot after the movie, oh memories!

  21. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 7, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    Summers for me are all about ignoring what becomes my lifeline during the colder months. Forgetting the phone behind. Leaving the laptop in its bag. Forgetting when my favorite shows come on TV. Leaving all those things behind in favor of long walks and romps through the park and gatherings with neighbors in the yard.

  22. Margarita July 7, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    That sounds like a perfectly relaxing weekend :)

Leave a Reply

