My (Fur) Baby’s 6th Birthday

7 Jul

It’s hard to believe sometimes that Jack went from this (Nora aged 20, Jack aged 10-12 weeks):

to this (Jack, aged almost 6):

The day I adopted Jack, my College Boyfriend and I were incredibly bored. Having exhausted the mall, walking around campus and perusing the bookstore, we decided to stop by the Humane Society.

From behind the barbwired cage, Jack looked at up me with the puppy eyes (which he still reserves when he really wants something), pleading with me to take him home. We played with him for an hour and when it was time for us to leave, he whined. My heart was both broken and over the moon in love with him. After a brief “fight” with my landlord (the lease I signed said I was allowed a dog yet they told me I wasn’t allowed one), and 400 non refundable dollars later, Jack came home.

As a puppy he was nothing but adorable: housebroken within a month, learning tricks after two months, perking up to rap music like the Black Eyed Peas, Nelly and Ludacris, loving car rides, his chew toys, long walks and puppy cuddles.

Within a year he had learned to sleep in late like his mama, wrestled playfully with other dogs and became a huge hit among my friends. I have blocked out the few pairs of shoes he ruined, lamp wires that he chewed through and the few times that he kept me up late wanting to play instead of going to bed.

To this day he loves his toys, behaves more like a border collie than not (I swear he lays around and counts the number of people in the house each evening), he prefers ice cubes to water in the summer, he’ll sleep in his bed until 5 am each morning when he decides cuddling with me is more to his liking. He’s terrified of the swimming pool and hates baths, waits at the stairs for me each morning, won’t eat until I tell him to, alarms me to other dogs, runners and strangers on the street and most of all, he greets me each day, happier than the day before with tail wags, kisses and endless love.

Happy 6th Birthday, Jackers.

Love Always,
Your Dog Mama

24 Responses to “My (Fur) Baby’s 6th Birthday”

  1. Veronica July 7, 2010 at 5:27 am #

    Happy B-Day Jackers!! :) I wish you many more awesome birthday’s with your momma Nora.

    As I write this my own little (fur) baby is sleeping next to me. How attached one becomes to these adorable little creatures. I know for me, having a dog changed me for the better. I am now less stressed, more happy, more patient, and more active. I couldn’t live life without my baby Chloe.

    I’ll stop before I get all weepy. :p

  2. Becky July 7, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    Adorable! Happy Birthday Jack!

  3. jen July 7, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    What a Cutie!!! Happy Birthday Jack!!

  4. Megan July 7, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Happy birthday, Jack! He’s precious!

  5. Liz July 7, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    So cute! HBD Jack!

  6. Manderz July 7, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    What a cutie pie! Happy birthday Jack, hope your mom spoils you!

  7. mandy July 7, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    How handsome he is! Hope Jack has a great birthday and gets a bit more spoiled today than most days.

  8. ria July 7, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    happy, happy birthday Jack!! :)

  9. Rachel Elizabeth July 7, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Aww, Happy Birthday Jack! What a cutie.

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 7, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Omigoodness Jack was (is) SO CUTE!! Love him. What kind of dog is he??

    Aren’t pets just the greatest thing ever? They truly do make life better!! I can’t wait to get a dog – we are hoping to adopt one within the next year!!

  11. Maddy July 7, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    What a cutie!! Aren’t you glad you followed your heart and brought home this little guy?? Happy Birthday Jack!

  12. OG July 7, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Very cute little guy – what’d you get him for his birthday?

  13. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Too cute! It’s so funny, because SoMi sleeps on her blanket at the foot of the bed, until about 4AM (an hour before the alarm goes off), when she often pushes in-between Sweets and me to snuggle. I think that’s the sign of a loyal, life-long friend. Just saying. =)

  14. Erin July 7, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Awwww, Happy Birthday Jack!!!

    He was such a cute pup…I don’t think I could have resisted either. Also, I’m pretty sure I had that same purple comforter in college.

  15. Ashley July 7, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Ah, Happy Birthday Jack!

  16. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 7, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Happy Birthday for Jack! I didn’t realize that he had been in your life for that long. What a wonderful companion. I have debated getting a dog at times for teh sole reason of having someone to greet me when I return home at the end of the day…. But I fear the dog would be uber neglected… So for now I just accept the fact that I come home to an empty house!

  17. nova July 7, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    I got a little teary-eyed reading this post. I love, love dogs, and Jack is just so precious, with his cute, pleading eyes. He really knows how to work them, too! Happy birthday, Jack!

  18. katelin July 7, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    aw his eyes are so blue! such a cutie. happy birthday jack!

  19. MASHley July 7, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    ash – awwww. he’s adorable. that’s funny he’s afraid of pools. so is one of our dogs. but that’s because he was walking to the backyard (behind the pool) as a puppy and accidentally fell in. of course we fished him right out but he’s been afraid ever since. no matter how many bathes he takes or how many times he sees the other two dogs swim in the pool.

  20. Olive July 8, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Hey Nora!

    Thanks for the Twitter add! (I try to be anon but it’s slowly unraveling haha, I’m amanda*insert last name)

    Love the blog, can’t wait to catch up on old posts!

    xo

  21. Emily Jane July 8, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Happy birthday Jack!! How adorable is HE! :)

  22. Charlie July 8, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Happy birthday, Jack! He’s absolutely gorgeous :)

  23. Elizabeth July 8, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    What an adorable dude! Happy birthday to him!

  24. E.P. July 9, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Happy birthday, puppy!

Leave a Reply

