Tidbit Thursday: Condos, a Giveaway, DC, & More

8 Jul

Time for another installment of Tidbit Thursday, but first, I have another special giveaway for my readers:

* Since I’ve started looking at condos, I’ve been perusing a lot of home & decor websites, dreaming of how I’d adorn each room. One of my favorite home decor sites so far? CSN Stores: they have over 200 websites and amazing products including everything from platform beds to wall clocks, to children’s bedding, to kitchen gadgets and other housing necessities. CSN Stores was kind enough to offer one lucky reader a $50 gift card valid for use on any of their sites.  See below for the entry details. ***

* You give me (condo) fever. Browsing available condos and townhomes in the area is totally addictive. I’ve promised myself that once this finance class is done (four weeks! FOUR WEEKS!) I’d start looking on a more regular, more focused basis. I’m fortunate to have a great realtor who is a friend of the family so she’ll be helping me out while I figure exactly what I want/need/can afford going forward. There are still some big decisions to be made regarding home ownership but I think I’m honing in on the answers.

* This time tomorrow I’ll be on a plane to Washington DC. The sole purpose of the trip is for work: a very long week of conferences, meetings, key notes, networking. The secondary purpose: take my photo in front of as many monuments as possible while meeting all the fabulous DC bloggers and the other ladies who will be in town for various reasons. I am literally jumping out of my skin with excitement as I finally get to meet Mandy, LiLu, Suburban Sweetheart, Becky and Ashley TIA (and so many more that if I linked to all of them you’d be bored with this sentence). I’ve not been to DC since I was five; I can’t wait to explore the city and geek out on a daily basis. I am, after all, a dork for all things political science.

* Running! I’m officially running again, and so far, 100% pain free. I’m taking it slow and steady, ignoring my pace and mileage and just enjoying the fact that once again it’s me, my running shoes, some tunes and my thoughts. Even after almost three months, running still feels like “home.”

* Wedding (and baby) Season! It’s that time again. This year it’s different: I have more baby showers than weddings. The next few months are a whirlwind of baby showers, bachelorette parties, bridal showers, weddings and other friend-focused festivities. I have eight friends who are pregnant currently and I have to say, I’m enjoying attending the baby showers. Maybe it’s because I’ve been to over 20 bridal showers so baby showers are new to me, or perhaps it’s because I learn something new at each shower. I’m looking forward to this season of weddings too as one of them will be a mini college reunion and the other one is for one of my favorite people. (Plus between the baby showers and weddings, I’m sure to get eat some really good cake!)

Any tidbits you’d like to share today?

***There are two ways to enter the giveaway:
 *For one entry, leave a comment here with how you’d use this gift card if you win.  
* For a second entry, blog about this giveaway; come back and leave a comment with a link to your blog.

Who can enter? Anyone from the US and Canada!
Enter by Thursday, July 15th at midnight.

41 Responses to “Tidbit Thursday: Condos, a Giveaway, DC, & More”

  1. Kyla Roma July 8, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    So excited for your giveaway! :) If I won I would buy some beautiful wall art or a pendant lamp, because my house is kind of depressing me right now and I need to get it prett-ified!

    I can’t wait to hear all about your trip to DC, it’s going to be amazing! And I’m on the running bandwagon too, and sticking to it! I’m running between 6 – 8 miles a week and it’s just small but I’m working on making this a habit that will stick and then I’ll worry about being huge and strong.

  2. jen July 8, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    sounds like a wonderful summer you are having, i think if i were to win a giftcard like that i would have to use it to get a new futon cover…

  3. mandy July 8, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    I CANNOT WAIT FOR TOMORROW NIGHT!! (And yes, caps were absolutely necessary.) DC is going to be awesome and all sorts of wonderful.

    I think I would use the gift card to buy some new fabulous kitchen gadget.

  4. Becky July 8, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Wahoo CSN! If I won I would get something kitchen related because I’ve recently decided I’m going to become a domestic goddess and I’m going to start in the kitchen.

    We are going to have SO much fun in D.C. this weekend! Can’t wait! And I have a big fancy camera to take all those monument photos of you! :)

    Holy crap, 8 of your friends are pregnant?!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 8, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    I would use the gift certificate to get a new blender. I’m in dire need of one!

    I’m so excited to hear more about your condo shopping! It sounds like it’s stressful, but exciting. Also, SO JEALOUS of your amazing weekend in DC, you’re going to have such a great time meeting so many fabulous bloggers!

  6. Jennifer July 8, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    What a great giveaway! There are so many possible options on that website. I think I would get new bedding for the master bedroom. I HATE our master bedroom but we’ve neglected it while we focused on other home projects.

  7. Rachel July 8, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Looking forward to meeting you in DC! I would definitely use the giftcard for more bookcases. I’m already overflowing the many, many bookcases I already have :)

  8. Megan July 8, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    I’d use the giftcard for new window treatments in my office.

    I can’t wait for the condo/townhome shopping! Have fun in DC!

  9. Liz July 8, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    CSN Stores has so much stuff it’s hard to choose! Maybe a new bedding set, curtains, a rug or a new floor lamp. I’m all over the place.

    Can’t wait to hear all about your trip!

  10. Maureen July 8, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Wow what great items there are on the CSN site. I am in need of a wall clock for the one that just decided to stop running at my home. IT looks like they have quite a few to pick from.

  11. Erin July 8, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    I would use the gift certificate for something for the babies. Surprise, surprise. :)

    Have so much fun in DC! It sounds like it will be a great trip!

  12. Jordan July 8, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I’d LOVE to get a portable charcoal grill, and there are a few under 50 that would be a perfect gift for my BBQ loving Beau!!

  13. Genny July 8, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    If I won I would purchase something for my bathroom. We just built one in our basement and it needs a few more things.

  14. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 8, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Be careful of that house hunting bug. It’s addictive. Sweets started shopping for homes a week after we moved into our new condo. It never stops around here!

    And if I won that giveaway? I’d totally be buying things for our new nursery. Right now, we have to buy so many things, I wouldn’t even know where to start!

  15. Emily Jane July 8, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    If I won I would be buying some nice decor items as part of my “grown up” house attempt. I worked on wall art this week – down came the Dr. Who and band posters *sniff* and up went some proper artwork!

    And yay for not being in pain!! I’m trying to run a little each week and I’m finding Yoga is helping my back a little these days. I was going to ask you – as a runner, the LCD display on my treadmill broke and now doesn’t display anything so I have no clue how far I’m going – are there any heart rate monitors or other gadgets I could use to measure distance on the treadmill? All I have now is the speed dial from tortoise to bunny :(

  16. Windsor Grace July 8, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    I still haven’t even started the Cto5K, but I haven’t completely given up on myself. I hate to exercise. I can’t decide if I’m going to committ to getting up early or to running after work. I live inner city, so night isn’t a good option. Glad to see you’re back at it!

  17. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    If I won the gift card, I would it towardsa nice All Clad saute pan that I have been coveting for awhile. Fun giveaway! :)

    I am so glad you are running painfree!

    Good luck w/ the condo search. If you have any questions about the mortgage side of the process, you know where to find me. :)

    Have a blast in DC. Hug Mandy & Becky for me!

  18. megs July 8, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I’d love to get an ice cream maker. :D

  19. MASHley July 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    ash – no idea what i’d get yet. probably something to make the apartment feel more “grown up” (don’t know why people laugh at my little mermaid sheets). plus since i’m not going to have a roomie next year i’ve decided to go ahead and pay the extra money (but at a reduced price) to open the other bedroom (my apartment operates at a by bedroom price). i’m sure it could use a little color or something since i’ll probably turn it into a study room.

  20. domestic diva July 8, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    I’d use it toward a guidecraft kitchen helper. Thanks for the chance!

  21. hannahkaty July 8, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Love a good giveaway. If I won this gift card I would clearly use it to buy some kitchen gadgets for the NY apartment… Hand blender perhaps?

  22. Amy --- Just A Titch July 8, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I just moved and man, that gift card would come in handy for last-minute things!

    Also: extreme jealousies about DC! Have fun!

  23. LiLu July 8, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    24 ISH HOURS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. Lisa July 8, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    I would buy a food processor.

  25. Jessica July 8, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    First, I’m jealous of your trip to DC, have so much fun! Second, yay for running again and condo hunting. Jealous. And I would use the gift card by purchasing some new fun pillows for my couch and something for my bedroom, that is a patchwork mess.

  26. AshleyD July 8, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    I hope you have so much fun this weekend in DC. I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    If I won the giveaway I’d definitely buy some cute wall art to decorate my (new) room back home.

  27. Elizabeth July 8, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Hmm…I can’t decide if I’d use it for something frivolous for the pups, or toward the stroller we’re coveting…probably the stroller!

    Have a great trip to DC, and enjoy condo hunting! I’d love to come visit you once you settle into one!

  28. Nilsa@SoMi Speaks July 9, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    Blogged about it today!

    http://somispeaks.com/2010/07/09/replay-49/

  29. megabrooke July 9, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    glad to hear that you’re back to running! and im with you on this year being the year of the babies! so many showers!
    i’d totally go decor crazy if i won that giveaway! the new pad needs some sprucing up!

  30. Kathleen July 9, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    You’re on a giveaway kick and I love it! I can’t even tell you how I’d use the gift card because my house needs so much right now, but probably for curtain rods, a light fixture, or wall art!

  31. rebekah July 9, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Come back to Maplewood! I’m always decorating and would love to pick up some accent pieces for my bedroom.

  32. E.P. July 9, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    I love that you’re condo looking! W and I looked at houses last weekend in Dallas… just to see if we agreed on styles and features, etc., and it is ADDICTIVE. If you need a shopping partner for house things, I’m your girl. ;)

    And I would totally buy some wall art or something functional for my house if I somehow had a $50 giftcard to blow.

    Happy weekend! Have a fantastic time in DC!

  33. Lauren July 12, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Oh! Good luck with the house hunting. It is SO MUCH FUN. My only advice is to keep looking “until you know”. Because at some point, you will “just know”. If I were to win a giveaway (which I never, ever have so I should probably stop trying), I would buy some more things for my house. The first month or so after purchasing I did my best to fill in all those nooks and crannies that turn a house into a home. But then I ran out of money and decided to hold off. My bathrooms need some sort of decoration other than a toilet, sink and shower!

  34. cheekybird July 12, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Ohh, I love CNS! If I won I wuld buy a bed frame. That may not seem like a big deal, but I’ve been using white plastic bed risers since I entered college. Any way to get away from kegstands and 8 am classes is amazeballs in my book!

  35. edmontonjb July 12, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I would use the credit towards the Rachael Ray Porcelain Enamel 8-Quart Oval Covered Pasta Pot in Blue

  36. Stephany July 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    I want to win! I would probably use it to spice up my room at home more. I want to completely redo it, but have to save up! It would go a ways to buying a new dresser or desk.

  37. pinkie July 15, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    I would use the gift certificate to buy some wall art

  38. victoria lester July 16, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Great giveaway! I’d apply the gift certificate towards a SertaPedic Morris Plush Mattress Set at CSN.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Before 30 (Part Two) « Walking with Nora - July 9, 2010

    […] Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift card from CSN stores! […]

  2. Truly Amazeballs* « Walking with Nora - July 12, 2010

    […] forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift card from CSN stores! Three more days to […]

  3. Nora Confessions Part X « Walking with Nora - July 15, 2010

    […] Chance! If you haven’t done it already, don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift card from CSN stores! Enter by tonight at […]

Leave a Reply

