30 Before 30 (Part Two)

9 Jul

Thanks to all of you for the fabulous feedback, suggestions and enthusiasm about my 30 Before 30 Part One! I’m thrilled to know there are some bloggers in Alaska, ladies who want to skydive with me, and of course, a group interested in the France/Italy trip.

Here’s the next 10 on my list…

1. Get up early enough to watch the sun rise. Ideally this would take place in Florida or one of the places I’m determined to go before I’m 30, but I’ll settle for it taking place in the STL if need be.

2. Be a vegetarian for a month. (I’d go vegan but I’m allergic to way too many fruits, vegetables and etc, so I’d pretty much starve for 30 days.)

3. Go camping. (Yes, you read that correctly. Go camping, for the first time before I’m 30.)

4. Read Gone with the Wind.

5. Go to the new New York Yankee Stadium, hopefully before Derek Jeter retires. I’ve had a celeb-crush on him since I was 13.

6. Watch at least 25 of the Oscar’s Best Movies from the last 75 years. It’s amazing to me how much cinematic genius is out there and yet I’ve seen very few of them.

7. Sing karaoke. In public. My family always teases me because they never hear me sing. In actuality, I sing all the time, just when I’m alone.

8. Make a scrapbook of all the letters and postcards from my grandfather and great grandmother. At present they are sitting in a keepsake box collecting dust; I think they deserve more than that considering how special they are to me.

9. Take myself on a solo vacation: no friends, family or signifcant others.

10. Plant a garden and keep it alive for an entire season.

I have ten more to go. Any more suggestions for me?

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift card from CSN stores!

26 Responses to “30 Before 30 (Part Two)”

  1. Nicole July 9, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    #2. Love the idea of being vegetarian for a month to see what it’s like. Do you mind if I borrow that idea? :) #4. Love the book Gone with the Wind. Sooo good and sooo frustrating, all at the same time.

  2. Kyla Roma July 9, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    I’ve been wanting to go #6 too! I need to get on that – and you’re a trooper for considering being vegetarian with all of your allergies. Why don’t you swap that out to live with Kyla & Jesse and eat veg food with them for a month? I think that would be a great substitute :)

  3. Becky July 9, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I love the vegetarian and movie ones – and you DEF. need to go camping! There’s nothing like waking up in the morning surrounded by nature, the air is cool (it’s automatically 10 degrees cooler in the woods, keep that in mind when you’re picking the time of year to go!), and you can snuggle back down in your sleeping bag.

  4. jen July 9, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Another list of great things!!!

  5. Nilsa@SoMi Speaks July 9, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    #1 You could always move somewhere with awful traffic (think: Chicago, LA, DC or Atlanta) and adjust your work schedule to avoid traffic. Then, you can be just like me and watch the sun rise every stinking morning. Sigh.

    #5 If you steal Derek Jeter away, that means Sweets’ celebrity crush (Lila from Friday Night Lights) will be a free woman (she’s been dating Jeter for a few years now) and he can have her to himself! =)

  6. AshleyD July 9, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    This is a great list. You definitely need to go camping. I recommend going with a group of close friends and staying up late swapping stories and giggling over wine. :)

  7. Aimee July 9, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    My husband and I just went to the new Yankee Stadium over Memorial Day weekend. We were out east for a friend’s wedding. Even though I’m not really into the Yankees, it was fun. The fans were great! The stadium is huge!

  8. Maddy July 9, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    I literally lived one block away from Yankee Stadium right after college and NEVER stepped foot in the stadium. Pretty silly, no? Also, I am the karaoke queen! So much, that I got a karaoke system for Christmas last year! If you’re ever in the area, you can take me to Yankee Stadium and I’ll take you to the best Karaoke spots in town ;o)

  9. Emily Jane July 9, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Get up early enough to watch the sun rise. GREAT item. I never do this in summer, but in winter the sun rises between me getting up and going to work, and this winter just past D called me outside on a -30 degree morning to capture this:

  10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 9, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Great 2nd part of the list! I think the solo vacation is a great idea. My time in Paris was amazing when I went by myself in 2008. I never felt lonely and it’s so much more acceptable to eat alone in Europe, so I never felt weird going out for nice dinners alone!

  11. Megan July 9, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    I’ve never been camping, and my husband would LOVE it if I said, “let’s go camping,” so that’s been added to my list.

    I usually get up before the sun, but I don’t actually get to see it rise because I’m usually getting ready for work OR driving to work.

  12. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 9, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Are you allergic to beans?? If not I think you could probably do the vegetarian for a month thing. You’d be amazed at all the different things you can make with BEANS!

    Also, I love the going on a solo trip one. I really want to do that one day too! I think it would be an awesome experience!

  13. Elizabeth July 9, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Your list keeps getting better! One of my favorite trips alone was to Honolulu–I was just there for three days, but the experience of getting there, eating alone, having a room to myself, and exploring only what I wanted was exhilarating.

  14. bellerenee July 9, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Since I’m getting all sorts of new camping stuff for our upcoming roadtrip, maybe next year instead of #BloggersinINDY, we can be #BloggersOutdoors. We can camp like Real Women, make coffee in my camping French press, and rise early to watch the sunrise over some pretty valley. Deal? I’m serious.

  15. katelin July 9, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    yes go camping!! everyone needs to do it once. i love camping but man i haven’t done it in forever. also, solo travel, i sort of did that when i was an exchange student and i highly highly recommend it.

  16. rachieannie July 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Gone With The Wind = fantastic. I read it over and over in high school – enough that the last pages fell out. It’s a bit of a commitment but totally worth it!!

  17. Erin July 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Ummmm, I’m with Renee. Let’s go camping and make s’mores! I haven’t been camping in ages, but I actually won a campfire cooking competition in Girl Scouts for making a pineapple upside down cake over a camp fire. True story.

  18. E.P. July 9, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I’m loving this list! I’d love to read Gone with the Wind. And the camping thing? If you want to get a cabin and not go the tent route, I will definitely go. I just don’t do the whole peeing in the woods thing…

  19. Brittney July 11, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Oh lordy, I need to go camping for REAL for the first time as well. How sad is that? LOL.

  20. Jessica July 11, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    I LOVE that you want to start a garden because I do too! Ugh to have fresh tomatoes would be incredible. Keep me posted if you do it!

  21. Lauren July 12, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Haha, I love “plant a garden and keep it alive for an entire season”. I attempt the first part of that statement each year but the second part always seems to cause a bit of trouble. Also, I LOOOOOOVE CAMPING!

  22. dezolutions2010 July 12, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    sounds like we have a lot in common! I made a VERY very similar list slash blog, http://dezolutions.com/the-list/

    I really like your blog, you’ve got a new reader ovah heyah!!!

  23. ria July 12, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    last year i took the pups up north for a weekend by myself. i was nervous but it was nice to just be with myself.

  24. mandy July 12, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    If you come visit me, we can knock out half of this list. Ok, maybe not half, but a few. If my brother buys the property he’s been wanting (he’s sort of in the process but has been hindered by several loop holes) we will have a bloggerstock complete with tents, campfire, s’mores etc. We can take care of the karaoke and sunrise watching as well. Nothing beats watching the sun rise over the hills, unless you’re watching it come up over a big body of water like a lake or the ocean.

  25. Veronica July 14, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    NORA! These are the best! I love the 2, 6, 9! There is so much I’d like to do before I turn 30. Time to start whipping up a list, no? Yes… it’s time. Thanks for being so inspiring! :)

  26. Tabitha July 19, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Ooh! Yay for #7! We’re gonna make it happen.

Leave a Reply

