Truly Amazeballs*

12 Jul

It happens to me every time.

Nervous stomach. Sweaty palms. I pace back and forth outside the building once, maybe twice.

This isn’t my usual for a first date- it’s my usual when I meet new people, specifically bloggers. Even more specifically bloggers that I’ve known for over a year, some I’ve just “met,” though it seems like I’ve been reading them forever, and others still that you meet by chance and instantly know that you want to be best friends with them and countless other fabulous women, some who blog, some who don’t, but all who are intelligent, hilarious, open, and fun.

I was greeted by hugs, handshakes, smiles and after that it was like I was hanging out with 25 of my closest best friends.

During my 36 hours of blogger meet-up in DC, I was a back-up dancer in a Rick Rolling video (just ask LiLu, she has the proof). I wore a fake mustache because it seemed like a fun idea:

I shouted across the street as Mandy showed up out of the metro. I shared a salame pizza with Maxie and company, laughed wildly with Ashley, talked about buying purses at Hallmark, what STL and the midwest is really like, randomly shouted Twitter handles as more friends appeared at the bar. (Really, it’s the only way to identify one another. My name for the evening was Nora, WalkingWithNora.)

I talked life, love, my pursuit of happiness, snapped way too many pictures and yet not enough at the same time, took a tequila shot for the first time in ages, managed to survive Chinatown in three-inch heels. Watched a girl (not in our group) throw up while walking and guys (not in our group) take photos of said throw-up. Hailed a cab in two seconds flat, and the minute I got home? Missed everyone immensely and began the process of mentally planning the next gathering.

On Saturday, I indulged in a scrumptious breakfast at Furin’s, a family owned & operated restaurant that came with a side of cute (the owner is smoking hot), indulged in a chocolate milkshake on steroids, oogled the ridiculousness that is the Twilight table at Barnes & Noble. I bought a few more books to add to my ever-growing pile of addiction, laughed like it was my job and just basked in the friendship and outpouring of love that I felt with my friends. My. Real. Life. Friends.  

Special thanks to Lilu for organizing the DCAmazeballsHH (VOTE for her for MTV’s First Twitter DJ while you’re at it!), to all the women (and brave men!) who were there, to Becky for making a rad (yes, I just used the word rad) video of our day on Saturday, and to the blogging community for continually inspiring me, for being my friends and a constant reminder that anything really is possible.

(Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift card from CSN stores! Three more days to enter!)

44 Responses to “Truly Amazeballs*”

  1. Becky July 12, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Love it. Miss you already!!!

  2. Kyla Roma July 12, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Sounds like it was a crazy time! I’m so glad that you had fun- and the nerves things just makes it more fun when you have that “They get it!” moment 10 minutes in :)

  3. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 12, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    Sounds like such a fabulous weekend. I so wish I could have been there with you girls!

    Oh, and I love your tank tops that you wore throughout the weekend. and your aqua purse that I spotted in Becky’s video – that’s fabulous!

    Can’t wait for August. :)

  4. mandy July 12, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    I had so much fun this weekend, I can’t even begin to properly describe it for my own blog just yet. I keep looking at pictures from the weekend and thinking, did that really just happen? Love you!

  5. dennisfinocchiaro July 12, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Wow this is a neat idea! I’ve never heard of a blogger meet up! Sounds like fun. I love chatting with new friends via blog but never met anyone. Great post!
    http://www.denwrites.com

  6. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 12, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Awwww, sounds like such a wonderful weekend. I mean, I know you were so looking forward to meeting Mandy and if that’s all you got to do, the weekend would be a success. But, it sounds like you got to eat your cake, icing, cherry on top with a side of milkshake to boot. Hooray!

  7. Maddy July 12, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    How fun! I would be a nervous wreck too :) I’ve been dying to meet some of my favorite bloggers in person. They need to organize a meet and greet in NYC!

  8. thejamminjabber July 12, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Sweet Staches, ladies.

  9. Liz July 12, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Rockin’ the mustache! Love it! Also, your hair looks great. :)

  10. Brooke July 12, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I would love to meet some of my blogger friends – glad to hear you had an excellent experience. And I jock your stache.

  11. Erin July 12, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Looks like a wonderful time! I can’t wait until I can see you again. :)

  12. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 12, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Looks so amazing!! I’m glad you had such a wonderful time and I’m both incredibly happy (and jealous) that you got to meet Mandy and Becky ;)

  13. oasis July 12, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    She look great.

  14. nuninka July 12, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    I like this post.Thank you.

  15. Emily Jane July 12, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    What an awesome weekend – looks like so so much fun!!

    I have my first blogger meetup in just a few weeks… I’m nervous but more INCREDIBLY excited :)

    Great pics!

  16. Amy --- Just A Titch July 12, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    I’m SO JEALOUS. I’ve met the DC crew and they’re awesome. I really think there are few things better than taking online friendships offline and finding they’re even better than you could have imagined. Happy for you.

  17. Adam Day July 12, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Sounds fun! And nice staches ha.

    Check Us Out! A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage!
    Road Rage with A & A

  18. thecodger July 12, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Have a good time out there, young people. As long as you don’t disturb any seniors, you’ll be golden.

    The Codger
    http://thecodger.wordpress.com/

  19. The Weddington Adventures July 12, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Seems like you had a great time. Good for you!!!:)))

  20. Elizabeth July 12, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    I love meeting bloggers–it sounds like you had so much fun!

  21. ria July 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    sounds like an amazing time. are we going to get to see the video where you were one of the back up dancers?

  22. JaneCro July 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Love it that you guys had a meetup … :) Sounds like fun!

  23. Mike July 12, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    apparently i’m not cool enough. I’ve never been invited to one of these “outings.”

    are they happening all the time in various metropolitan areas?

  24. The Gates of Lodore July 12, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    There is something called a “blogger meet up”?

    Seriously?

    The things you learn on the internet. Amazing!

  25. Administrator July 12, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Neat…I do visit few blogger meet in our town too and trust me its fun

  26. StageIsSet July 12, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Neat…I do visit few blogger meet in our town too and trust me its fun

  27. katelin July 12, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    aw yay, sounds like it was a great time. love the mustaches and love that you guys rick rolled a bar, amazeballs is definitely the write adjective here.

  28. Evie Garone July 12, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Sounds like fun…I hope I get to meet some of my bloggers friends some day too!!! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!

    evelyngarone.com

  29. Jessica July 12, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Damnit, I’m so jealous. Glad to hear you had fun!

  30. Vodka and Ground Beef July 12, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    You mean bloggers can actually meet each other??! I thought we were more mythical. I love it. Sounds like a blast.

  31. natinanorton July 12, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    Sounds like a fun time was had by all. Hopefully there will be one of these in my future. I’m sure I’ve got a spare mustache lying around here somewhere. :)

    Natina

    http://crosswordcharlie.wordpress.com/

  32. OG July 12, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    I knew I’d hear more about this if I waited for a post. I’m glad you had such a great time!

  33. brondolan July 13, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    hahahahahha

    okeh …. too funny … i love u

    http://brondolan.wordpress.com/

  34. custompaperpoint July 13, 2010 at 4:47 am #

    hehehhehe both are looking male with mustache ;)

  35. newbusiness-solutions July 13, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Love It!!

    Alfaparf

  36. LiLu July 13, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Awwww, I’m glad you liked it!!!! I can’t wait to see you again- SOON!!!!!!!!!

    <3 <3 <3

  37. Ashley July 13, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Meeting bloggers is amazing. I was just saying on Mandy’s blog that I secretly wished we could have magically combined out East Coast, West Coast meetups this weekend. Glad to hear you guys had a great time.

  38. Nora's Storyland July 13, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Cool!
    I didn’t know there where blogging meet- ups?!!
    Sounds so professional…

  39. Rachel July 14, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    It was so great to meet you :). I’m happy you got over those nerves and came inside. I promise we don’t bite :). Hooray for new friends! (Even if I’m not blogging anymore)

  40. jpaulnorton July 14, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    hmmm…some really good bloggers out there.

  41. Megan July 14, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    It sounds like it was amazing! I have yet to meet bloggers, but I’d really like to soon.

  42. smokemachine123 July 16, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    It sounds very good.But when i saw your face 1st i was scared afterwards i will be very much okay!!!!!!!

  43. Suburban Sweetheart July 16, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    The wedding I went to was lovely, but… damn it, stupid wedding.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Usher- There Goes My Baby | Anti Aging Skin Treatment - July 12, 2010

    […] Truly Amazeballs* « Walking with Nora […]

Leave a Reply

