Blushing Nora

14 Jul

I’m still in DC and loving it, well, aside from all the work stuff that I have to do on a daily basis and the fact that I can’t go exploring whenver I want. On the flip side, I’m making some professional strides, learning quite a bit and a super bonus, people watching the conference attendees, many of whom are from all over the world. Which brings me to the time my totally awesome dad embarrassed me big in front of people from my favorite country: Italy.

The men from Italy are some of the finest dressers I’ve ever seen: whether they are in jeans or a suit, they look amazing. I love their food, their wine, their culture, their country, their accents, language and voices. Imagine my delight when by chance, a few Italians attending the conference sat with my dad (aka my boss) and me at lunch earlier this week. (Lunch is served at the conference center in one giant room, about 900 tables seating 10-12 cover run nearly wall to wall.) I don’t speak a lick of Italian but I could listen to the language for hours and hours.

My dad, proud of our Italian heritage, struck up a conversation in his (very) broken Italian in a matter of seconds, explaining where our family is from, what we do at this conference, and other light chatter. Suddenly I hear him tell the gentlemen that I’m his figlia, (translation: daughter) and isn’t she bellissimo, a bella donna? (translation: lovely pretty woman).Within seconds I could feel my face turning a deep shade of scarlett. The table erupted into laughter and “si, si” at which point the Italian to  my left commented on the fact that I was blushing (said first in Italian, then in English), complete with hand gestures complete with rolling laughter from the rest of the table.

This situation reminded me a lot of the time my dad shouted after a (different) Italian guy who was flirting with me to “stay in touch with my daughter!” as said guy walked away. Needless to say I never heard from him.

Anyone else have similar embarrassing parental unit stories?

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift card from CSN stores! Enter by tomorrow at midnight!)

17 Responses to “Blushing Nora”

  1. hannahkaty July 14, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    Don’t ask me why but I absolutely love the name of this post: Blushing Nora. It just rings so well to me.

    And I have had many an embarassing moments with my parents, esp. my mom who is more lively and spontaneous than a teenager ha ha. But now I can thankfully laugh at them.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  2. LiLu July 14, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    We’re on the same page today with embarrassing parent blog stories. Also, the fact that you said “a lick”? Just makes me love you that much more.

  3. Becky July 14, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Maybe if you had gotten the number from the hot diner guy he wouldn’t have had to do that. Ha! :)

  4. mandy July 14, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    I agree with Becky, I was sort of hoping this was a story about the hot owner guy from Furin’s. =)

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 14, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Hahahaha! Awwww that is too funny!

    On a side note, you NEED to go to Italy asap. Seriously! You would obviously love it!

  6. MASHley July 14, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    ash – i think parents consider it part of their job to make us blush now and then. i know mine do. it didn’t help i was so very shy when i was younger. i blushed pretty easily.

  7. Elizabeth July 14, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Dads! My dad used to work at my junior high, so we had lots of embarrassing moments–I can’t recall any right now, so obviously I wasn’t too deeply scarred by them.

  8. rachieannie July 14, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    My story doesn’t involve my father … but it does involve my boss :-)

    We were at a regional conference for our line of work and before the meals there is a time where everyone can “network”. Basically people grab the mike and tell what they have available for sale/trade and interested people get in touch with them. Well, my boss stands up, lists a couple of positions available and ends his spiel with “and we have a secretary who is single”. So they made me stand up and put me up on the big screen so everyone could get a look.

    The rest of the week was filled with “hey, aren’t you that girl?” “yes, yes I am”

    I did blush but I didn’t take it too seriously. At one point a neighboring camp was trying to barter between me and their secretary. One of the funniest points was the next night when my boss stood up again and announced an engagement (two of my coworkers had just gotten engaged). You could see the jaws drop around the room before he finished telling them who it was.

  9. Megan July 14, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I love this! Though it was embarassing, it still sounds like your dad is a great guy! :)

  10. OG July 14, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Luckily for me my parents are much more reserved, although it seems like my aunts and uncles will take any chance they get to market me to available women.

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 14, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    There’s nothing wrong with a strong Italian man who is proud of his daughter! =)

    Reminds me of a time when I worked in a men’s clothing store in a part of Boston that attracted people from all over the world. One day, I was helping a few Spanish men. They spoke perfect English, but every so often would jump into speaking Spanish. Not understanding a lick of Spanish, I could only assume they were talking about me. So, at some point during their time in the store, I said, “I understand Spanish perfectly – and THANK YOU!” Talk about making three men blush. They then confessed what they were saying (in English) and I confessed I don’t know any Spanish. It was hilarious.

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 14, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Omg, that is so funny, Nora. Your dad is so cute/funny. I would have turned bright red as well!

    My dad used to embarass us in our younger years but he doesn’t do that anymore. One time, around Christmas, my sister and I sat in the car in the parking lot of a grocery store while my mom went in to grab a few things. that annoying song came on where the dogs bark “Jingle Bells”. I don’t know how this is possible, but my dad has his window down for some reason? Anyways, he starts barking/singing along to the song. he thinks it’s a hilarious song for some reason. Abby and I were young, so we were SO embarassed and wanted to hide so no one would see us.

    My dad is just sort of quirky like that. And he doesn’t care what people think of him. I wish I had a little bit more of that in me. now that I am older, I love him more for his quirky behavior like that. ;)

  13. barbetti July 14, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Hahaha, your dad is awesome. And as a girl with a lot of Italian heritage as well, I can relate. My mom always told me to marry a dark, tall Italian man. Instead, I married a pale, shorter-than-me redhead.

  14. Ashley July 14, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Ha! I would melt into the floor. But, since it didn’t happen to me, I think it’s adorable. My parents haven’t done anything like that, but when I was in high school, I went to visit family in Alaska and they had some friends who tried to set me up with every boy in the city and they were not quiet about it.

  15. katelin July 14, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    oh my dad has embarrassed me more times than i would like to admit. but woo for good looking italian men, maybe you’ll some without your dad around next time, haha.

  16. Stephany July 14, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    That’s an awesome story. Horrible for you at the time, but still awesome. :)

    I have so many awesome embarrassing Dad stories. He was famous for doing everything he could to embarrass my brother and me. Like singing along to the music at Olive Garden. And pretending he spoke German. And picking me up on the last day of school in 9th grade, grabbing my backpack, and whipping it around his head lasso-style and yelling “Yayyy!”

    Yeah.

  17. Suburban Sweetheart July 16, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    This is maybe one of the only reasons I’m sometime relieved to be fatherless. I have a feeling mind would’ve been as embarrassing as they get.

Leave a Reply

