Poli-Sci Geek Out

20 Jul

So much to see in DC. So little time. Given my geeky political science background I traipsed all over town to see as many monuments and historical sites in just two afternoons: The White House, Washington Monument, Natural History Museum, National Portrait Gallery, Capitol Mall, Capitol Hill, the reflection Pool, WWII Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Library of Congress. Not to mention the countless other buildings I passed like the Dept of Treasury, Executive Building, IMF, World Bank and so much more!). Here are a few of my favorite photos from the trip:

Near the Washington Monument, enjoying the fabulous breeze on the super humid day.

The 4,000 stars at the WWII Memorial. Each star represents 10,000 lost American lives during the war. A somber  yet beautiful part of DC.

The view of the (long) walk alongside the Reflection Pool; at the end is the Lincoln Memorial.

I encountered these young kids as a few times along the walk to the Lincoln Memorial; not older than 16 years old, they were on a mission to educate anyone that would listen about the issue of human trafficking. I was impressed by their ability to speak on the matter, their candidness, and how passionate they were about the subject. I promised them I’d give them a shout out on my blog and you would have thought I gave them $1,000 each. Youth in action is a great thing.

Then on to one of my favorite places: The Library of Congress!

The entire building is decorated this ornately; it looks like a Cathedral and a bookstore merged, had a baby, and the end result is this Library.

(My new favorite quote, pictured above: “The true university of these days is a collection of books.”)

Any particular city that you would totally geek out in if you could visit?

(Congrats to Megan from Somewhat Voluble for winning the CSN Stores Gift card from last week’s giveaway!  Check back in a few weeks for yet another awesome, organic, giveaway!)

15 Responses to “Poli-Sci Geek Out”

  1. Megan July 20, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    I went to Washington D.C. over ten years ago, and that’s the only time I’ve been. I’d love to go back, though!

    I love all of the memorials of fallen soldiers. They’re sad, but an amazing tribute to those who have fought for our country.

    I’m excited I won! Do I need to email you about it or will CSN contact me?

  2. Becky July 20, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Yay – so glad you made it to all these monuments! I love love love historical stuff – my best friend and I do that each year on our birthdays because we think no one really appreciates it like we do!

  3. mandy July 20, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    The monuments are definitely one of the best parts about DC! I love them in the spring when the cherry blossoms are out. LOVE the Library of Congress. During my internship I had the opportunity to research there and it was amazing. I had so much fun riding the little metro that connects all the house & senate buildings to the Captiol and the Library of Congress. You never really knew who you were going to run into.

  4. Maddy July 20, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    That’s awesome!! I was a poli-science major in college, but then switched out of it my sophmore year…you poli-sci folks are too smart for me ;o) But I would totally geek out in DC too! There’s so much history there, how couldn’t you!?

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 20, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Very cool and fun!

    I would totally geek out in Canada’s capital city – Ottawa!! I hope I get my butt out east and visit there one day!

  6. Jennifer July 20, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I’ve never been to D.C. but I would be a total geek if I went because of my love for history! I tried to live vicariously through your post pics! Looks like it was fun!

  7. pinkie July 20, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    I need to visit D.C. It’s only 3 or so hours away from me. I haven’t gone since I was a kid and I think I would appreciate it more now. Glad you had a good time!

  8. MASHley July 20, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    ash – never been to DC but would love to go one day. the pool with the stars is beautiful. looks like you’re having a great time :)

  9. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 20, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Awww, your trip reminds me how it’s been so long since I last visited DC … I used to make annual pilgrimages there to visit my grandparents.

    When I travel overseas, namely Europe, I am always so amazed at the history and architecture. One of my favorite cities: Barcelona.

  10. Kyla Roma July 20, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    lol You’re SO CUTE it hurts. Love this! I wish we could have had a poli-sci geek out together :)

  11. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 20, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Great photos! I would love to visit DC – I am pretty sure I am going next spring, hopefully when the cherry blossoms are in their peak season. Looks awesome!

    I totally geek out about Paris. I am obsessed with all things Parisian, so I am in my own little heaven when I am there. :)

  12. Jessica July 20, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Oh my gosh I want to go back to DC now bad! And I think we need to go together because we can be SUPER GEEKS!

  13. Amanda July 20, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    For geeking out? Definitely DC! I’d love to go back to London again too…

  14. OG July 21, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I’m always impressed by kids who are passionate about those kinds of things too – it gives me hope .

  15. Erin B. Inspired August 2, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    I’ve been to DC twice and I geeked out both times. I can’t wait to go now that I’m older and geek out some more. :)

Leave a Reply

