Senioritis

21 Jul

Seinioritis: I have it, in the worst way.

I don’t care that I’ll be done by October 15th, or that I have only a total of 11 weeks of class between now and then. Oh no, instead, I come up with every possible way to procrastinate, such as:

1. Browsing the stream-able movies on Netflix, reordering my queue and finding new TV shows to be addicted to.

2. Real Estate Classifieds. There’s nothing like dreaming about what color I’ll paint the living room, hosting dinner parties, and sitting on my patio drinking wine with Jack by my feet.

3. Naps. It’s amazing how “tired” I am when I have schoolwork to do.

4. Cleaning which probably makes me weird but I am convinced I can think better when I have fresh sheets, a dust-free and newly feng shui-ed room.

5. Mentally planning trips to Europe, week long beach vacations, and what it would be like to own a house in the Hamptons.

6. Sitting poolside, letting my mind go blank and enjoying the sweet summer nights.

7. Dreaming of all the things I’ll do when I’m done with school: Travel. Volunteer. Exercise More. Worry Less. Sleep in on a Saturday. More girls’ nights, baking and time with family.

Are you a procrastinator? What’s your favorite way to put off the inevitable?

20 Responses to “Senioritis”

  1. mandy July 21, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    I could write a book on procrastination (tomorrow). I have been a procrastinator since childhood and I’ve never really grown out of it. I bake, read, write long emails to friends, snailmail letters, decide that my dog has to have a bath right that second, go to the store, basically anything to put off the task at hand I don’t want to do.

    Hang in there, Friend. The next 11 weeks will pass quickly and you’ll be done!

  2. Nicole @ LaughOutLoud July 21, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    OH my god yes! I think I have had Senioritis since I was a Senior in High School and I’m 26! haha. I have a WHOLE year before I graduate in August 2011, and I am freaking out already. I just want to be done! (and to think, I’m just going for my Masters after that.. )

    I like the idea of daydreaming about the Hamptons – I may have to try that one while I am supposed to be doing my research project later today ;) hehe

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 21, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    I hear ya! I was right there this last spring. Just keep chugging through – even though you FEEL like you are being totally unproductive and not getting anything done you are likely getting more done than you think. October 15 will be here before you know it!

  4. jnyfritz July 21, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Oh i am totally there with you, i put the PRO in procrastinator! Paper due tomorrow? the dog NEEDS a bath rightnow! power point presentation, no problem, right after i read all of the pioneer womens archives… oh nora i totally feel your pain! (ps, i have until december…)

  5. Emily Jane July 21, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I’m definitely a procrastinator! My house is never as clean as when I have a deadline looming :)

  6. Megan July 21, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    I think I have school-itis. For the first month or two of the semester, I’m okay … but after that, I’m just over it, and I’ll do ANYTHING else.

  7. Kyla Roma July 21, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    I’m terrible for that too! My biggest problem is cruising my google reader, & cleaning is a big one for me too. Anything that gets between me and the boring! :)

  8. Maddy July 21, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I know what you mean! I think we all go through that “I don’t give crap anymore” phase! I’m not much of a procratinator. In fact, I’m a total Type A freak, an “everything must be done and in order right this second” kind of girl!

    BTW- Definitely on NYC in the winter!! Just let me know!! It would be soo amazing to meet you in person and have an excuse to hit up the karaoke bars, not that I ever need an excuse ;o)

  9. Amanda July 21, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    I am the WORST procrastinator. Law school has just refined it into an art. I’ve had senioritis since second semester first year, ha! The sad thing is that I can point to a handful of situations where if I had actually overcome my procrastination I would have gotten different grades (the ones I got weren’t horrible, but *soclose* to being really good)…but I didn’t. I just sat on my couch some more :)

  10. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 21, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    My guess is 90% of your readership using blog reading as a form of procrastination. Just saying… =)

  11. Veronica July 21, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    As I type this I have a paper due in about three week, for which I have done ZERO research for. :)

    I’m with Kyla, I browse over my Google Reader a lot. Right now I’m working on my own blog, which is very productive in my opinion, but I’m not sure my professors would agree.

    Oh and Hampton’s dreaming is a daily for me as well.

    xo. @luvandluxe

  12. Ally July 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Yep. All these methods sound very familiar! Futzing around on the computer is a standing fav. Also, I am convinced that I have to have a tidy desk first.

    I have been a procrastinator forever, but I do pull through when I get down to the wire.

  13. OG July 21, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I am mostly on top of my game when it comes to scheduling. I usually leave travel plans up to the last minute, which can cause some issues. Also, I feel I work better under pressure when it comes to homework :)

  14. Ashley July 21, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    My favorite means of procrastination are blogging and cleaning. They both feel productive, even though I’m doing them avoid whatever I should be doing. If I can blog introspectively about the fact that I’m procrastinating, then I feel even more productive. I always know I’ll get done what I have to, so procrastinating is really just a means for torturing myself as long as possible.

  15. AshleyD July 21, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Everything is #7 sounds absolutely delightful. I hope you can finish the next 11 weeks as painlessly as possible.

  16. clairesuzanne July 21, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    This is classic. I too make friends with my vacuum cleaner and washing machine when it comes time to get stuff done. That freshly made bed will ABSOLUTELY help me finish this essay/story/project/way-over-due-thing.

  17. Mel July 21, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    my senioritis has waned a tad, thanks to the fact that my graduation has been delayed. and i’m ok with that…I’m enjoying my last summer off!

  18. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 22, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    I had the worst case of senioritis at the end of my MBA program. I just didn’t care and I HATED one of my classes that I took at the end of the program, which did not help at all!

    I procrastinate on things to this day. Like this week, I should have spent the end of the day picking up around my condo so it’s not a disaster when my mom comes on Sunday. Instead I read blogs. Which is fun, but I am goign to really regret not using the time to clean up when my mom walks into my condo on Sunday…

  19. Stephany July 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    I go through senioritis just about every Saturday when I have loads of homework to do. Who wants to do HOMEWORK on a Saturday? So, I resort to blogging & cleaning, which is nice. Not productive, but nice. ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a meme… « Jens World - July 21, 2010

    […] Nora because she makes me […]

Leave a Reply

