Two is Better than One

22 Jul

Today’s post is part of yet another wonderful collaborative “Bloggers Unite” effort; it’s all for the lovely, fabulous, beautiful, about-to-be-a-mom, Erin. If you’ve never met Erin,  you’re missing out. I suggest you take a trip to meet her immediately.

If you weren’t already aware, Erin is having twins (soon!) and her baby shower is tonight; since most of us can’t be there in person (insert sadface here), the equally as lovely Renee suggested that we share a vlog on our blogs to commerate her special day, talking about our favorite things that come in pairs.*

So, Erin, without any more jibber-jabber, this one’s for you. (I’m sorry it’s so short but I started to get all emotional at the end and didn’t want to cry on camera. I wish there was a more eloquent way to say this but I’m so freakin’ excited and happy for you, Ted and what’s going to be your family!)

I rummaged around my head trying to come up with some great words of wisdom as you embark on your journey as a mom, but not being one, I don’t have much. Fortunately I stumbled (or Googled, either way, right!?) upon this poem recently which made me think not only of my mom but also what I have no doubt in my mind you’ll be over the coming years.

What is a Mother?
by Unknown

A mother can be almost any size or any age, but she won’t admit to anything over thirty. A mother has soft hands and smells good. A mother likes new dresses, music, a clean house, her children’s kisses, an automatic washer and Daddy.

A mother doesn’t like having her children sick, muddy feet, temper tantrums, loud noise or bad report cards. A mother can read a thermometer (much to the amazement of Daddy) and like magic, can kiss a hurt away.

A mother can bake good cakes and pies but likes to see her children eat vegetables. A mother can stuff a fat baby into a snowsuit in seconds and can kiss sad little faces and make them smile.

A mother is underpaid, has long hours and gets very little rest. She worries too much about her children but she says she doesn’t mind at all. And no matter how old her children are, she still likes to think of them as her little babies.

She is the guardian angel of the family, the queen, the tender hand of love. A mother is the best friend anyone ever had. A mother is love.

Wishing you, Ted and The Girls nothing but the happiest of days, fullest of hearts, and scrapbooks filled with memories and soul-warming moments. Enjoy your Baby Shower Day!

 

* This is my first Vlog so apologies for the severe lack of technically savvy-ness!

 

19 Responses to “Two is Better than One”

  1. Kyla Roma July 22, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Nora you are SO cute, my video was really emotional too! lol I sent Erin the link, and I’m really really really excited to meet her girls. Love all the love :)

  2. Becky July 22, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    So sweet!!!!! Your vlog was great and I love that poem! BIG congratulations to Erin!

  3. OurLittleAshley July 22, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    Oh man, you are adorable!

    Ah. Too cute.

    I miss you.

  4. mandy July 22, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    You are awesome! What a great vlog, you’re such an awesome friend.

    (You’re just now reading the Harry Potter series? Really?)

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 22, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Omg I love your voice – it suits you PERFECTLY and is *kind of* how I’d imagined it would be :)

    This is a great video and I love your favourite pairs – especially the owl that hoots twice :) Also, that poem is wonderful!

  6. Liz July 22, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Adorable! You should do more vlogs. You’re GREAT at it!

  7. Mel July 22, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Aw, super cute! :) I love the Harry Potter Weasley twins as well. :)

  8. Erin July 22, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Awwww, I love you and I miss you! I’m so glad I got to see your face today. :)

    Also…so glad you are reading HP. Best books ever!

  9. bellerenee July 22, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Oh man, you got ME all emotional, too!!

  10. Tabitha July 22, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    What a great poem, and a REALLY great way to start off your new obsession with vlogging… (Wait, what? You mean you’re not going to start vlogging on a weekly basis? Nooooo!) But seriously, seeing you in action made me all the more excited to meet you in real life one day.

    And hooray for another great bloggers-unite-a-thon! :-)

  11. sarahdotcom July 22, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    You are SO LOVELY.

  12. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 22, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    You’re such a sweet friend. What a great vlog … I’m sure Erin is feeling very loved today!

  13. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 22, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Aw, this is too sweet! And it was fun to see your vlog!! I am such a chicken when it comes to videos because I DESPISE the sound of my voice! You look/sound so cute! What a sweet thing to do.

    And yea – you are starting the HP series! I hope you love it as much as I did.

    Congrats to Erin! How exciting!

  14. Emily Jane July 22, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    This was adorable! I loved your vlog :) So happy for Erin and Ted!!

  15. Lauren from Texas July 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    You’re so cute & sweet! Happy baby shower to Erin!

  16. Megan July 23, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    I’m loving these videos for Erin! She’s so lucky to have all of you.

    You should make vlogs more often!

  17. sarah marie p July 23, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    This was so sweet — and you are so adorable!

  18. Veronica July 24, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    You are so cute!! I too “imaged” your voice to be like this. =)

    Congratulations to Erin!

    xo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Erin’s Virtual Baby Shower! « Belle Renee - July 22, 2010

    […] Nora | Two is Better Than One […]

Leave a Reply

