30 Before 30 (Part Three)

23 Jul

The final installment is here! It’s been tough to come up with 30 things (well, things that are actually feasible and remotely attainable) for this little project but all the items have some sort of special meaning or have been on the ever-growing “to do list.”

If you’re interested or you missed the other installments, you can view them here. I’ll try to give periodic updates on how the list is progressing; I have started the Harry Potter series (finally, I know) and am loving the first book so far. Baby steps, people.

1. Learn how to knit; make myself a blanket. I’ve had knitting needles and yarn for almost a year now and I haven’t touched them which is kind of pathetic. I am big into blankets: reading under blankets, snuggling up in one for a mid-day nap, and of course using them for the requisite by-the-fire-in-the-winter nights, so it’s only natural that I’d want to knit a blanket.

2. Finish the cross-stitch baby blanket that I started… five years ago. Yes, I cross-stitch. No, I’m not an 80 year old woman. I love being able to see instant results on the project. At this rate I’ll have it finished before I have a kid of my own. Ideally I’ll finish it and be able to gift it to a family member.

3. Read all of the books that I own today. There’s a lot of them but I’ve made a list so I know what I have, know what I need to read. I figure once grad school is over it should be no problem.

4. Get back to my goal weight and stay there. (As of this post, I’m about 6 pounds away from my goal weight.)

5. Take one each of the following classes: Dance Class, Cooking Class, Baking Class, Writing class.

6. Meet at least 15 bloggers I haven’t met before. I’m thinking a road trip or a series of small trips over the next few years. Also BloggersInIndy and Vegas of course!

7. Buy all Christmas presents for friends and family from only local companies and/or Etsy. There are so many adorable shops around town with unique designs from local designers and Etsy, well, I love everything on Etsy. I’m a big fan of supporting local/independent companies, as is my family, so it just makes sense that I do this, finally.

8. Get involved in an election. Any of the following would count: Campaigning, making phone calls, working the polls, etc.

9. Treat myself to a weekend at a spa. I’ve always dreamed about a weekend in the mountains at some sort of secluded spa with just me, a comfy bed, my thoughts, and a stack of journals.

10. Start my own charity. I have a few ideas (Darling and I have been plotting the beginning of one for a few years now).

19 Responses to “30 Before 30 (Part Three)”

  1. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 23, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    I love how balanced your list is … some selfish wants, some giving to others. One of the things I hate about store-bought blankets is that they’re usually entirely too small to cuddle under. I bet it’ll be nice to knit your own, so you can determine the size!

  2. Kyla Roma July 23, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    I think you could knock a number of these off your list all at once if you like. We could have a spa weekend that kicks off to a road trip to meet bloggers and we trade off driving while the other person knits, crochets or makes calls to potential charity donors. Hm? ;)

  3. jen July 23, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    you just reminded me that I have a cross stitch project that has been unfinished for five years (or more…) I think this is a great list of accomplishments!!

  4. hamburg hotel July 23, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    I am really grateful to have the information from this blog. I liked the blog as it has been written,the information i got from here. This is a good information i got from here. I really liked it and this information is worth remembering.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 23, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Oh a spa weekend is a MUST. My mom and I did that once and it was the most amazing 2 days of my life. Seriously.

    I want to buy most of my Christmas presents from Etsy this year too!

  6. mandy July 23, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    Great list, Friend. I love little roadtrips to meet up with blog friends here and there along the way. Definitely count me in for Indy next year! I think starting a charity would be amazing, what a great thing for you and your mom to do together. I have knitting needles and yarn but other than knitting beer cozies in college, never really got the hang of it.

  7. Liz July 23, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I think just about all of these things are doable. And hey, when you finish the Harry Potter series, maybe you’ll want to go with me to Orlando and see the HP Wizarding World or whatever it’s called.

  8. Becky July 23, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Love your list! And a lot of these you can get started on this year – which means crossing things off the list sooner :)

  9. clairesuzanne July 23, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Maybe I should start cross-stitching. I also appreciate seeing instant results.

    As for blog trips, Canada is a lovely place!

  10. Megan July 23, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    I’ve never been to a spa, so this is something I’d love to do as well.

    Annnnd you can add me as one of the bloggers you need to meet. Seriously, if you’re ever in east TN! ;)

  11. Ally July 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Great list. I’m pretty sure I’ve had #3 on my list since I was fourteen or so. I am the worst about reading all the books I own!

  12. Amanda July 23, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I just was thinking that I need to read all the books I *already* own! If any of those road trips bring you to northern california you better call me! :)

  13. MASHley July 23, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    ash – i really need to adopt your #3. there’s stuff i buy and then never get a chance to read. either that or decide i don’t like it halfway through. time to either read them or donate them to the local library.

  14. Veronica July 24, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    I love this installment. Spa days (and weekends) are so amazing. I usually like to go alone, that way I get the real “relaxing” experience. I tried to go with my husband once and it was so distracting. ;)

    For me, sewing classes are a must. My mother is a custom drapery designer, and has 4 industrial machines in her workshop… and can you believe I don’t know how to sew?! So going to learn before I’m 30.

  15. Brittney July 24, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Ohhhhhh… shopping on Etsy. THAT is a precious idea.. that I shall steal.

    Also, I know it mentions roadtrips to meet wonderful bloggers, but I am thinking I need my own bullet point that reads, “Drive to Texas. Meet Brittney. Bake unethical amounts of pudding cookies before napping.”

    Just sayin’

  16. sleepyjane July 25, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    I think I should be one of the bloggers you have to meet. Yes. You can come to South Africa to visit and I’ll show what a real braai looks like (bbq) and take you to play with lion cubs. YES! lol

  17. Jessica July 25, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    I would LOVE to do Bloggers in Indy next year, hopefully I get an invite :) And learning to knit isn’t too difficult. Trust me, if I can do it, you can :)

  18. Elizabeth July 27, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    You just make the best lists and goals.

    I think I bought 80% of last year’s gifts on Etsy–it’s become my default! Everything is adorably prewrapped, which wins in my book.

    And do get involved in a campaign! I made calls for Obama on election day and the energy in the room was simply electric. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

  19. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 27, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Great list! I can totally help with the knitting goal. I love to knit! Maybe I shoudl come to St Louis some weekend and we can have a knitting/chick flick marathon. :)

Leave a Reply

