Open Letters: HP, Storks, (M)TV and more

26 Jul

Dear Harry Potter Series,

I *finally* get what all the hype was about. The books are imaginative,  the writing creative but not too flowery, and the plot is definitely a page turner. I’m enjoying the first book and look forward to the others.

Yours in Reading,
Nora

******************

Attn: Stork
From: Nora

I love that so many of my friends are having babies (I know a total of 15 people pregnant right now), but could you try to space it out a little bit more? I’m all for baby showers but about half these showers are in the next few months and I’m not sure my checkbook can handle it.

******************

Yo, weekends. I don’t know what the deal is. I get up early and stay up late so that I can enjoy and still you fly by. I don’t get it. Do what you can to slow the heck down in the future.

*****************

Sunday Night TV,

I’m not sure why you decided it was necessary to schedule my two favorite shows at the same time. You know this girl doesn’t have DVR and thus I have to decide each week which show to watch. I’m hopelessly behind on one of them and would appreciate it if going forward you could be more schedule-friendly for me.

Sincerely,
Already Over Scheduled Nora

******************

To My Neighbors,

Would it be possible for you to ask your lawn service dudes to not come at 7am on a Saturday morning? Even if some of us are up and about, we’d rather not have the background to our breakfast be the sound of mowers. It would also be awesome if you could ask your lawn service dudes to refrain from blocking the entire road when they park.

With Respect,
The Girl who likes peace and quiet on Saturday Morning

******************

MTV:
You made a big, big mistake last week.
You know what I’m talking about.
I kind of hate you right now.
– Definitely no longer a fan

******************

Summer Nights,

There is sometimes nothing sweeter than sitting poolside, an ice cold beer in my hands, Jack at my feet, my family around me, just talking, laughing, enjoying. Thanks for extending your daylight hours for us and giving us these opportunities.

With Great Appreciation,
Nora

******************

Do you have any letters you’d like to write today?

27 Responses to “Open Letters: HP, Storks, (M)TV and more”

  1. Kyla Roma July 26, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    I think that all of these are bang on, especially summer nights & MTV :)

  2. Megan July 26, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    I could definitely write that same letter to MTV.

    July,

    Whoa–where’d you go?!

    -Not Quite Ready For August

  3. jen July 26, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    Dear Nora,
    i LOVE that you are reading the Harry Potter Series and let me tell you, the books get better and better!
    jen
    p.s if you come across things that disturb you, i totally understand, just remember it is fiction!

  4. mandy July 26, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    I think you said it all quite perfectly!

    Dear Universe,
    Thanks for letting me hit all the green lights on the way to work this morning. Let’s make this week a good one, ok?
    Respectfully,
    The Girl Who Needs Some Good Things To Come Her Way

  5. Becky July 26, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    The HP books only get better! (The Weasley twins are my favorite!) And I would suggest hulu for the show you can’t watch Sunday evenings – they carry a lot of stuff. (And you should be able to watch it the next day).

  6. Becky July 26, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Oh! And a letter!

    Dear Nora,

    Thanks for the adorably awesome card I recieved in the mail. It made my weekend.

    Love,
    B

  7. Erin July 26, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Ohhh, if you like the first HP book, you are in for a treat. They just get better!

    Here’s my letter:

    Dear current OB,

    I’ll be coming by to pick up my prenatal records because I’m quitting you. You are mean and you suck. I’m taking my babies elsewhere.

    Love,
    Erin & the girls

  8. MASHley July 26, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    dear nora,

    these were really fun letters. i haven’t written a letters post in awhile and now i just might have to do one in the near future.

    also harry potter only gets better, and maybe we should start a petition for the weekend. think it’d make any difference?

    blog on,
    ashley

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 26, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    I agree with Becky – the HP books are only going to get better. The 4th book is my FAVOURITE out of ALL the books!!

    Mowing at 7 am on a Saturday? That’s disgusting!

  10. hannahkaty July 26, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Dear Hannah:

    Please stop doubting yourself so much. I am really getting tired of it.

    Love.
    Hannah

    (Needed that)

    Did MTV do something? Am I behind on the times?

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  11. rachel July 26, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    confession: i’ve never read harry potter or seen the movies. ha! just can’t do it.

    also, i hate MTV. like, a lot. ughhhh.

  12. Maddy July 26, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Dear Nora…

    Forget the baby showers, splurge on a DVR subscription! It’s probably $10 a month, but it’s a heck of a lot more entertaining than measuring baby bumps with toilet paper or guessing “dirty” chocolate diapers.

    Love,
    The girl who will choke anyone that gets near her DVR ;o)

  13. Veronica July 26, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Must re-read the HP series now. Thanks Nora! Oh and as for lawn’s being mowed in the wee hours… um yeah… so not cool. The apartment complex where the hubs and I live are OCD about the lawn maintenance (for which I am truly thankful for), but it bothers me that the lawn co. comes so early in the mornings. Blah!

    Great letters chica. :)

  14. RootsAndRings July 26, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    As a preggo, here’s some advice. If you can’t afford a gift, go cheap and thoughtful. Buy your favorite children’s book and write a note to the baby in the front cover. Then throw in a pack of diapers or wipes. They’ll love it, I swear!

  15. nicole July 26, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    dear monday,

    why?

    -nicole

  16. OurLittleAshley July 26, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Dear Nora,

    You are insanely sweet and caring and that’s OBVIOUSLY why you have so many friends. Also, you are cute.

    Wishing You Lived Closer,
    Ashley

    Dear People Coming to my Shower,

    Feel free to bypass the onsies and get me a Starbucks gift card. Let’s be honest.

    Love,
    A mom-to-be who doesn’t deal well with sleep deprivation.

    Dear Erin,

    I want a new mattress!

    Counting Sheep,
    Ashley

  17. Windsor Grace July 26, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Dude, what happened with MTV?

    And,

    Dear Nora,
    You’re an amazing friend and I really enjoyed this post.
    Hearts,
    Windsor

  18. Taylor July 26, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Haha, I think the entire blogging world is anti-MTV right now. I’m still upset about that.

    And seriously, Harry Potter is probably the greatest thing I’ve ever read, ever.

  19. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 26, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Attn: Nora
    From: Nilsa

    Since it looks like a certain someone’s shower will be held during a weekend when you’re otherwise occupied with a certain someone else’s wedding, I give you a hall pass on buying the first certain someone a gift. Seriously. And my hall passes are accepted around the nation!

  20. clairesuzanne July 26, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Dear Upcoming Week,
    Can you please go by quickly so I can get to the part where I’m sitting on a dock sipping beer in northern Michigan.

    Respectfully Yours,
    Claire

  21. Jessica July 26, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Really? The HP books are that good? Hmm, maybe I do have to read them. I’m such a late adapter.

  22. OG July 26, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    And I officially need a beer. Thanks

  23. Elizabeth July 27, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    You’re spot on with all of these! Baby showers do lean toward ridiculous sometimes, and I don’t even know if we’ll have one due to family politics (I think I’m okay with that!).

    Anyhow.

    Dear headache,
    It’s time to go. Really. I’ve told you this before, but I still can’t take anything for you, so scram!
    No respect here,
    Elizabeth

  24. Mel July 27, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    What took you so long to jump on the HP books my dear!? :)

  25. Ashley July 27, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Can’t believe you’re just reading the HP books! It’s Harry’s Birthday on Saturday, by the way. I may or may not be toasting him.

  26. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 27, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Ha! Love these! i am so glad you are reading HP. I never thought I would like it but i loved them. I would like to go back and re-read them. So much to read, so little time.

    Here’s my letters:

    Dear Self,

    You do not need to say yes to every social engagement. In fact, learn how to say no. You are running yourself into the ground.

    Signed,

    Exhausted me

    Dear Sleep,

    Why are you so ellusive these days? I need you so so so badly.

    Signed, again,

    Exhausted me

  27. E.P. August 7, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    Hooray on the HP letter! I’m glad you are enjoying them!

    And I second the letter to weekends. Mine have been flying by, and I just want time to go a little more slowly so I can get more things done and relax more. … Is it too much to ask?

Leave a Reply

