Sweet Summer Nights & Eco Smart All Natural Insect Repellent

28 Jul

While I was in DC, I was “Freshly Pressed,” which was (to me) kind of a big deal and the result? EcoSmart approached me asking if I’d be interested in reviewing (and giving away! Check back next week!) their all natural insect repellent.

This was kind of a no-brainer for me for several reasons:

1. My family and I are working towards being more earth-friendly and body-friendly (meaning, we are trying to avoid the number of chemicals and junk we ingest in our food, put on our bodies, use around the house and purchase).

2. I spend a lot of my time poolside during the summer. See Exhibit A:

While I live in suburbia, we have a bit of land in our backyard (a mini-bamboo forest, a Mother-Nature-Made stream, and plenty of wildlife such as rabbits, deer, possums, chipmunks, moles) so insects are a-plenty especially just at twilight.

So, Sunday, the family and I tested out the organic mosquito repellent, which is arguably what bothers us the most poolside. The mosquito repellent is light, not oily, has a slight scent (but not one of those obnoxious powdery smelling scents) and it worked! The bugs did come up a little closer than they normally would but as soon as they got a whiff of the repellent, they did an about face and flew away. The entire time I was outside (about four hours), I was bit only once which is a huge deal considering the bugs usually chew me up. I also had the opportunity to try the Flying Insect Killer (moths just love to fly at the lights around the house and worm their way into the house), and it works quickly. For some reason I feel better killing the insects knowing that it’s an all-natural product rather than a chemical one.

We have a little “kit” that we take when we go outside: candles, outdoor speakers, toys for the dogs, towels and we’ve added to it the EcoSmart insect repellent. I’m excited that we can enjoy the sweet summer nights full of swimming, conversation and relaxation without having to worry about mosquito bites thanks to a chemical-free product which is safe for household use, children and pets.

What’s your favorite thing to do on a Summer Night?

Check back next week for an EcoSmart Patio Bundle Giveaway!

FTC Disclosure: I was not monetarily compensated for this review; EcoSmart sent me a Patio Bundle for the purposes of product review. All opinions are my own.

17 Responses to “Sweet Summer Nights & Eco Smart All Natural Insect Repellent”

  1. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks July 28, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    When I spent summers camping outside with no escape, we always took a daily dose of Vitamin B12 … and then used insect repellent with deet, which I’m pretty sure kills small animals and babies. Nowadays, I don’t spend quite as much non-stop time outdoors, but I definitely appreciate a product that’s kind to the earth. Thanks for the review!!

  2. Megan July 28, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    I know exactly how you feel! My husband’s family has a ton of land (our house and my husband’s parents’ house is on it … so we live VERY close to each other), and his paren’ts have a pool in their backyard. Mosquitos are HORRIBLE around pools, so it can be quite annoying. I always hate the smell of insect repellants, so this would be nice to try!

  3. Kyla Roma July 28, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Mosquitoes are a big problem up here – I usually burn coils before we have guests over or hang out on the patio ourselves, just to be safe!

    My favourite thing to do on a summer night is read on the deck, and have little candles all around. It’s just kind of dreamy :)

  4. Becky July 28, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    “For some reason I feel better killing the insects knowing that it’s an all-natural product rather than a chemical one.” HA!

  5. mandy July 28, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    My favorite way to spend a summer evening is sitting on the deck with family/friends or swinging on the swing by our pond reading. We have plenty of little wildlife and bugs. I’ll definitely have to check this out.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 28, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Hahahahaha. I’m sorry, I just love that you said you like killing them better with an all-natural repellent. That’s so funny!!

    I WISH I had a pool still. Sigh. We had one when I was a kid and it was the best thing ever in the summer!

    I *try* to unwind at night so I like to sit outside and read my book or maybe have a glass of wine on summer nights!

  7. Emily Jane July 28, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Mosquitoes are a huge problem here! I don’t know if it’s something about being a foreigner and not having grown up with exposure to them but I get bitten to bits and they swell up like welts and I basically have to scratch them ’til they BLEED so I can pour ammonia onto them so it stings like heck. Because stinging > itching. I know, there’s something wrong with me :)

  8. Maddy July 28, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!! I’ve always wanted to know how you make it on the front page ;o) That’s awesome! We have mosquitos here too, but I’ve rarely been spending time outdoors, especially with the crazy humidity we’ve been experiencing!

  9. Manderz July 28, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I’ll have to try and get my hands on some of that repellent. My new favorite thing to do on a summer night (or day!) – lay in the hammock I bought Jason for his birthday!

  10. Kapachino July 28, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Summer nights down here are like stepping outside into a hot bath. So unless I’m camping, I usually spend them indoors. :) But I love being outside when I can, so I’m glad to know that the all-natural stuff works!

  11. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 28, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I really wish I could sit at that patio table in your back yard! Looks like a lovely haven for you!

    My fave thing to do on a summer evening is eat dinner outside. Whether it’s on a friend’s patio or at a restaurant, nothign compares to eating outdoors (assumign the bugs aren’t bad & bothering me)!

  12. Veronica July 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I’m going to send you a picture of my porch, it is like bug city out there. The apartment complex is so good with routine pressure washing and pest control, but still. Worst yet, I live on the first floor so it adds to the pest control saga.

    I’m with Kapachino, I love me some sunshine, but not from my porch. The husband and I usually head off to Daytona, Cocoa, or Clearwater for some sand and sun.

  13. katelin July 28, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    after my 13 bug bites in columbus i’m willing to try any sort of bug repellent to keep the mosquitoes away!!

  14. OG July 28, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    I’m all about sitting on the back lanai or porch (or whatever you want to call it) with a beer in my hand, talking with my friends. If you throw in a grill I’m even happier. Being from Texas and now in Florida, I know a thing or two about mosquitoes…absolutely no fun.

  15. MASHley July 28, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    ash – grrrrrr mosquitoes. there are EVERYWHERE in houston right now. i’m pretty sure i got at least 3 bites in the short period of time i was outside today.

    my favorite thing to do on a summer night is anything that involves family or friends. whether that is sitting on the patio talking or curling up with a movie.

  16. Ally July 29, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    My favorite thing to do on a summer night is to hang out on the porch and have ice cream sandwiches or some such summer treat. But, oh, the mosquito bites that result!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Giveaway: All Natural Bug Spray « Walking with Nora - August 5, 2010

    […] Nora in Blog Giveaway Tags: all natural bug spray, EcoSmart, giveaway Remember my review of ECOSmart’s all natural insect repellent and how much I love the all natural bug spray? […]

Leave a Reply

