Tidbit Thursday: The Nora Edition

29 Jul

I don’t often do these kinds of posts, but the fabulous Jen tagged me because I “make her laugh,”  and I think I have some new readers (*hi new readers!*) so here we go:

 1. If you could spend the rest of your life doing only one thing, what would it be?

Only *one* thing? That’s not a tough question or anything. My first instinct is to say be a beach bum who does nothing but read, relax and swim but between oil spills, hurricanes and skin cancer, I suppose that’s a bad idea. I guess I’d have to say travel (with unlimited funds, a fantastic camera, and a great travel buddy). There are so many places I’m just dying to vist:  Prince Edward Island, Alaska, Italy, France, Greece, The Netherlands, Ireland, Hawaii, Mexico, and that’s just on the short list.

2. What’s the best thing you can bake/cook?

Based upon the reviews that I receive, I make a mean homemade brownie, amazing oatmeal carmelitas, and marble cake (with chocolate icing, of course). I’m always up for a challenge in the kitchen, but my top three favorites are chipotle chicken with risotto, lasagna roll-ups, and my baked mostaccioli.

 3.What household chore is your least favorite?

Well, I’m a little bit different in that I really love to clean, but my least favorite chore as silly as it is: taking out the trash. I think it’s the smell (especially in the summer) of the outdoor trash cans. Nothing grosses me out more.

 4.If you could bring three things to a deserted island, what would they be?

Jack. My book collection. Sunscreen!

5.What’s the next big thing that you are thinking about splurging on?

Short-term: iPhone or week-long trip to someplace warm and pretty as a graduation present to myself. Long-term: my own townhome/condo!

6.What would you do if you won the lottery and you only had one day to spend your winnings?

See question number one: buy as many plane tickets as possible, donate money to charity, buy a house, and adopt a whole bunch of dogs from a rescue shelter.

7.Post a current photo. If you wish to remain elusive, an abstract or close up will do just fine.

This is me modeling my new hat, which I love, my new dress (which you can’t see!) and my wavy hair which comes out to play in the crazy STL humidity. It was late at night, I’d had a few drinks so the photo is self-explanatory.

8.If you could have any pet ever, what/who would it be?

Jack. Duh.

17 Responses to “Tidbit Thursday: The Nora Edition”

  1. mandy July 29, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I would love to visit Prince Edward Island too. Its been on my list since I was a kid and fell in love with the Anne of Green Gables books. Please send me the recipe for the chipotle chicken with risoto, it sounds delicious.

  2. AshleyD July 29, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Ditto to everything Mandy just said!

    And when you win the lottery, can I tag along on all your travelling adventures, please. :)

  3. Ally July 29, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Yes, yes, yes on your travel list. I want to go to every one of those places!

    And I hate taking out the trash too. Blech.

  4. Maddy July 29, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I’m so woth you on #1!! Now, if I could just bring my camera while traveling, I would be in HEAVEN!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 29, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I for one find that picture amazing!! Haha

    You absolutely SHOULD splurge on a week-long trip somewhere nice for graduating!! Somewhere that you can lay on the beach, read and have someone else bring you unlimited margaritas :)

  6. Margarita July 29, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    PEI is pretty. I’ve been to the Anne of Green Gables house, which is really gorgeous. But PEI itself is so surprisingly small and full of potato farms!

  7. Kyla Roma July 29, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    I really want to visit the east coast of Canada so badly too! I think we should all meet up out there :)

  8. jen July 29, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    YaY Nora!!!! I love the answers and totally want to tag along with all your travels ! and LOOK at Jack, what a cutie!!!

  9. Veronica July 29, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I’d travel as well. Good choice. It’s nice to know you like to clean. I’m the same way. I don’t love it, but I like it. Least fave chore: washing the baseboards. Thank goodness I don’t have to do that but twice a year. :)

  10. Becky July 29, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Haha, I love how your answers are fun and practical! I heart you! You should totally go somewhere warm for a week instead of getting an iphone. Iphones are cool, but the relaxation you bring back with you from vacation? Priceless.

  11. clairesuzanne July 29, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    I’m curious about your homemade brownie claims. I LOVE brownies and have tried several recipes. But, I can’t seem to find a homemade recipe that I like more than good ole’ Duncan Hines. If you’re into recipe sharing, I’d love to hear how you make them.

    Are they fudgy? Or cake-like with icing? Personally, I’m all about the fudge.

  12. Kim July 29, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Oh, I HATE the trash. I always make The Mister do that. The only thing worse than the trash is the cat litter.

  13. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 29, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    This was fun to read! PEI would be awesome! As a lover of Anne of Green Gables, I’d love to visit that area!!

    Your baking treats sound delish! Yum.

  14. oh July 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    How about beach bum-ness where there’s no oil yet and some really good sunscreen. Yup, the barefoot, jeans and white shirt is a fave, and so is the perceived freedom that seems to come with summer.
    Hmmm…maybe I can wear jeans and white shirt to work tomorrow…….nah.

  15. Jessica July 29, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Um my least favorite thing to clean has to be the bathroom and kitchen. Seriously, I hate it. I want a maid to just clean those rooms.

  16. Krystyn August 2, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I’ll join you on your travels if you don’t mind a travel companion!! And that pic of Jack is adorable!!

  17. Elizabeth August 2, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I have a huge travel bug right now! Also, one of the things making living with the in laws bearable is their housekeeper. I loathe cleaning, so it’s SUCH a treat!

Leave a Reply

