The July Obsessions

30 Jul

I’m sure I sound a bit like a broken record by now but it seems like just the other day that I posted about my June Obsessions. I can’t believe that there are only six weeks left of summer (we mark the end of summer as Labor Day, the product of having parents who were born & raised on the East Coast).

* Black Cherry Soda. I haven’t had Black Cherry Soda since I was six and lived in Charlotte. There was this great little deli not far from where we lived then and on the weekends it was a treat to get a hot dog and black cherry soda. I’m trying really hard to kick the carbonation habit, but when I saw that this soda (I found it at Whole Foods) has no high fructose corn syrup, is made with 100% cane sugar, no additives or food coloring, I had to try it. It is amazing.

* Watching my comfort shows: Friends, Gilmore Girls, Sex and the City. I know, I know, these are old shows but they don’t make TV quite like this anymore (funny, a little bit touching, a little bit serious, entertaining). (I’m not big on reality TV or competition TV.) I find myself laughing out loud at Joey in Friends, falling in love with Mr. Big all over again, and coveting nearly all of Rory’s outfits season 5-7.

* Downtime. Normally I come home from work, take Jack for a walk and immediately dive into helping with dinner and/or doing my homework. The last few weeks I’ve allowed myself an hour of downtime post-walk with Jack. I read, sort through the mail, or just stare out the window (aka, take a snooze) for a little while. It’s a bit rejuvenating and a lot calming. I hope to incorporate it into my normal routine going forward.

* Reaching out. It’s no secret that a lot of my friends have been going in different directions lately (marriage, babies, job changes) so we have been kind of hit-or-miss on when we catch up. Even if we can’t get together, I’m reaching out more. A “just because” email there, a phone call here, making plans for a few weeks out. Sometimes just knowing that your friends are there, even if you can’t see them much is incredibly comforting.

*Shine On, by The Kooks. I find this dude’s accent so swoonworthy and love everything about this song.

22 Responses to “The July Obsessions”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns July 30, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    Labor Day marks the end of summer in our family, too, since that is when our family always sort of closed up the abin. We actually continue to go down to the cabin occasionally during the fall, but it’s not the same as going in the summer…

    I have been obsessed with :
    1. Scrambled eggs – they have become my go to breakfast because they seem to be the only thing that keeps me full!
    2. String Cheese – wow, 2nd thing I am obsessed with is food… surprise, surprise. I ate A LOT of cheese this month… marathon training makes for a very hungry girl!
    3. The Song, “Just Say Yes” by Snow Patrol. I listen to this over. And over. And over. Love it.

    Happy Friday, friend!

  2. MASHley July 30, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    ash – BLACK CHERRY SODA??? i love that stuff. i’ve forced myself to stay away but now i must have one in honor of this post. no i’m not making up an excuse to have one… also agreed on shows. never watched “sex and the city,” but i’ve gone back and forth on maybe renting it? thankfully i own all the seasons of “friends” and “gilmore girls” since i re-watch them every so often.

  3. AshleyD July 30, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    I’ve been relishing in my downtime and re-watching my favorite shows too. My mom and I stayed in our pjs and watched Season 1 of GG last weekend. It was cozy and relaxing and perfect.

    ONE WEEK!!!

  4. Maddy July 30, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Watching comfort shows? Definitely a favorite. I’m also enjoying discovering new shows thanks to Netflix :).

    And after that description of black cherry soda… I *may* just try it.

  5. Aly July 30, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Hee, this is one of my all time favourite songs. Good choice! I’m stopping by your blog as I think we read quite a few similar blogs.. and it’s nice to meet you! :)

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair July 30, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I’ve been OBSESSED with Friends lately!! I started going through all the seasons again a few months ago and I’m currently on season 8. That show NEVER fails to make me laugh!!

  7. Ally July 30, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    I’m not sure I’ve ever had black cherry soda, but now I want some of the stuff you’re drinking. Thanks, Nora ;)

    Have a lovely weekend!

  8. Nicole @ LaughOutLoud July 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Awe yum! I want to go get some Black Cherry soda.

    And yesterday.. I too was watching Friends and thinking about how great that TV is, and how they really don’t make stuff like that anymore. And amen to the Mr. Big crush and Rory’s outfits- I just wish I had a body like hers that would look as good! haha.

    Happy Summer-end? (Sad)

  9. OG July 30, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    I’m all about diet cherry-vanilla pepsi right now. I know it’s not as healthy and chemical free as your soda, but it’s still delicious. I’ve also really enjoyed not having school for the past couple of weeks, it allows me to actually do fun things on my days off.

    I’m glad you’ve found so many things to enjoy in July.

  10. Brittney July 30, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    I’ve found that this stage in my life kind of leaves me lonely in the sense that most of my regular friends now are not only 1,500 miles away, but also shooting off in various life directions as well! <3

  11. Auburnkat July 30, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    My latest obsession is Mad Men! I love that show!

  12. Veronica July 30, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    I have found that reaching out is so important. Especially as we move into our 30’s, I’ve come to value phone calls much more than I do e-mails or text messages.

  13. Erin July 31, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    There is something really magical about the Gilmore Girls. We started watching it in reruns about 5 years ago…and we literally haven’t stopped since. When we finish Season 7, we just start over again.

    I would yell at a puppy for some Black Cherry Soda.

  14. Bee July 31, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    My all time favorite show is Gilmore Girls, and I covet Rory’s hair in the later seasons! And I really wish there was a Star’s Hollow because I would move there in a heartbeat!

    — Bee

  15. munchkin July 31, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    I have to say that Friends has got to be my all time favourite tv show. I have probably seen every episode 5 times but it is probably the only show where its just as funny as the first time you saw it! Truly a one of a kind show and someday I will own the series on dvd :)

  16. Jessica August 1, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Have you tried black cherry vodka? That is a small piece of heaven right there. but the non-alcoholic soda version is great as well :)

  17. Maddy August 2, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I know what you mean about summer coming to an end. I already spotted some leaved changing around my neck of the woods! I panicked like the day I spotted my first grey hair! There’s still so much I want to do….summer can’t be over just yet! I don’t have comfort shows as much as I have comfort movies. This weekend we caught Forrest Gump on TV and it doesn’t matter how many times I’ve watched, it always puts a smile on my face!

  18. BostonRunner August 2, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I totally agree with you that they don’t make shows like Friends and Gilmore Girls anymore – those are my two favorite shows ever!! Now it’s all about reality TV.. boo..

  19. Tabitha August 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    I seriously couldn’t believe it when I flipped the calendar to AUGUST yesterday. It’s crazy how fast time is flying! Also, I love black cherry soda. I gotta find me some of that…except maybe not, because I’ve been doing so well with not having soda lately. Gah! :-P

  20. Elizabeth August 2, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I don’t really understand how it’s August either, and I’d probably kill for a Gilmore Girls reunion.

  21. mandy August 3, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Yeah my mind is sort of blown that its August. I always sort of felt summer was over after the Italian Festival here, once that occurred back to school shopping commenced and school was only a few weeks away. Kid here start school in three weeks. I now mark the end of summer as Labor Day as well.

  22. tschitschi August 11, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    I really get your comfort shows :)

Leave a Reply

