Sometimes (v.1)

2 Aug

Borrowing this idea from my dear friend Mandy.

Sometimes I…

…  make grandiose plans for the weekend and when it comes down to it, I want to be left the heck alone.

…  spend an entire Sunday sleeping, doing laundry, and watching cheesy movies on ABC Family that make me cry, like “Revenge of the Bridesmaids.”

…  fall asleep before midnight on a Friday (and Saturday) night.

… wish I still had a really solid group of friends who hung out all the time, like they do in the TV show “Friends.”

…  feel like a bad Dog Mama, especially when the vet says Jack is getting arthritis; then I get sad about what life will be like without him someday.

… do the unthinkable and wear yoga pants & a t-shirt to a bar.

…  miss my grandfather more than I thought possible, even after 13 years of him being gone.

…  just plain don’t understand human nature.

… wish with all my heart that we had five day weekends and two day work weeks.

… daydream about what life would have been like if I had gone to college on the East Coast, met a guy with a name like Logan Preston III, and got married.

What about you? Any “Sometimes I….” thoughts to share today?

23 Responses to “Sometimes (v.1)”

  1. Kim August 2, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    I get sucked into channels like ABC Family like no one’s business. They’re so…available.

  2. ria August 2, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    i am the same way, i’ll make all these fun plans and then just want to stay home. sometimes though i need people to drag me out! i know nani has been slowing down lately and i’m forced to think about when she won’t be here in a couple years :*(

  3. Becky August 2, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Ohhh ABC Family. How I love them. Sometimes I have the best intentions of getting started on this book I’m supposed to be reading but end up laying on the couch watching Gilmore Girls episodes instead.

  4. Lauren from Texas August 2, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Aw. You’re a good dog mama. Whenever I think about life without Pancho… gah. Nope. Can’t do it.

    Don’t you love lazy weekends? Me too. I wish I had about 4 more days of weekend. I could use the sleep.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 2, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Oh I’ve worn yoga pants to the bar several times. I think yoga pants are acceptable “dress-up” clothes these days!

    Sometimes I think about life without Webster one day and break-down in tears. Best not to think about those things ;) And, you, are a fabulous dog-mama!

  6. Habbala August 2, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Sometime I spend the entire day fantasizing about taking a nap. Oy.

  7. MASHley August 2, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    ash – i watched that movie the other weekend. the bridesmaid one. it actually wasn’t bad.

    ps i mentioned “friends” in our blog today too. except i was specifically talking about the one with monica and her new boots.

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns August 2, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Sometimes I am glad I have marathon training as a viable reason to not stay out past 10 on weekends…

    Sometimes I wonder what life would be like if I had moved to Chicago or Denver after college instead of moving to Minneapolis.

    Sometimes I wonder how I will ever let go of the demons of past relationships and trust another guy…

  9. Krystyn August 2, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Great post!! I’m SOOOO with you on the 5 day weekends and 2 day workweek…and the group of girlfriends…I would like that too.

  10. Ashley August 2, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    I feel like a Logan Preston III would annoy me, but if this is about “sometimes,” then yeah, me too.

  11. nova August 2, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Your list is one that is similar to mine. I’ve always envied that group of friends like in “Friends” and I’ve often wished for a central meeting place like that they had at Central Perk. I used to have something similar to that, when I was younger of course, but now, it seems nearly impossible to get everyone together on a monthly basis, let alone a few times a week. As for the weekends, I rarely do anything “fun” anymore and it usually consists of household chores and bumming around the house.

    So… sometimes… I really wish I did not have to grow up.

  12. Auburnkat August 2, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    I have a hard time staying up past midnight on the wknds, especially on Friday nights!!!

  13. Ally August 2, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I’m definitely the same about weekends — sometimes I have these big plans and ideas and all I want to do is take it easy! And I totally wish I had a group of friends like in Friends.

  14. Erin August 2, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Sometimes I am annoyed by my dogs, and then I think about not having them and feel sad.

    Sometimes I want to skip dinner and just eat a giant bowl of ice cream instead.

  15. Jamie August 2, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I wish I had a group like in Friends too.

    Move to Chicago and we’ll start one :)

  16. Amanda August 2, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I’ve totally done so many of these things…clearly we were just MEANT to be friends :) Although, I’m such a fuddy duddy – I ALWAYS go to bed before midnight and I sometimes go to bed before 10 on weekends :) My 90 year old grandma calls me at midnight her time and I’m already snoozy!

  17. Elizabeth August 2, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    I get so sad when I see the grey spreading on Adley and Radish. The thought of not having them every day is torture.

  18. Jessica August 2, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Oh my god that first bullet is the exact same thing that happens to ME! I always have all these plans and then am too lazy to even move off the couch. Love.

  19. Manderz August 3, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Sometimes I wonder what life would’ve been like if I hadn’t dropped out of university and tech school.

    Sometimes I wish people would just clue in to when I’m grumpy and need to be left alone.

    Sometimes I want to spend all day watching romantic comedies.

  20. mandy August 3, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I do have this fabulous group of friends, they just happen to live all across the country….

    Sometimes I think about just packing things into my car and driving into the sunset, starting over somewhere else.

    Sometimes I wish my real life friends understood me as well as the friends I’ve met through my blog.

  21. Emily Jane August 4, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Sometimes I feel okay going outside in a ponytail and no makeup, and cherish the feeling because I know by the end of the day I’ll be beating myself up again.

    Sometimes a fleeting thought of a loved one in another place (and not being able to see them), mean spirited people, or animal cruelty are enough to make me burst into tears.

    Sometimes I wish I had a group like in Friends too!!

  22. ClaireSuzanne August 4, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Sometimes I revel in coming home from vacation, excited to get back into the routine I’m so familiar with.

  23. E.P. August 7, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    We’ve got a lot of the same ‘Sometimes’ going on because sometimes, I make weekend plans and then don’t want to do anything social. Sometimes, I spend Sunday sleeping, doing laundry and watching movies. And sometimes (OK, most of the time), I fall asleep before midnight on the weekends.

    … I think we were meant to be friends. Now, if we could just be the same city…

Leave a Reply

