It’s Complicated

11 Aug

The Scene: Sunday evening, post family dinner in the kitchen. Gram is gathering her (many) bags, and Darling and I are working on packing up the car to take Gram back to her place.

Darling: You got everything Mom?

Gram: Oh, yes. I think so. Oh… wait. What was the name of that movie that you wanted me to see?

Darling: It’s Complicated.

Gram (looking surprised): Well…ok. Then I guess don’t worry about it.

(Darling looks befuddled.)

Me & Darling (in unison): Gram, that’s the name of the movie… “It’s Complicated.”

Gram: OH! I’m sorry.

(The entire family broke into fits of giggles after that.)

And that my friends is a glimpse into the occasional Sunday night dinner at our house. Any similar stories you wish to share?

(Seriously though, have you seen It’s Complicated? Darling and I treated ourselves to the movie back when it was in the theaters and we loved it! Check it out if you haven’t seen it before. It’s not your traditional Romantic Comedy either, if that’s what you are worried about.)

19 Responses to “It’s Complicated”

  1. sleepyjane August 11, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    I saw It’s Complicated the other day and I loved it so much! It was such a laugh. :D

  2. Becky August 11, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    It’s your own version of Who’s on First?

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks August 11, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Last night in the car after we left the baseball game early …

    Sweets: Are you listening to the game?
    Me: Yeah.
    Sweets: I can’t believe [blah blah blah – I don’t remember what he said].
    Me: When did that happen.
    Sweets: Just now. I thought you were listening to the game.
    Me: Clearly, I’m only listening to selective portions of it. ha.

    Fast forward to this morning.
    Radio: White Sox lose 12-6.
    Me: Oh, at least the Sox scored one more after we left the game.
    Sweets: Right, it happened when we were in the car, listening to the game.
    Me: Or …. not listening to the game.

    Sigh.

    It’s Complicated is in our Netflix queue…

  4. Rachel August 11, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Oh dear. I HATED that movie. I thought Meryl was great, but it was so poorly written and Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin were such a joke. They’re capable of so much more. Left me with such a bad taste in my mouth.

  5. Kim August 11, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    I keep wanting to rent that movie and always forget. It’s something I’ll have to rent/watch alone…I doubt The Mister would be into it.

  6. Erin August 11, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Too funny!

    I haven’t seen the movie yet, but it’s sitting in our Netflix queue.

  7. Maddy August 11, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Lol! Gram is too cute! I never saw it when it came out, but I’ve heard so many great things about it, I’ll have to add it to my Netflix queue :)

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns August 11, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Ha, that is funny!

    I actually sort of boycotted this movie when it came out… I almost did a blog post about it but I never got around to it. From the trailers it made it look like they were making light of infidelity in relationships… Maybe that is the wrong interpretation, but that is the vibe I got from the scenes they showed…

  9. Lucy R.H. August 11, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I just watched It’s Complicated last week, on a night when the hubs was out because I knew he’d refuse. I was surprised by how much I liked it–romantic comedies are seldom my thing. But it’s hard to see how you could go wrong with Alec Baldwin AND Meryl Streep.

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I watched that movie on the plane ride to Europe: LOVED IT! So funny and good. It was a really cute, lighthearted movie and I really enjoyed it!

    Also? Hilarious story about your gram! My mom took my grandma to that movie and she loved it!

  11. MASHley August 11, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    ash – almost rented that the other day but wasn’t sure since i hadn’t heard too many reviews on it. i guess it’ll give me something to watch when i head back to college and decide i’m too poor to go to the theaters anymore :)

  12. AshleyD August 11, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Love that movie! Actually, I love anything by Nancy Meyers.

  13. katelin August 11, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    haha love those kind of mixups. and i haven’t seen the movie yet but it’s on my netflix queue!

  14. mandy August 11, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Ha, too funny. Gotta love grandma’s. I think mine would have the same reaction.

    I haven’t seen Its Complicated. If I Netflix, it would probably be in my que. But since I dont have netflix, I should probably go to uptown to the video store and rent it. I like to keep it old school. =)

  15. Jessica August 11, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Sounds like a conversation I’ve had with my grams too :) I did see that movie and it was okay. John Krasinski was so hot though it almost hurt. Literally, I was pinching myself.

  16. Akirah August 11, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Such a good movie. I saw it on Christmas Day. Good stuff.

  17. Kyla Roma August 12, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Ha! Your family is so cute!! :)
    I haven’t seen this, I think I might have to bribe Jesse into watching it with me…

  18. Tabitha August 12, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Great movie!! And that conversation sounds like it was hilarious. A little “Who’s on first” in action!

  19. Amanda August 12, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    I saw that in theaters with Rooms and her mom…about DIED it was so great :) Then, someone GAVE US the movie as a “hostess gift” at a dinner party we hosted. How awesome is that?? WAY beats the scented candles I usually give :)

Leave a Reply

