Lessons Learned (v2)….

13 Aug

… going to see the play “Promises, Promises,” with your 86 year-old Grandmother seems like a good idea when you don’t know the plot. But when it’s about Mad Men-esque antics (aka lots of sexual content and notions) it’s a little bit awkward.

… eating at Panera three times in one week is acceptable, especially when you are on the run and refuse to go through a drive-through fast food place.

… running at the track just before dark is the best idea you had all week because the sprinklers are on, ensuring a lovely mist/spray every lap.

… having the intent to read, vlog, and send out cards to your friends is almost as good as actually doing those things… almost.

… don’t eat an oatmeal raisin cookie because apparently you’re allergic to them now. Thank goodness for Benadryl.

… make sure to indulge in several phone calls with close friends and family, one of which may involve plotting a trip to Florida for a cousin reunion. Ignore the fact you promised yourself no more travel this year; you can’t pass up a cousin reunion.

… wearing make-up to work after a long week and little sleep is purely optional. And a little bit freeing.

… it never gets easier to say goodbye to a good friend.

… waking up to Jack’s wagging tail brushing up against your leg is one of the most pleasant ways to wake up.

Any lessons you learned this week that you’d like to share?

20 Responses to “Lessons Learned (v2)….”

  1. socarolinesays August 13, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    i learned this week that a face and body that hasn’t been sleeping well cannot be hidden with make-up. so why try? purely optional indeed…i love it!

  2. Manderz August 13, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I’ve learned that…
    … my couch still interferes with my studying.
    … my dogs are in dire need of daily exercise (& I’ve been slacking)
    … eating out every day gets old fast.

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks August 13, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Man, I stopped wearing a made-up face to work years ago. A little eyeliner and mascara goes a long way. Especially when you work with mostly boys – they don’t know the difference anyway.

  4. DC Princess August 13, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I’ve learned that I’m not as addicted to caffeine as I thought…and thank goodness for that because the withdrawal headaches would be AWFUL.

    <3

  5. Amanda August 13, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I learned that…
    -sleep is the best cure for a summer cold – lots of sleep
    -that justice comes to those who wait
    -that some people feel a need to involve others in every single trivial drama in their lives and that I have no interest in that
    -I have to go back to law school on Monday morning and apparently “the fear” is gone. I haven’t bought a single book or downloaded my assignments yet ;)

  6. phampants August 13, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Just because you plan to wake up at 5:30 to do a cool artist vlog doesn’t mean it would happen if you didn’t prepare properly the night before.

  7. mandy August 13, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Wouldnt it be so much easier if we could just learn about lessons by reading them instead of actually having to live through them. Would make life so much easier.

    What I’ve learned this week — stressing about work isn’t worth it. Whatever will be, will be. Also I have some of the best friends (including you!).

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns August 13, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Let’s see.. this week I have learned:

    – Jumping to conclusion is not always wise. I need to learn to take the ‘wait and see’ approach more often.
    – And I need to just calm the hell down and hang up my hat as a CIA agent. I don’t have all the answers. I never will. Analyzing everything is not helping, it is actually making things worse!
    – Eating a McFlurry for lunch is totally acceptable – and a great mood booster.
    – Tylenol PM can not be trusted. Sometimes it zonks me out, but these days, it has the opposit effect. I guess it’s time for us to part ways…

  9. Habbala August 13, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    I learned that boys still open car doors.

    I have fiercely protective friends.

    VEDA is the most fun thing in the world.

    And we’re soulmates.

    (ok, the last one I’ve known for a while)

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 13, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    OH NO! What are you allergic to? The oatmeal or the raisins? Dear god I hope it’s not oatmeal!!!

    This week I learned that booking little trips so you have something to look forward to can totally pull you out of a slump :)

  11. Ally August 13, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Bummer about the cookie allergy. I wonder which ingredient you’re allergic to?

    This week I’ve learned that I really enjoy a good cup of tea, and that buying a teapot was an excellent idea.

  12. Becky August 13, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    That stinks about the cookies – so sorry! Lessons learned this week: I’ve forgotten what it’s like to be pulled into a good book – getting caught up in the plot is awesome, but being cranky at work because it’s slow and you’d rather be reading…not so great.

  13. katelin August 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    i could eat at panera five times a week, it is so damn good. haha.

  14. Stephany August 13, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    I don’t remember if you mentioned where in Florida… anywhere close to me? (Oh, pretty please!)

  15. veronica August 13, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    If you’re going to be anywhere near Central Florida let me know! :)

  16. Elizabeth August 13, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    I learned that a little bit of caffeine, especially doctor ordered, goes a looooooong way.

  17. oh August 14, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    1) learned (for the bajillionth time) that my job does not define me. (OK, it takes a lot of my time, but it does NOT define me.)
    2) I also learned that yeah, I really do like Jane Austen novels.
    3) Learned that laundry still doesn’t get out of the dryer, fold itself and put itself away. And if it sits in the washer in this humid crazy hot weather, um, well, ya’ gotta start all over again.
    Yeah, you’d think I know that.
    4) Also learned that it’s a good thing to rescue giant-ass cicadas from the pool. They do not know how to swim.

  18. Jessica August 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Panera multiple times a week is totally acceptable. It’s way better than McDonald’s or KFC. And Panera does equal deliciousness.

  19. Maddy August 16, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    That taking someone’s word for a whether or not a parking spot is good is a bad idea. Hence a $65 parking ticket proving it was a bad idea :o/ BTW – I love Panera as much as the next person, but did you know their stuff is like a gazillion calories!! From a “watching your weight” perspective, it’s just as bad (or even worse!) than some of the drive thru options. But there’s no denying it’s freakin delicious!

  20. Suburban Sweetheart August 16, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    You’re allergic to oatmeal raisin cookies?! Devastatinggggg.

Leave a Reply

