I Heart Fall

17 Aug

I know that we are only in the middle of August.

I know that by December 1st I’ll be longing for the refreshing breezes of spring and long summer nights but for now? I’m ready for jeans and boots. Fluffy sweaters. Tailgating at football games. Oversized sweatshirts and thick (totally unsexy) socks. Falling leaves. Sleeping with the windows open. Curling up with a hot cup of tea and a good book.

On Monday eve I took Jack for our evening walk and there was a scent of fall in the air; you know the one. It signals that cooler days are ahead, that the leaves will change colors in the not too distant future, that it will be time for days of baking, board games, and chatting with friends and family around bonfires. It means that the fall festivals begin, pumpkin patches open up, trips are made to wineries before they close up shop for the winter. Saturday mornings are for garage sales, Saturday afternoons for Sex & The City Marathons, catching up books, blogs, handwritten notes (moreso than in the summer of course).

It’s been a long, hot, sticky summer and I am ready for the next phase and all that it will bring with it (graduation, weddings, tucking in for the winter).

When I start to feel fall-ish, I always watch my all-time favorite Sex and the City episode, one of the few in which they acknowledge a change in season.

22 Responses to “I Heart Fall”

  1. mandy August 17, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    I can feel myself slipping into fall as well. There are plans in the works for apple butter making, pumpkin festivals, football games, and other fall activities. I’m ready. I love summer and usually hang on as long as I can, but this summer I’m ready to move on. I really do love fall.

  2. jen August 17, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Fall is my favorite time of year too!!! For every reason you listed and thousands more, i cannot wait for the season to change!!

  3. Maddy August 17, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    I’m so with you!! Even though I had a pretty incredible summer, I ♥ Fall!! My birthday is the Fall, Halloween is in the Fall! I feel like “nesting” again! It’s all good :)

  4. Becky August 17, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    We are SO brain twins because I’m doing a post soon about being ready for fall as well! Fall is my time of year. My schedule is filling up and frothing over just like the pumpkin spice lattes I can’t wait to enjoy – just the way I like it.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 17, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    I am also SO READY FOR FALL! Haha! I can’t wait to wear boots and jeans and sweaters again. I am NOT ready for winter, though. I wish fall was longer than just a few months!

  6. Kyla Roma August 17, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    I’m so with you Nora!! I’ve been dying for fall, and then two days ago the weather turned! I SAW MY BREATH LAST NIGHT! lol

    I’m only okay with it because I know it won’t snow for a few more months, so in the mean time I’m loving tea & being cozy :)

  7. rachieannie August 17, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    There is something about “Moon River” that turns me into a big ol’ ball of sentimental mush. Sigh.

  8. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks August 17, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more. As much as I normally love summer, I haven’t been able to enjoy the things I normally enjoy during the summer … and all the downsides (humidity!) have hit me like a ton of bricks. I’m ready for fall and all the good things that come with it.

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns August 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    As you know, I am so ready for fall as well. I usually LOVE summer but this year, not so much. I blame marathon training. I am ready for cooler evening temps. I am ready for skinny jeans paired w/ riding boots (err, I guess that means I need to actually BUY some riding boots… note to self). I am ready for hot cocoa and apple cider. :)

  10. Mel August 17, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    I love when Carrie and Big dance to Moon River. Love that episode…

  11. Lauren from Texas August 17, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    I love love love that episode. & I love Fall. I did choose November to get married, after all. <3

  12. Margarita August 17, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I can’t wait for fall either – I love all the colours changing and the cool breezes and the excuse to wear a scarf and boots with absolutely everything!!

  13. Kaci Johanna August 17, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    So I’ve been meaning to rearrange my office for a few weeks now… (yes, there’s relevance here, I’ll get there in a minute!)… so I can see the tv from my desk chair.

    And now, I’m going to do just that because that clip makes me want to pop in some SATC and watch a few (dozen) episodes or so, since the boyfriend is napping!

    I love fall, too, but I’m just not ready to say goodbye to summer yet.

  14. Suburban Sweetheart August 17, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    WHY ISN’T IT FALL YET? Seriously, I want to buy some sweaters. And some skinny jeans. And some boots. And what do you mean, “But Kate, you’re about to be unemployed?” I WANT FALL CLOTHES. Also, pumpkin-flavored things. Stat.

  15. Jessica August 17, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    OMG I loved that part of that episode. Made me so wistful for fall and the change in seasons again. Now that the humidity is down (for now), I feel the same way. I smell change coming again and I’m not opposed to it. Lovely.

  16. sleepyjane August 18, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    I love how everyone is getting ready for fall and I’m loving the signs of spring around me. My plants and herbs are coming up, and I’m actually wearing short sleeves today!

  17. Andrea August 18, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    I absolutely cannot wait until autumn. To me, August is just a filler month between my birthday month (July) and the beginning of the golden season.

  18. Manderz August 18, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    I’m not ready for fall. Partially because it lasts all of a day before we get dumped with snow. Plus I don’t want the shorter days yet.

  19. clairesuzanne August 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Fall is 100 percent my favourite month. It’s just so refreshing to feel the crisp air, put on real shoes and cozy sweaters. I love that hot chocolate is an acceptable beverage but it’s not a necessary beverage. I love the colours of fall and the smell of fall. I am so ready for fall.

  20. Mel August 22, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    I LOOOOOVE love love fall too and can hardly wait… I’m so jealous that you’re getting the smell of fall while we’re still getting stinky people mixed with the sewage plant that’s never far enough away (despite mountains – seriously, what’s with that?!) and I LOVE that you associate it with SATC. I always think of “You’ve Got Mail” and Tom Hanks talking about the freshly sharpened bouquet of pencils… funny how some images and clips stick with us and become associated with a time of year…

  21. oh August 22, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    I try to love Fall. But I’d be lying to say that I love it. I love summer. I love barefoot. I love being outdoors. I love the summer colors.
    Fall? I associate it with cleaning (everything) and with great layered clothing (that really only works in the more northern climes.)

    OK, wait, Fall has a redeeming feature: the SEPTEMBER ISSUE of VOGUE! It arrived yesterday. 726 pages! I will carry it around with me as we slide into Fall and it will help me “warm” towards the season.

    And I think I need some fall clothes, too. Hmmm…ok, count me in for liking Fall a little bit.

  22. Megan August 27, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    It has cooled off this week, and though it was a bit on the warmer side yesterday, I could SMELL fall. It was glorious. Fall is such a beautiful time of year. The changing leaves, the crisp air (instead of the suffocating air of summer), the sweaters and caramel apple spice from starbucks. I just love it!

Leave a Reply

