The August Obsession List

30 Aug

It’s been a slower month in the obsession-arena of my life; I attribute most of this to the fact that I spent two weeks of the month relaxing in between classes.

Here’s the short list for this month:

* Mineral Foundation. I know I’m incredibly late to jump on this bandwagon but I just bought some Mineral Foundation and I love it. I have a more finished look and it lasts all day. In short, I feel more like a grown-up woman when I wear it.

* 10K Training. I’m on my fourth week of training and though I had to take a few days off due to that pesky sickness last week, so far, so good. My knees are doing well but maybe that’s because I’m babying them a little bit: lots of stretching and ice after runs. It feels so great to be back at the gym six days a week, working towards a goal and seeing positive changes in my body. I forgot how addictive it is.

* Leverage. As in, the TV show. I caught a few episodes over year ago and just now decided to Netflix them. I never get bored with the plot, one of the cast members is particularly easy on the eyes and it’s just kind of fun. And while we are on the subject of TV, I can’t forget Drop Dead Diva, Rescue Me (which I’m wildly behind on), and True Blood. I may have a slight summer-tv addiction. Just a little one…

* Walks with Jack. In an effort to help him lose weight and also to spend quality time with my furry best friend, we have been going on more walks. The weather has been cooler the last week, Jack is so happy to be outside, and listening to the quiet stillness of the neighborhood is relaxing.

That’s all I have this month! Anything that you couldn’t get enough of this past month? Anything that I must try out?

11 Responses to “The August Obsession List”

  1. Maddy August 30, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    Lol!! Loved your ” I Feel like a woman”. It’s funny, but I don’t always feel like a “grown up”…and I guess that’s OK!! Yea, the mineral stuff is awesome!! Too bad I don’t wear makeup very often. Too lazy :)

  2. Becky August 30, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    I love bare minerals – I couldn’t live without that makeup!

  3. Suburban Sweetheart August 30, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    I tried Bare Minerals, but my skin is too bad – they just didn’t cover it properly. Bummer.

    And one of the few things I’m looking forward to in moving in with my mom for a bit is living with her dog! Can’t wait to take her on walks & give me an excuse to get out.

  4. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks August 30, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Ice cream. Definitely ice cream. I couldn’t get enough of it, for sure! =)

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 30, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I’m still kind of obsessed with marathon training but also organizing our apartment and helping get Eric ready for back-to-school. Oh, and Big Brother, we have a huge obsession with that show lately!

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns August 30, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    This months obsessions:

    – chocolate milk as a post-run treat.
    – checking flight prices for ticket to Tucson in Jan & Paris in Feb. And now i need to add DC in April to the list!

  7. pieces of me August 30, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    can you tell me what 10k training you are following? thanks ;) good luck to you!

  8. Jessica August 30, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    I’ve heard only amazing things about mineral foundation, I’ve never tried it but people that use it RAVE about it. What do you like so much about it?

  9. Tabitha September 1, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Leverage! Yeah, Christian Kane is dreamy, but so is the guy who plays Hardison. :-)

    My August obsession was VEDA. It basically consumed my life!

  10. E.P. September 1, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    I’m liking your obsession list, especially the walks with Jack and the training. I need to do both of those some more! And your obsession list reminds me that I freaking miss you.

  11. impossiblyalice September 8, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    I too have only recently starting using the mineral foundation. And I don’t remember to wear it a lot of the time because I am on maternity leave but when I do put on makeup these days I feel like a proper grownup as well! I know exactly what you mean.

    Sometimes it creeps me out that when my mom was my age, I was starting kindergarten (I think, or pre-school).

Leave a Reply

