Ten on Tuesday: Let go, let flow

31 Aug

I’ll be back with full recap posts, tribute posts and more in the next few days, but for now, I’m joining the Ten on Tuesday bandwagon for the first time.

1. Pretend it’s Monday morning–take us through a day in the life of you.
Hit the snooze button a few times, get up no later than 6:30. Ready for work and out the door no later than 7:30. Work from 8-5. Go home, study, exercise, read, sleep. My Monday’s are awfully dull, huh?

2. What’s your favorite reality tv show?
I’m going old school on this and saying the Real World, anything prior to the Chicago group which I believe was in 2001. I can’t think of a current reality tv show that I must watch.

3. What motto do you live by?
“Let go, let flow.” I’m still working on the let go, let flow aspect of my life in certain ways, but I’m getting there. (I can’t take credit for this phrase, I picked it up in a movie that I really enjoyed, Something New.)

4. If you knew could you try anything and not fail, what dream would you attempt?
Oo, this is a tough one. Probably be a professional blogger of sorts. Or start a non-profit and make it global. In all honesty, I think I’d move to Florida, start a wedding planning company and/or join a current one, and go from there.
5. What was your first job?
My very first job ever was a mother’s helper (aka supervised baby-sitting if you will). I was 10 or 11 when I started doing that.

6. What is your current job?
I work for a small company so I have many roles: event manager, client relations, contract relations, marketing manager, vendor relations, and as my dad says, I’m his “exit strategy,” so I’m more or less being groomed for the future as well.

7. What would you call yourself if you could choose your own name (and you cannot pick the one you already have)?
Something Italian; Abri or Sophia. Or maybe Grazia.

8. What musical instruments can you play?
Can and could are two different things but with a little work I could probably get up to speed on the flute and piccolo again (I played them in middle & high school) and I’d love to get back into playing the piano.

9. Is it easier to forgive or forget?
Forgive.
I don’t think I’d want to forget because then you lose a part of who you are and the path that brought you to where you currently stand.

10. What is one food you’d never want to taste again?
Before I was diagnosed with my crazy allergies I ate fried conch. So disgusting. Definitely could have done without that rubber taste in my mouth.

Your turn to answer any or all of the questions below, or ask me for more clarification on any of my answers!

9 Responses to “Ten on Tuesday: Let go, let flow”

  1. jen August 31, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    I totally agree with your answer to number 9!! thats exactly how i feel too!!

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks August 31, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    You didn’t like fried conch? Does this mean you don’t like calamari, either? What a shame! We tried conch for the first time when we were in Grand Cayman and absolutely loved it!

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 31, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    I work for a small company as well and wear several different hats. I always have trouble explaining to people what I do because I do so many things!!

  4. Kim August 31, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Old school Real World was so good. Now it’s just trashy.

  5. Suburban Sweetheart August 31, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    1. Pretend it’s Monday morning–take us through a day in the life of you.
    This is all about to change for me as I’ll be sans job by next Monday. ACK!

    2. What’s your favorite reality tv show?
    Top Chef & Project Runway. Can’t possibly choose between the two.

    3. What motto do you live by?
    “Press on, regardless.” My dad’s mantra, especially when he had cancer.

    4. If you knew could you try anything and not fail, what dream would you attempt?
    Write a YA fiction novel

    5. What was your first job?
    Working in an Italian bakery at age 15, baking cookies & icing cakes!

    6. What is your current job?
    Ugh, don’t ask. My job as a PR associate ends Friday, by my own doing. And then? Beats me…

    7. What would you call yourself if you could choose your own name (and you cannot pick the one you already have)?
    I actually quite like my name, but I might choose something more Jewish. I love the name Shoshanna, but maybe that’s TOO Jewish. And terrible with my last name! I can’t imagine being anything but Kate these days.

    8. What musical instruments can you play?
    Not a one.

    9. Is it easier to forgive or forget?
    I’m solidly on board with your answer!

    10. What is one food you’d never want to taste again?
    Scallops. NEVER. I thought it was inflating in my throat & that I was going to choke & die.

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns August 31, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I bet you could make any of those dreams reality. :) We just have to be bold/gusty enough to do it!

  7. RootsAndRings August 31, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I like your current name, I’m glad you don’t have to change it and this is just hypothetical!

    I also work for a small company… so I often hear, “Give it to Chelsea. She can take care of it.” Awesome.

    Glad you participated!!

  8. Maddy August 31, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    1: Wake up at 6:30 – check emails/ facebook/ blog comments. Run out the house late arrive at work 9am (though I should technically be in by 8:30am!). Work until 5; then laundry; then home for DVR time or more blog stuff.

    2. Dancing with the Stars; Almost all the Real Housewives series

    3. Work Hard; Play Hard.

    4. Journalistic Photographer

    5. Filing clerk for a fire alarm company. I was 14.

    6. I work for a huge financial firm.

    7. I happen to like my name…don’t know if I would change it.

    8. None really. Though I did take piano lessons as a kid.

    9. I’m more of a forgive person, though there are times I wish I could forget too.

    10. Okra or Brussel Sprouts.

  9. Jessica August 31, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Good call on the Real World selection and specifying before a specific season. I have to 100 percent agree with you.

Leave a Reply

